Customer Reviews for

Chasing Fire

Average Rating 4
( 876 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(383)

4 Star

(200)

3 Star

(130)

2 Star

(64)

1 Star

(99)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Chasing a good read?

Chasing Fire is a very good read. The story line is new one that Nora Roberts explored. Roberts did a very thorough research about smoke jumpers and she portrayed them in a way that I would be able to understand their angst, tribulations, and success when they fought an...
Chasing Fire is a very good read. The story line is new one that Nora Roberts explored. Roberts did a very thorough research about smoke jumpers and she portrayed them in a way that I would be able to understand their angst, tribulations, and success when they fought and exstinguish a fire. Very well written, and you get a bonas with Ro's father falling in love. Totally recommend this book even though the ebook is so expensive! If you're not willing to pay for the ebook, get the paperback when it comes out! You don't want to miss out on Roberts' new book!

posted by SuFuMV on April 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

44 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

It's Ok

I love my Nook; however, I could just as easily purchased the same books in store for at least $1 cheaper. I think the prices are starting to get ridiculous. The whole point of purchasing the Nook was to save money and space. So far, the only thing i am saving on is Spa...
I love my Nook; however, I could just as easily purchased the same books in store for at least $1 cheaper. I think the prices are starting to get ridiculous. The whole point of purchasing the Nook was to save money and space. So far, the only thing i am saving on is Space because i am paying more for the books than i would in store. The prices should at least be the same as they would be in store

posted by 6249838 on April 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 884 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 45
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    Couln't Put It Down... After the first 200 pages.

    Love Nora Roberts and the way you feel like you really know the charachters by the end of a book. I felt like this one was just a little all over the place with too many different charactors and the end was too easy to figure out. I liked it ok but it was not a favorite.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    Awesome as always

    Nora Roberts has done it again, I could not put this book dowm. She keeps me wondering whats next and who did it. This is a must read book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    roberts delivers!!!

    This was a great story, filled with suspense/mystery, romance and a group of fire jumpers who are as close knitt as a platoon. Roberts takes you inside this team of jumpers. I learned so much about what these men and women do to put out these fires, saving forest, homes, parks etc. Roberts brings it all to life!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Prices

    I looked this book up to see the reviews. I purchased the softcover version at sams club for 4.98 while the nook version is 7.99. Im out of free books to be reading and so now there isnt much keeping me from reading the physcial book from the library or store!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    REAL

    I am speaking from a smokejumper's wife's point of view. Although I didn't care for the language, the smokejumper terminology and processes were basically right on the money. The firefighting chapters were once again a reminder of why smokejumper wives live a near nervous breakdown existance every summer. It is little known that training, teaching, and preparing the base begins as much as four months before the actual first fire call sends them flying--literally. A grueling three-four month fire season can send a smokejumper home somewhat shell-shocked and ready to start physical training for next season. As a smokejumper's wife, the book is causing a few extra nightmares and a reminder of the sacrifice our guys make to pick up the cell phone and call us before they pass out as soon as they go off duty.
    Thanks, Nora, for the great research. Oh...but one thing. Jumpers DO NOT jump right NEXT to the fire. It is very unlikely a jumper's parachute will drift into the fire. Hiking into the fire from the jump spot is the norm.

    IF you want to feel the fire riding your back, the smoke in your eyes and lungs, and the exhaustion that can only come from a mission impossible, this may be the read for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great story by N.R.

    I love the way Roberts writes her characters and stories so that I feel I understand their way of life & circumstances. Though I am sure the real life of a smoke jumper is much more strenuous and stressful than she was able to relay, I was able to get a glimpse of something I have never before read about. Her characters, Rowan and Gull, balance each other in a realistic way and the camaraderie between the whole team was enough to make me wish she were doing a series to cover some of the other characters.
    On a side note, it would be nice if people would rate the BOOK not the price. I love reading honest reviews of the books before I pick them up and feel it is unfair to rate the book low because of the price.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting storyline!

    I loved this story from the beginning. The chemistry between Rowan and Gull was as hot as those fires they put out! I got a better understanding of just what fire jumpers do. An amazing storyline!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    BLAH!!!

    The one star is not for the price as I got it from the library and am glad I did! The one star is for BORING!! I don't remember reading about how old Gull is but his character acts like he just got out of High School and Ro's character was just irritating. Needless to say I couldn't bring myself to finish it and turned it back in for some other poor soul to check out

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A highly explosive romantic suspense

    Rowan Tripp has literally followed in the larger than life footsteps of her famous Missoula Smoke Jumper firefighter father "Iron Man Tripp", but that's okay because it's the only pair of fire retardant boots she wants to wear. She's trained hard for her position and the last thing she needs is trouble, the kind that comes from rookie Gulliver Curry. Gulliver has idolized Iron Man Trip and is training to be a "Zullie" because of him, he's no stranger to firefighting having been a hotshot firefighter before, what he didn't count on was his instant and combustible attraction to Iron Man's daughter. But Ro and Gull have more to worry about than the heat between them, there's danger lurking and they have to depend on each other to find it before it burns them alive.

