Customer Reviews for

Chasing Justice (Book 1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 262 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(137)

4 Star

(83)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

52 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

4 stars for mystery with light romance and fun dialogue and underlying themes about true justice

A keen sense of dialogue, just enough background to help us understand the characters and their motivations, as the Brooklyn girl with the mysterious past endeavors to start over in the folksy Southern country setting. This 540 page mystery romance is an interesting qu...
A keen sense of dialogue, just enough background to help us understand the characters and their motivations, as the Brooklyn girl with the mysterious past endeavors to start over in the folksy Southern country setting. This 540 page mystery romance is an interesting quick read. Looking forward to seeing how the author continues this storyline in her next book.

Occassional minor editing errors, and sometimes a bit jarring switch from one character's perspective to another - the story works best from the central character's perspective, a bright, resourceful city girl who has survived her traumatic past and grows in her capacity for social interraction and romance, but is socially awkward and still has good reason to live in fear.

These characters are skillfully woven into a complex plot which touches on whether to pursue revenge to right an injustice, how far to go to protect someone you love from harm, where to turn when facing political or legal corruption, and exploration of ethics and morality amidst a desire for love, family, and justice. The author allows the characters to evolve as they move forward from past relationships, try to solve a previously unresolved muder, and develop bonds which feel more real than the traditional romantic instant attraction.

posted by Anonymous on May 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Ok

Ending leaves you hanging

posted by AimeeTink on May 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 137 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Please read....

    I applaud Ms. Stewart for writing a really engaging book. Corruption of the justice system and trusting people who have sworn to protect you but don't...very interesting! One thing I loved about this book is that is she writes from every characters perspective, she describes everything with great details while minimizing useless dialogue/monologues. All the characters were interesting and fully developed. The ending does not leave you hanging, it leaves you in anticipation as it leads in to what book 2 is going to be about. This promises to be a very interesting series and I can't wait for the next book.

    For readers who complain about sex, there is absolutely NO sex scenes in this book, unfortunately....sighs....there are two short kissing scenes but that's it...this in no way detracts from the book, the story is just too engaging....so enjoy!

    SR

    34 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2013

    ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC! I was hooked from page one. The dialogue a

    ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC! I was hooked from page one. The dialogue and interaction of the characters was appropriate and not forced. I am going to definitely getting the next book in the series!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Great read

    Just finished and this boook has it all! Love all the characters. Now I need book 2

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    GREAT READ!!!

    I loved this story. I really don't read romance books but this one drew me in somehow. I am hoping that the next parrt of this story is just as good as this one. I will be waiting for it.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Fantastic

    Fantastic over 500 pgs romance suspence and keeps you reading till all hours of the night

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Good Read although a little disappointed i have to wait for Bo

    Good Read although a little disappointed i have to wait for Book 2......

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Awesome

    Fantastic. Loved every minute and every word. You couldn't ask for a better free book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2013

    I loved the characters in this book, and how naturally they all

    I loved the characters in this book, and how naturally they all come together. My only regret is that it isn't August yet, so I can't just dive into book two! Minor errors but nothing that really throws you off your read,

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Really enjoyed the book...it was one of those hard ones to put d

    Really enjoyed the book...it was one of those hard ones to put down because you just want to see what "next" is going to bring...not your usual romance or mystery. I really enjoyed reading it

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    This is a great read. Found myself chasing Piper, Bobby etal....

    This is a great read. Found myself chasing Piper, Bobby etal....Wonderful, romance (dance), mystery and team work at that.  The characters seem like neighbors...
    I will be chasing after the next book...Can't wait....

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Had me from the beginning and am waiting impatiently for the 2nd

    Had me from the beginning and am waiting impatiently for the 2nd in the series.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2013

    If you love romance, suspense, love, and great characters, then

    If you love romance, suspense, love, and great characters, then you must read this book. The first book in the The Piper Anderson Series is a great read. In the beginning it was a little hard to get into, because past things in life were hinted at but not fully disclosed, but as the book went on and Piper starting interacting with other people, it got hard to put down. I love the fact that it was located in North Carolina, and the characters were just so believable, sometimes I found myself actually feeling that I was there. Piper, had a childhood, that no child should have to go through, and it has given her a certain outlook on life. She meets Bobby, a police officer, and in the beginning, he is a grouch, but I was glad to find out that is not his usual manner. Piper and Bobby, do not always see eye-to-eye, but there is a budding relationship between them. There are several surprise twist in this book, that show that people are not always what they seem. Really, looking forward to the next book in this series, not only to see what happens with Piper and Bobby, but with Michael, Jules, Christian, and the always lovable Betty. Thank you Danielle Stewart for a wonderful book!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    YOUR GONNA LOVE IT !!!!

    This is one of those books that draws you in really fast. You think it's just a free book and then before you know it your wrapped up in this really good storyline. Don't think that you have it figured out because with the turn of the page something new is revealed. The ending left me saying "what" but then I realized that this is book one of a series. So I guess if I want to see what happens with Piper and Bobby I'm going to have to get the next book. RECOMMENDED...

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    AMAZING!!!!!!!

    It was over five hundred papges which is alot for someone my age. I could belive it was free! It seemed to good to be free. Did they just not think it was good enogh for any real money? Well, any way it was a great read and im still waiting for the second book to become free. Since I can only get books that are free so I don't spend any money

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2013

    You must check out this book!!!!!!

    This book so many different twist and turns it always keep me wanting to read more. just when you thought it was going one the author took you another. I was sad to find out Book 2 was not out yet because the cliff hanger in this book was amazing. If you want a good mystery this book is right up your alley.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2013

    Good suspense and drama. Right touch of heroism. Where is the ne

    Good suspense and drama. Right touch of heroism. Where is the next book in the series? Can't wait to read it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Amazing writing

    Captivating story line. Cant wait to read the next book in the series. Loved this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    OMG

    I don't think I can wait until September. OMG OMG

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Anonymous

    Loved this story, can't wait to read the next one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2013

    Chasing Justic is the first book in the Piper Anderson Series! T

    Chasing Justic is the first book in the Piper Anderson Series! This was a great book to read! I had hard time putting this book down! I enjoyed reading the story and watching it all fold out in front you! Through each new chapter more and more is revealed! I enjoyed reading about Piper and Bobby! I love both Bobby and Michael characters! They are great with Piper!! I can't wait to see what Piper and Bobby have in story for them in the next book. Looking so forward to book 2!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 137 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7