Customer Reviews for

Chasing Fire

Average Rating 4
( 882 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(385)

4 Star

(202)

3 Star

(131)

2 Star

(65)

1 Star

(99)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Chasing a good read?

Chasing Fire is a very good read. The story line is new one that Nora Roberts explored. Roberts did a very thorough research about smoke jumpers and she portrayed them in a way that I would be able to understand their angst, tribulations, and success when they fought an...
Chasing Fire is a very good read. The story line is new one that Nora Roberts explored. Roberts did a very thorough research about smoke jumpers and she portrayed them in a way that I would be able to understand their angst, tribulations, and success when they fought and exstinguish a fire. Very well written, and you get a bonas with Ro's father falling in love. Totally recommend this book even though the ebook is so expensive! If you're not willing to pay for the ebook, get the paperback when it comes out! You don't want to miss out on Roberts' new book!

posted by SuFuMV on April 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

45 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

It's Ok

I love my Nook; however, I could just as easily purchased the same books in store for at least $1 cheaper. I think the prices are starting to get ridiculous. The whole point of purchasing the Nook was to save money and space. So far, the only thing i am saving on is Spa...
I love my Nook; however, I could just as easily purchased the same books in store for at least $1 cheaper. I think the prices are starting to get ridiculous. The whole point of purchasing the Nook was to save money and space. So far, the only thing i am saving on is Space because i am paying more for the books than i would in store. The prices should at least be the same as they would be in store

posted by 6249838 on April 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    agree with anonymous(there are many, LOL)

    the more and more i bought i kept noticing the prices getting higher and higher until a lot of them passed the soft cover price. i was sold by the fact that they are or were cheaper than actually purchasing the book. at the present there is almost no reason to own the nook. it is in fact, in a lot of cases, with the books i read to purchase them in store because its cheaper and then i have a "real" lend me book. most of the books on nook are not lendable and the ones i can lend are in fact not lendable in the sense they try to sell on. its deceptive. dont get me wrong i still love my nook but the balance is shifting. reading what i wnat to read while in public without people nosing about is still worth something.

    13 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    Too Expensive!

    While I love Nora Roberts, I'm refusing to purchase her new release until the price goes down. I bought my nook to help me save money and end my book storage problems, but with new releases priced as high as they are - especially when what we're talking about is an electronic file! - I'm not sure that I'm really saving any money. I'm sure that this is another good one, but I'm waiting until my local library has it available for download or the Nook download price goes down.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    can't afford these prices

    I can't afford the prices that I've been seeing for ebooks lately. I was comfortable when the electronic books were under $10 but now I am right back to where I was before. Unable to afford newly released books.

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    BLAH!!!

    The one star is not for the price as I got it from the library and am glad I did! The one star is for BORING!! I don't remember reading about how old Gull is but his character acts like he just got out of High School and Ro's character was just irritating. Needless to say I couldn't bring myself to finish it and turned it back in for some other poor soul to check out

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Worse book ever. Nora became so wrapped up in the technical asp

    Worse book ever. Nora became so wrapped up in the technical aspects of fighting forest fires she forgot the story. Very disappointed and I am a huge fan, have all of her books. Wish I could have returned it, but it was purchased on my nook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Terrible

    Can not believe this is Nora. So boring that might have been written by a beginner. Don't waste your money.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Ok

    ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Predictable

    Strong woman meet man and man takes over

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Terrible book! Worse one of hers yet. Makes me afraid to buy m

    Terrible book! Worse one of hers yet. Makes me afraid to buy more. Lots of her books I can't put down. This one I just couldn't get into. Took forever to read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    E-books to expensive

    I have quit buying ebooks from B&N. Go to smashwords, the books are free or cost less than here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    Disappointing!

