Customer Reviews for

Chasing Daylight: How My Forthcoming Death Transformed My Life

Average Rating 4
( 2 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommend

    This book was inspirational, touching and enlightening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2008

    READ THIS BOOK NOW!

    How often we take for granted those in our lives¿ or more simply, that there will even be a tomorrow. This book is a reality check on our own mortality. I personally was captivated, enlightened, and saddened all at the same time and fortunately I walked away with at least two gems that will serve me well for the rest of my days¿ and hopefully, that¿s a lot of days!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2006

    Eugene O'Kelly's heartfelt farewell

    What if a doctor looked you in the eyes today and told you flat-out that you had about 100 days to live, and there was zero chance anything could change that shocking reality? What would you do? How would you spend your last days? In May 2005, Eugene O¿Kelly, then the CEO of KPMG, received the bitter news that he wouldn¿t live out the year due to brain cancer. An accountant by training and a type-A personality by nature, O¿Kelly set in motion a strategy for making the most of his last days. Part of that plan included writing a book on how to bring closure to life and prepare for the great transition to come. One conclusion: Sometimes you have to work hard at the 'business of dying.' O¿Kelly¿s stoic, rational courage in the face of the unknown has produced this gift for all those he left behind. We recommend it highly for its priceless lessons about how to live.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2006

    How Would You Live Your Last Days?

    Although the book is not thick, the words and ideas of Gene's last days make you stop and think. He felt fortunate that he was able to methodically organize his life to say goodbye to everyone since many people have their lives cut short without notice. It is just another reminder for everyone to decide what is really important in their lives and to make this decision while you have plenty of time to enjoy it. This is a great book for everyone to read--I could hardly put it down and I had tears in my eyes at different parts of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2006

    Genius!

    Too bad that Mr. O'Kelly learned the lessons about valuing life so near the end of his own. But readers would be well served by his experience to get the most out of their own lives while we - presumptively - have many more days ahead of us. Or even if only one day before us. A great book. Read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2006

    Enjoy the Moments

    This book changed my way of thinking about life. I stop now to enjoy the 'perfect moments' and I understand that death is an active part of life. The author's account of his last days is inspirational and this book should be read by all. It will change the way you live. It is a short and easy read - full of thought provoking moments that will force you to pause and ponder life, death and everything in between.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2006

    Lesson for living life to its fullest

    This book teaches us in the most direct way to live each day to its utmost. It's a gripping memoir that sticks in your memory and serves as a reminder that life is precious and we can find something special in what seems to often be mundane lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1