Customer Reviews for

Chasing Fire

Average Rating 4
( 880 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(384)

4 Star

(202)

3 Star

(131)

2 Star

(64)

1 Star

(99)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Chasing a good read?

Chasing Fire is a very good read. The story line is new one that Nora Roberts explored. Roberts did a very thorough research about smoke jumpers and she portrayed them in a way that I would be able to understand their angst, tribulations, and success when they fought an...
Chasing Fire is a very good read. The story line is new one that Nora Roberts explored. Roberts did a very thorough research about smoke jumpers and she portrayed them in a way that I would be able to understand their angst, tribulations, and success when they fought and exstinguish a fire. Very well written, and you get a bonas with Ro's father falling in love. Totally recommend this book even though the ebook is so expensive! If you're not willing to pay for the ebook, get the paperback when it comes out! You don't want to miss out on Roberts' new book!

posted by SuFuMV on April 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

44 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

It's Ok

I love my Nook; however, I could just as easily purchased the same books in store for at least $1 cheaper. I think the prices are starting to get ridiculous. The whole point of purchasing the Nook was to save money and space. So far, the only thing i am saving on is Spa...
I love my Nook; however, I could just as easily purchased the same books in store for at least $1 cheaper. I think the prices are starting to get ridiculous. The whole point of purchasing the Nook was to save money and space. So far, the only thing i am saving on is Space because i am paying more for the books than i would in store. The prices should at least be the same as they would be in store

posted by 6249838 on April 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    It's Ok

    I love my Nook; however, I could just as easily purchased the same books in store for at least $1 cheaper. I think the prices are starting to get ridiculous. The whole point of purchasing the Nook was to save money and space. So far, the only thing i am saving on is Space because i am paying more for the books than i would in store. The prices should at least be the same as they would be in store

    44 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    PRICES

    Prices are way to high!!

    11 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    Same Old, Same Old

    I am having a hard time reading this book. I would like to see something unique - not the same old characters with different names in different settings. All her characters are rough and tough, hard working, harder partying - especially the women. They are becoming obnoxiously arrogant. And I am really tired of the dialogue. I would like to occasionally see a character talk like a real person. I have loved her books in the past - there is nothing she has written that I have not read - but I'm not sure I care enough about these characters to even finish the book.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    Great Book

    Another great Nora Roberts book. Enjoyed it very much and could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book, but outrageous pricing

    Like others who have commented here, I checked out this book in digital format from my library. $15 is way too expensive for an e-book. Really good book, just buy the paper version or borrow from the library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    doesn't make sense!!

    I LOVE Nora Roberts. I've been reading her books forever. So, I don't understand why Barnes and Noble would stoop this low. Why on Earth would I pay $13 to download an E-book, when I can go and buy the paperback version in a month from Wal-Mart for $6 !?!?!?!?!?! I just bought "The Search" (which I loved by the way) from Wal-Mart for $6 and BN wants me to download it for $12....HAHAHAHAHAHA!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Get A Clue Barnes & Noble

    I love my Nook, but truthfully, I'm not going to pay more than $10 for an ebook! I will just continue to shop at Half Price Books, get it from the library, or wait for it on Clearance. Maybe you'll figure out that you'll sell more books to Nook owners if they're reasonably priced!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    Don"t waste your money.

    Book is not that good. I wish I didn't get it. Drags on and on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    Not+one+of+her+best

    Story+line+dragged...to+detailed+at+times...didn%27t+get+excited+until+the+middle%2C+then+dragged+again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    not up to standard...

    I was very disappointed in this book. I'm a huge Nora Roberts fan and I just felt so let down after reading this book. While learning about Smoke Jumpers was great, the story itself was weak and the relationships between the main characters felt forced. I would not recommend this book; if you have to read it because, like me, you love Nora Roberts, I would borrow it from the library or a friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    Couldn't get past the first few chapters!

    I have read most of Nora Roberts books and thought I might like the subject of smoke jumpers, but didn't. I never got interested in the main character's relationship...I don't know, it seems her stories are all starting to be too similar. But that is the pattern of her books. Now, onto ebook prices. YIKES!! I can buy 10 year old books at BN for $4.98 but ebook price is usually $9.99. Come on......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is crazy!

    I have not purchased or read this book. Nor do I intend to at this price!! The rating is for the price, not the content of the book! I love Nora Roberts. I just bought a Nook a couple of weeks ago. I bought it, as did most other people, to save $$ and space. I will NEVER pay that much for a book, when I can borrow it from the library, or find it in a thrift store. Sure I want to save precious space...but right now saving $$ is more important.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    Wait for the paperback...

    It has taken me about 3 weeks to read this book when it would usually only take a couple of days. I haven't finished yet and I find myself not caring about how it ends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    Not worth it... yet

    I'm so dissapointed because this book sounded great, but the price is too high for me. I wish that the price could be lowered because I'm anxious to read the book, but there is no way that I am going to pay so much for an electronic book. I would be better off getting a physical copy of this book instead. The price is marked up beyond reason :(. It looks like I will just have to wait until the price lowers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    NOT HER BEST WORK

    Good story, rather flat characters. Got very tired of the endless fires. I thought the story would never end. Could havr been so much better than it was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    Good but not great

    Slow starting, then enjoyed many characters. Thought Roberts didnt develop the two main characters relationship as much as usual. The end if the book was boring, i started skimming it to just finish. Nit her besr book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    Love Nora Roberts...but did not like this book

    This book was a disappointment. I could not really get into the plot or the characters and I could barely finish reading the book. I am disappointed that I paid so much money for this e-book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    So not worth the read

    Deeply disappointing book. Story poor, slow moving. Not one of her best books. Love nora roberts but this book was not one of her best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    Not One Of Her Best

    Besides the price this is not one of my grls finest. Ive read all her novels as both Nora roberts and JD RObb this book was very hard to read Not everyones a smoke jumper nora! She used alot of slang and terms in this book that unless your in the profession u dont know what they mean I had to go back and re-read alot in this book or look at context in sentences to get the point.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    Not what I was expecting

    I love Nora Roberts writing, not matter which name she uses. I was not crazy about the $14.99 price, but because it was Nora, I purchased my nook edition.
    I was sooo disappointed in this book. There is so much detail about fighting forest fires, it loses the story.
    Think twice about this purchase. I'm very sorry I spent the $14.99.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4