    This book was awful. If the characters had been likable, I might have been able to get interested in her way too frequent description of battling forest fires, but I couldn't get involved. I didn't care what the characters did at any point in the book. I don't know where Nora Roberts' head was when she wrote this book. She seems to have run out of ideas and/or her passion for writing. Her last few books have been underwhelming. And the price of nook books! Really? C'mon, B&N, publishers! And this book wasn't worth the price of a paperback. I bought the book at a discount store, and even at that price, the book was disappointing. In the future, I'll reserve Nora Roberts' books at the library. At least the book won't have cost anything if it turns out to be as bad as this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Is B&N crazy?!

    I just bought a nook color and I have to say although the technology is impressive, the pricing is not! My nook may be well on it's way back to the store!!! It is a shame when ratings have to reflect more on pricing then the actual written work. I loved this book, however for $1.00 I rented the hardback from the library. My nook is useless to me if this is always going to be the case. I can get 95% of these books half the price from half price books or ebay, not to mention the tax write off I get for donating them to my local library when I am done with them. B&N better catch a clue, in this economy they will be following right behind Border's. The nook was their saving grace. What's their sell point now??

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    To much money

    Prices way to HIGH

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    Pricey Pricey!

    Nora Roberts is my alltime favorite author. I would love to read this book! However, i am a college student and in no way can afford to pay 14.99 for a good read :( please lower. The price is pretty unreasonable. And ive heard nothing but good things about this book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Price ridiculous !!

    I do understand inflation but 15 bucks for an e book is ridiculous. I love NR books so just got this one from the local library & will wait til pricing is more reasonable.....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Too expensive!

    One of the things I hate the most in this world is greed. It truly is the root of most evil -- not all, but most. I love my Nook and my IPad and iPhone with Nook on them, but these prices are getting ridiculous! You can get this same book used for just a little over $4! And I am certain it would be in great condition. Granted, we all would not be able to use our wonderful electronic devices to read and we would have to wait for the book to arrive in the mail, but if we don't do something the prices are going to continue to skyrocket. It simply is not fair that an ebook reader is charged the same amount as is charged for a hardcover copy. Does that even make any sense? Whenever you want to get to the bottom of something you must begin by following the money. So, who is responsible for these prices? Is it Nora Roberts, Barnes & Noble, or the publisher? And one other thing that seriously upsets me about all of this is that I have a B & N membership that is absolutely worthless for ebooks! If they are going to charge the same amount then should we not get the discounts like we do for paper copy? This is simply wrong. I am not purchasing this book. I simply cannot. If the trend doesn't change soon I will leave B & N and I have been a great customer for many, many years -- not that they would really care about me being just one person, but if we all begin to stand up and let them know that this is uncalled for, rude, and downright greedy we can change it! They are taking advantage of us because they know we love our electronics. Boycott this book and all others priced in a similar manner! Please do this! We need everyone in order to change things! Leave a review here and all other similarly priced books speaking out against it. Eventually, they might just get the message. I think if enough of us got together and decided not to purchase any ebooks for a week or two we could actually cripple their greedy profit. Think about it. I hate greed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    Ridiculous Price

    The price for this nookbook is absolutely outrageous. Why would anyone buy a electronic book for MORE than what they would pay for the hard back? Barnes and Noble better watch their pricing or they will lose all their business!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    I can wait.

    Silly prices - should have bought a Kindle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    No Way!!

    I REFUSE to pay $14 books for an ebook when I could get the REAL book for half that! I think I'll take my money elsewhere and thinking I should delete the app all together! B&N THIS is why you guys lost so many customers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    Huge Fan, but the price keeps me away...

    Like so many other people, I LOVE Nora Roberts, she has a fantastic way of creating stories, and especially characters. When I found out that she was coming out with a new book, I was thrilled! I couldn't wait to read it. But I'm also a college kid, and need to save all the money I can. And when an ebook is 15$. I just can't convince myself that it is worth it--no matter how good of a story I am sure it is. Not when I can get two ebooks by less popular authors for the price of this one.

    Sorry Mrs. Roberts, but I'll buy it when the price comes down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5