Customer Reviews for

Chasing Darkness (Elvis Cole Series #11)

Average Rating 4
( 87 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Typical Crais Thriller

Holds interest...hard to put down... Waiting for the next book....

posted by Marshall01 on April 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Crais is Losing It

After The Watchman, one of the worst books in history, Chasing Darkness is another feeble effort. I have read all of the Crais books and they are steadily downhill. This book is short in length, limited in originality, and just follows a predictable formula as a story...
After The Watchman, one of the worst books in history, Chasing Darkness is another feeble effort. I have read all of the Crais books and they are steadily downhill. This book is short in length, limited in originality, and just follows a predictable formula as a story. Don't waste the money.

posted by Anonymous on September 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    Typical Crais Thriller

    Holds interest...hard to put down... Waiting for the next book....

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Refreshing!

    Believable characters with believable motives. Honest and heartbreaking at times but reads like an updated old detective novel. Protagonist is interesting and engaging. I'm hooked.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2010

    Love Elvis Cole and Joe Pike!!!

    This book, like all of Robert Crais' books, is a fast and fun read. Great characters and good plots will keep you turning pages!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    Lots of layers to peel back....

    I am a recent "Elvis Cole and Joe Pike" fan, but this one was really layered. I love that; it keeps me turning pages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    Elvis Cole Back in Action

    A new twist on Elvis Cole, That is engaging, thrilling and still able to be human and touching. I have read all the Elvis Cole Novels and Chasing Darkness is so good that I am ready to pick it up and read it again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2008

    a great book

    this is a great book. i've read all from this series and this one didn't disappoint.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2008

    A must read!

    Another excellent book from Robert Crais. A must read for Elvis Cole fans!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2008

    Crais is Losing It

    After The Watchman, one of the worst books in history, Chasing Darkness is another feeble effort. I have read all of the Crais books and they are steadily downhill. This book is short in length, limited in originality, and just follows a predictable formula as a story. Don't waste the money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2008

    Elvis Cole returns

    Southern California is burning in the latest Elvis Cole novel, leading police to the body of Lionel Byrd while evacuating Laurel Canyon residents endangered by the fire. Evidence at the scene of Byrd's apparent suicide incriminates him in the murder of seven people, and the kicker is that two of them happened after Elvis Cole helped clear the man of one of the killings. Naturally, a guilt-wracked Cole is drawn into the case and soon finds evidence that Byrd's 'suicide' may have been staged and that the police are covering it up. Several twists and turns keep things interesting, and Cole's partner Joe Pike (who's always reminded me of Spenser's Hawk) is along for the ride, which is darker than some of the previous Elvis Cole entries. I like the fact that in 'Chasing Darkness' Crais continues to move away from his lighthearted, wisecrack-filled mysteries to a more hard-boiled styled with weightier themes and more powerful stories. Don't get me wrong though, 'Chasing Darkness' is far from morose or heavy-handed - it's an exciting, unpredictable thriller featuring two of the most colorful detectives in current crime fiction. Also recommended: 'A Stranger Lies There' by Stephen Santogrossi- a hard-boiled thriller set in the desert around Palm Springs, it won the Malice Domestic Award for best first mystery. I actually discovered this book last year in an Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine review alongside Crais' previous novel The Watchman. The review stated: 'Santogrossi writes powerfully and movingly about a man who has paid for his mistakes only to find out that he's not through paying and never will be. An author to watch.'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2014

    Excellent reading

    This is another of Robert Crais's great reads. His Elvis Cole is a likeable character and the events are believable and not so impossible as many other mystery reads. The story keeps moving and has surprise after surprise coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    good read

    This book will hold your interest. Short and fast read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    Calli to Cole!!!!!!

    Go to result 6 'Cole camerons revenge!'

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2014

    Series #11 and still a fantastic read!

    I have gotten tired of characters in other Authors book series but not with any of the Robert Crais books. Still loving Elvis and Pike. Somehow Robert Crais manages to keep it fresh and just as exciting book after book. Thanks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Moonwillow

    Is there a clan here?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    Loved it

    I enjoy reading all of Robert Crais' books, but especially love his Elvis Cole novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Crais disappoints

    More of a short story. Good plot and writing, just not much there. B and N can do better.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Chasing greatness

    Southern California is burning in the latest Elvis Cole novel, leading police to the body of Lionel Byrd while evacuating Laurel Canyon residents endangered by the fire. Evidence at the scene of Byrd's apparent suicide incriminates him in the murder of seven people, and the kicker is that two of them happened after Elvis Cole helped clear the man of one of the killings. Naturally, a guilt-wracked Cole is drawn into the case and soon finds evidence that Byrd's "suicide" may have been staged and that the police are covering it up. Several twists and turns keep things interesting, and Cole's partner Joe Pike (who's always reminded me of Spenser's Hawk) is along for the ride, which is darker than some of the previous Elvis Cole entries. I like the fact that in "Chasing Darkness" Crais continues to move away from his lighthearted, wisecrack-filled mysteries to a more hard-boiled styled with weightier themes and more powerful stories. Don't get me wrong though, "Chasing Darkness" is far from morose or heavy-handed - it's an exciting, unpredictable thriller featuring two of the most colorful detectives in current crime fiction.
    Also recommended: A Stranger Lies There - a hard-boiled thriller set in the desert around Palm Springs, it won the Malice Domestic Award for best first mystery. I actually discovered this book in an Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine review alongside Crais' novel The Watchman. The review stated: "Santogrossi writes powerfully and movingly about a man who has paid for his mistakes only to find out that he's not through paying and never will be. An author to watch."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great new book

    Kept me on the edge of my seat and didn't want to put this one down. Lots of twists and turns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Elvis Hit

    After I read Crais' novel "LA Requiem" several years ago, I ran out and got the preceding Elvis Cole novels, and have snatched the rest of the books up as soon as they came out in paperback. I love Elvis and Joe Pike (even though I hope we never again have another unfortunate book like "The Watchman"). "Chasing Darkness" is not the greatest Cole novel, but it was still enjoyable, in spite of an ending that seemed a bit forced. Carol Starkey, the chain-smoking ex-bomb-squad detective, is in it, but not long enough. I guess the bottom line is...if you are an Elvis fan, you have to read this book because Elvis is part of your family. IF YOU ARE NOT ALREADY AN ELVIS FAN, DON'T START WITH THIS ONE. Go back to "The Monkey's Raincoat", or read the fantastic "LA Requiem".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2008

    Another terrific work of Robert Crais

    This is an excellent book with each chapter having it's own action. There isn't a book by this author I wouldn't recommend. Thrilling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5