Customer Reviews for

Chasing Fire

Average Rating 4
( 881 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(385)

4 Star

(202)

3 Star

(131)

2 Star

(64)

1 Star

(99)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Chasing a good read?

Chasing Fire is a very good read. The story line is new one that Nora Roberts explored. Roberts did a very thorough research about smoke jumpers and she portrayed them in a way that I would be able to understand their angst, tribulations, and success when they fought an...
Chasing Fire is a very good read. The story line is new one that Nora Roberts explored. Roberts did a very thorough research about smoke jumpers and she portrayed them in a way that I would be able to understand their angst, tribulations, and success when they fought and exstinguish a fire. Very well written, and you get a bonas with Ro's father falling in love. Totally recommend this book even though the ebook is so expensive! If you're not willing to pay for the ebook, get the paperback when it comes out! You don't want to miss out on Roberts' new book!

posted by SuFuMV on April 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

44 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

It's Ok

I love my Nook; however, I could just as easily purchased the same books in store for at least $1 cheaper. I think the prices are starting to get ridiculous. The whole point of purchasing the Nook was to save money and space. So far, the only thing i am saving on is Spa...
I love my Nook; however, I could just as easily purchased the same books in store for at least $1 cheaper. I think the prices are starting to get ridiculous. The whole point of purchasing the Nook was to save money and space. So far, the only thing i am saving on is Space because i am paying more for the books than i would in store. The prices should at least be the same as they would be in store

posted by 6249838 on April 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 889 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 45
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    It's Ok

    I love my Nook; however, I could just as easily purchased the same books in store for at least $1 cheaper. I think the prices are starting to get ridiculous. The whole point of purchasing the Nook was to save money and space. So far, the only thing i am saving on is Space because i am paying more for the books than i would in store. The prices should at least be the same as they would be in store

    44 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Chasing a good read?

    Chasing Fire is a very good read. The story line is new one that Nora Roberts explored. Roberts did a very thorough research about smoke jumpers and she portrayed them in a way that I would be able to understand their angst, tribulations, and success when they fought and exstinguish a fire. Very well written, and you get a bonas with Ro's father falling in love. Totally recommend this book even though the ebook is so expensive! If you're not willing to pay for the ebook, get the paperback when it comes out! You don't want to miss out on Roberts' new book!

    21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    Rip Off due to pricing

    I am a huge Nora Roberts reader, but if I am going to spend these prices on a book it will not be an e-version but one I can touch and share. I have found that I am buying less books now that I have the Nook. I feel will only download ones the same or cheaper than I can buy at my local stores. Most of the NookBooks are the same price as the published prices for regular books.

    17 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    Another Excellent Novel

    Roberts has done it again. Rowan and Gull are fabulous together, and the plot was solid. Her books always leave me waiting impatiently for her next.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    agree with anonymous(there are many, LOL)

    the more and more i bought i kept noticing the prices getting higher and higher until a lot of them passed the soft cover price. i was sold by the fact that they are or were cheaper than actually purchasing the book. at the present there is almost no reason to own the nook. it is in fact, in a lot of cases, with the books i read to purchase them in store because its cheaper and then i have a "real" lend me book. most of the books on nook are not lendable and the ones i can lend are in fact not lendable in the sense they try to sell on. its deceptive. dont get me wrong i still love my nook but the balance is shifting. reading what i wnat to read while in public without people nosing about is still worth something.

    12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    PRICES

    Prices are way to high!!

    11 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    loved it!

    great read, couldnt put it down, the dynamics between the two leading characters was funny, romantic and sexy

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    Same Old, Same Old

    I am having a hard time reading this book. I would like to see something unique - not the same old characters with different names in different settings. All her characters are rough and tough, hard working, harder partying - especially the women. They are becoming obnoxiously arrogant. And I am really tired of the dialogue. I would like to occasionally see a character talk like a real person. I have loved her books in the past - there is nothing she has written that I have not read - but I'm not sure I care enough about these characters to even finish the book.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    A. rivoting story

    well developed storyline with unforgettable chacters, difficult to put down,600 pages go quickly

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    Too Expensive!

