Customer Reviews for

Chasing Lincoln's Killer: The Search for John Wilkes Booth

Average Rating 4
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Chasing Lincoln's Killer - Amazing Read

Our 5th grader's teacher was reluctant to allow her to do a report on the Lincoln Assassination stating that there wasn't a lot of material out there at her grade level. Well, this book proved that theory wrong. Our daughter started reading this book and the next thin...
Our 5th grader's teacher was reluctant to allow her to do a report on the Lincoln Assassination stating that there wasn't a lot of material out there at her grade level. Well, this book proved that theory wrong. Our daughter started reading this book and the next thing you know I was sitting there reading it with her.

The book tells the story in a way that the targeted age group can understand and grasp the story. She was engaged and always excited about turning the page to find out what happened next.

Everything from the photos of the actual wanted posters to the real photos of the individuals involved in the assassination truly brought the story to life. Even the effect of the cream-colored pages and the brown-shade added to the photos to give them a dated look added to the overall presentation of the book.

I would highly recommend this book for any student in the 5th to 8th grade range who is interested in this topic. Our daughter was so excited to put the report together and the necessary poster board as well.

And the final result? Grade A! Teacher's comments? "A wow paper and poster!" She also told us that while others were doing their presentations about the Civil War our daughter was able to relate many of the other topics to hers and made the discussions much more lively!

A special thank you to James Swanson for taking the sophisticated writing of his book for adults and convert it into a great read for middle grade students!

I highly recommend this book!

Thank you!
Mary Ann

posted by MaryAnnCNY on March 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Ahh

Nnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn

posted by Anonymous on January 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    Chasing Lincoln's Killer - Amazing Read

    Our 5th grader's teacher was reluctant to allow her to do a report on the Lincoln Assassination stating that there wasn't a lot of material out there at her grade level. Well, this book proved that theory wrong. Our daughter started reading this book and the next thing you know I was sitting there reading it with her.

    The book tells the story in a way that the targeted age group can understand and grasp the story. She was engaged and always excited about turning the page to find out what happened next.

    Everything from the photos of the actual wanted posters to the real photos of the individuals involved in the assassination truly brought the story to life. Even the effect of the cream-colored pages and the brown-shade added to the photos to give them a dated look added to the overall presentation of the book.

    I would highly recommend this book for any student in the 5th to 8th grade range who is interested in this topic. Our daughter was so excited to put the report together and the necessary poster board as well.

    And the final result? Grade A! Teacher's comments? "A wow paper and poster!" She also told us that while others were doing their presentations about the Civil War our daughter was able to relate many of the other topics to hers and made the discussions much more lively!

    A special thank you to James Swanson for taking the sophisticated writing of his book for adults and convert it into a great read for middle grade students!

    I highly recommend this book!

    Thank you!
    Mary Ann

    14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    MUST READ - GOOD BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Chasing Lincoln's Killer is a a very good book. Actually one of the best books I have ever read. If i had to say what age group this is for I would say 10 up. If some one were to ask me if i would read another book by this author I would definatly say "YES". Because James L. Swanson is a really good writer. The type of reader that this is for is a person who likes historical and some action. This book is good to read for many reasons like for a book report, just for fun, want to learn, and possibly a book club

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Awesome read

    This is an amazingly good read i thought it was going to be a horrible book because my teacher was making me read it. But once i started i just couldnt put it down. Well... until the class ended.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Ratedd .

    I love this book this book gives great details and important facts. I recomend that everyone reads this book. For a research paper or just for entertainment its a great book for all to read .

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Praise for "Chasing Lincoln's Killer"

    This book is very good. It included some things that i never even knew. I highly recommend this book fo anyone who is looking for a fast-paced adventure!!:)

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    I have one question...

    I found the book very interesting. I was just amazing! But i have one question...the page numbers on the nook for chasing lincoln's killer is very different then the page numbers on the actual book. Is this a different verson than the one on a regular book? Help would be much appreciated. Thanks!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Great book

    Chasing Lincoln's killer starts out with the assasination of president Lincoln. You follow Booth and Herold from Ford's theatre to Mudd's farm, to captain coxs house, to the jones farm, to the pine thicket all the way to garrets farm to the hanging of the conspiritors. Too bad there are only five stars, I would give it seven stars

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Very good book- MUST READ

    Chasing Lincol's Killer I personally think that the book was so good that they should make a movie about it if they already haven't. This book is good for any age from 10 up. if some one were to ask me if the book moved I would have to say "Yes" becauseonce you read a good book just like this you aren't going tonot have different feelings from when you first read this. And I get the chance to read another book by this author I would take it.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2011

    AWSOME

    Chasing Lincoln's Killer
    "Chasing Lincoln's Killer" by James L Swanson, it's the tail of John Wilkes Booth (the man who assassinated President Lincoln). It was one the best books I have ever read. Once I started reading I couldn't put it down. The beginning was ok but once you got to like the second chapter it was awesome. In the end they should have put more detail. It only took me like two days to read it because it was so good. All the detail in the book made the read even better. It's a good read for any 7th grade or up. I sagest that you are into history or you won't like it as much. They describe the way that John Wilkes Booth is feeling I so much detail when he is in pain you can feel the pain. At the end of the book you actually feel sorry because he's trapped in the silo and can't escape because he went through all of that, falling off the stage, dealing with the pain, and staying in the wild for almost a week. Also when they went to kill the vice president all that they had to go through and still didn't kill him. This is why this is one of my favorite books that I have ever read.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    I learned soooo much!

    This book taught me so much about Lincoln's killer and I went from knowing nothing to knowing all the details. This story teaches you a lot but is also just a fun, gross, and action-ish book to read for fun. I just couldn't put it down! This is probably for children 9-12.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2010

    Awesome!!!!!!

    If you love history books than this is a great book for you. I do not like reading very much but reading this book was no problem. To me his book is different from most books about the assaination plot of president Lincoln because it has all of the details that you need to know, like the time that a certain event happened, the dates, real pictures, what actually really happened, and all of the other things that you may want to know about. It has a lot of information that I found out about that I would have never known if I never read this book. This book tells you about all of Booths other plans that he hoped to accomplish like killing the vice president in full detail. Another thing that I really liked about this book is that after Booth shot Lincoln it showed the map of his escape from the theater. I think that the author did a great job with this book in every way.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    Miss.Piggy

    I Love History!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Book club

    My book club read this book and for our activity we acted out some of the scenes in the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    WE CA DO THIS PPL!!!!!!!!

    GAY PPL R AWSOME
    any one with a heart should repost this anywere they possibly can it may just possibly save the world from racist ppl BLACKS AND ASIANS R AWSOME TOO i am not gay black or asian but i hate haters LETS ALL JION THE NO HATERS CLUB PPLS!!!!!!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Read this post

    Vollyball is a fun sport!!!!:)

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Amazing

    I have loved this certain event in history since i learned it last year in ninth grade and i was sooooo happy to find this book on here!!!!! The facts are just so fascinating and i couldnt put the book down to do anything, it is tottally worth every penny! The events are all told in such great detail it is just so incredible!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    So good

    It has so many facts and it is a good source of info

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Nico

    Nico is gay

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    Grawesome (great/awesome)

    Very interesting
    The adjectives were very nice
    It felt like i was reading a quite long article in the newspaper

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    Awesome

    This book is amazing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3