    Nora Roberts puts out more books a year than any author I know, how does she keep them fresh without sounding like you could interject words from one novel to the next. Well however she does it, she does it like no one else. She starts with a tale that could be the headline news from any major network or the ticker on the bottom of the CNN screen. Then she goes us one better with descriptive narrative that lets her readers be right in the line of fire with the characters one minute and feeling the heat of lust in the next. Take her characters next as each one in this story could easily have their own novel they're that good and that interesting. Her hero Gull and heroine Ro are two people who will light up the pages of the read like a fire lights up a virgin forest. The romance is combustible as these two stumble their way to their happy ever after. The love scenes will scorch so be sure to have your extinguisher handy. This novel would easily make a great first of a trilogy or a series and yet we learn enough about every character to quench us.

    If you love Nora Roberts she won't let you down with this read. If you've never read her you must be living under a rock, so come out and join the millions of her fans everywhere and be delighted, be thrilled and be entertained.
    This is a definite must read as it combines romance, suspense and action adventure and will be a hit with all fans of those genres.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good, but i've read it before

    I love Nora, and i really love JD Robb....and i couldn't wait for another book from Nora to come out and to download it on my nook. And i started reading, and was surprised how long it took me to get into it...and then once i started reading it, how quickly i figured out who done it. There was nothing original about the mystery. What i did like, was the secondary story, about Rowans father and his girlfriend. That was a nice little touch. But i think Nora is spinning out books so fast, she is losing her touch of uniqueness and they are all starting to sound a like.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    Winner!!

    A little slow in the beginning, but them BAM!! Great read!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Thrilling!!! Nora Roberts does it again.

    Rowan Tripp loves what she does along with her fellow smoke jumpers, which are firefighters in the wildlands that parachute into remote areas to combat wildfires. It's the beginning of a new season which means, new rookies including one Gulliver (Gull) Curry, who is attracted to her instantly and doesn't waste anytime hiding it. Rowan has a rule about not dating any fellow smoke jumpers, but Gull isn't going to let something like that get in his way. While out in the field, Rowan stumbles across something horrible that might be connected to the following sequence of events that put her and the team in danger. Rowan is a strong woman both physically and mentally who cares about the people in her life, but doesn't believe a romantic relationship can last and prefers to keep it fun and on the surface. The banter between her and Gull were one of my favourite parts. He's very intelligent and loves innuendoes, which always made me smile. That doesn't mean he as a one-track mind as he shows through sweet gestures that catch Rowan off-guard and the thought he puts into figuring out who is risking all their lives before it's too late. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. There is always something new for me to learn in a book by Nora Roberts. You can tell from all the details that she does her research, making everything so realistic. My heart pounded in my chest every time they parachuted out of a plane and felt as exhausted as the crew after another long fight against wildfires that were described in such a beautiful and terrifying way. The life of a smoke jumpers is thrilling and dangerous. I think you have to be as brave as you are out of your mind to do what they do. My one critic not related to the story is the price. The ebook, hardcover and paperback are too expensive and not a price I'd be willing to pay regularly. It might even turn people off reading it and from some comments I've read online has done just that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    Awesome book!!

    I really liked this book...Nora Roberts does it again. But I wanted to add that people should stop rating the book because of the price. It misleads people to think that the book isn't good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    Loved it

    I have been a Nora Roberts fan for a long time. I had gotten tired of her "trilogies", as they were simply formula writings with different character names. This was a nice change of pace for her. Having grown up in a wilderness where "hotshot" and "sludge" and "smoke jumper" were all familiar terms, it struck a chord with me.

    Nice book, Nora.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    Nora Roberts at her best!

    Chasing Fire is not a fast paced romantic thriller, and the thrill part may be tame by some standards, but I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys this genre. Ms. Roberts hit a homerun with her characters and plot line. The setting is fresh and well detailed, but not written like an instructional manual...you really feel like you are battling fires with the smoke jumpers. The main characters are fun, believable and quirky enough to keep you guessing. Getting to the conflict may take a little longer than some may like, but she never lost me on the way...mainly because all the other components were so tightly woven.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    Good..but-- not...

    I LOVE Nora!! Looove her!! I have read every book she has published, in fact. Her last couple of books have been a little disappointing to me, though. (The last In Death excluded.) GREAT concepts with WAAAAAY to much explaination on the main characters job. I don't want to know ten pages of fire fighting or rescue dog searching. I want the story. I want Nora to stop trying to write a great american novel and get back to just writing great stories that are captivating and fun to read. That being said. I love Nora. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    good story line

    i love nora roberts' 'the villa' and 'birthright' this one may just be a new favorite

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Chasing Fire is a very good read.

    Chasing Fire is a very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Highly Recommended!

    Like Nora Roberts as a writer. This book gives an inside view of the dangers of a smoke jumper's life even considering the book is fictional.I was reading this book when the wildfires were raging in Cal. & Colo. and kept thinking of those brave men and women who were fighting them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    The dragon

    Flys there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 884 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 45