    While I love Nora Roberts, I'm refusing to purchase her new release until the price goes down. I bought my nook to help me save money and end my book storage problems, but with new releases priced as high as they are - especially when what we're talking about is an electronic file! - I'm not sure that I'm really saving any money. I'm sure that this is another good one, but I'm waiting until my local library has it available for download or the Nook download price goes down.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    can't afford these prices

    I can't afford the prices that I've been seeing for ebooks lately. I was comfortable when the electronic books were under $10 but now I am right back to where I was before. Unable to afford newly released books.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    love Nora

    I read everything that Nora Roberts writes but as prolific writer (I read a book every other day)but I will not pay hardcover prices for an e-book. So while I wait for the price to come down I will read the under 5 dollar books and the free ones. Not as good but hey a girl's gotta read.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Once again Nora Roberts affirms she is one of the best romantic suspense authors on the market for the past two decades

    A chip off the old block of her legendary dad, since she turned eighteen, Rowan Tripp has been a Missoula, Montana Zulies smoke jumper who parachutes from a plane with her comrades in arms to land in the middle of an out of control blaze. She loves her job, loves being on the edge and the adrenaline rush, but mostly she relishes helping to save lives and property.

    This year is different as there are more fires, deaths including her partner, and injuries than since she joined. It is also the year in which she meets rookie Gulliver "Gull" Curry, who falls in love with Rowan. She has feelings for the newcomer with an Ivy League vocabulary, but fears them because love hurts and he may not have the staying power she would need. Yet together they share danger and desire while trying to end the fiery reign of a maniacal arsonist with a vendetta against the Zulies.

    Once again Nora Roberts affirms she is one of the best romantic suspense authors on the market for the past two decades even with a theme used many times before (see Deadly Heat by Cynthia Eden). A major part of the freshness comes from having the lead female as the experienced mentor and the male as the rookie in training; however the key comes from the author's ability to tell an exhilarating tale in which readers will be jumping from planes into an inferno. Loaded with action especially the drops into the infernos and filled with a fiery romance, fans will believe they are in Big Sky country as a smoke jumper.

    Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent

    I enjoyed this book so much! I have read most of Nora Roberts's books! This one has great characters. Interesting story!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    Another winner by Roberts

    Nora Roberts is hands down my favorite author. I would've given a 5 star rating except for one aspect of this story. The protagonist in the story behaves the way he does due to a manipulative woman who basically messed with his head and leading to his downfall. As there are far too many manipulative people in the real world, the book left me with unsettling feelings regarding those toxic people we all have in our lives. Otherwise, the plot is strong, romance is great, and we get to learn a lot about what it's like to be a fire jumper. Scary stuff!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    You must Read!

    Excellent. Nora never fails me. Her male leads are everything you would want in a man and than some. This book is awesome, read it in one day. It does not make sense to just keep going READ IT.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    Love Nora Roberts

    A good edition to Ms Roberts/J.D Robb's mammoth volume of work. Characters to invest heart and soul, a quick, interesting storyline with the usual excellent research. Another winner. Moving on to a serious objection to the bulk of the reviews: QUIT whining about your ebook while giving NO book review! This ain't the place! Flagging every one...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    Did anyone enjoy the book???

    Once again reviews are filled with complaints about cost of the Ebook, it is not more than the hardcover from what I can see, it is $5 cheaper and you don't pay any taxes which for me at 7% is an additional savings. If you don't want to pay for the book, don't! Wait until it comes out in paperback or better still go get it at the library for free!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    Pricing

    Great Book. For those not happy about the e-book pricing....it's not just Nook.....Amazon's Kindle has the same pricing for this book. Not certain that that pricing is set by the bookstore....potentially is set by the publisher. At any rate........B&N is no higher than the competition.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book, one of her best

    I loved the characters, loved the fact that Rowan was a strong, take charge woman, and that Gull could handle it. The suspense was great.I liked it so much I just might go out and by the hardcover.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 889 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 45