Customer Reviews for

Chasing Magic (Downside Ghosts Series #5)

Average Rating 5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    Well...this book was just like the others. If you know me, you k

    Well...this book was just like the others. If you know me, you know I LOVE this series. This book was action packed, mysterious, and filled with Terrible! :-)

    Stacia Kane surprises me in every book. I am also so impressed by her world building, the attention to detail in everything and her language that she created. It's so funny and crazy at the same time they way the Downsiders talk. Although I really enjoy, I am thankful that Chess doesn't talk like that. :-P Since Chess is a witch for the church she is dealing in sorcery, spells and ghosts on a daily basis. Her "ingredients" for these spells are so unique that only Stacia Kane could have come up with this stuff.

    "A shriveled chicken claw wrapped in cloth, soaked in dried blood to harden it. A ball of white wax stuffed with fingernail clippings and shreds of snakeskin. A short thick braid of hair, made from smaller braids, all different kinds of hairs, and stiffened with what she thought was the liquid equivalent of the greenish powder. A bent nail. Knotted threads." -Chess going through a spell bag

    I went through almost all sorts of emotions in this book. The last book, Chess did a lot of soul searching. This book continued her journey but it also focused on her doubts about her relationship with Terrible. Not doubts on the actual relationship, but in herself being able to sustain a long lasting relationship. Downside readers know that Chess is a drug addict. She dabbles in Cepts (pills) and Speed mostly. Chess loves to push the limits and surely did in this book too. She has so much self loathing going on that she just can't fathom the fact that Terrible can love her unconditionally.

    "But as his arm wound around her waist, as she was filled with the smell of him, the taste of him, the feel of his body hot and hard against her, she didn't care. Because right at that moment she had him, and right at that moment she could finally let herself rest, could stop worrying, could get past all of the things that scared her and let herself go." -Chess

    Chess evolved more in this book. She is slowly getting there and it definitely won't be a quick process with Terrible or not. But I love the journey that she has embarked upon with him.

    Lex is of course still in this book. He has now taken over his half of Downside since his father's passing in the last book. He still has a thing for Chess, I think he's in love with her, but won't admit it. Chess definitely won't admit that to herself. No matter what, Lex is always there for Chess when she really need him. I think I have a soft spot for him. I'm not sure if it's because I feel sorry for him or what. She has continued her relationship with Blue, but we don't get to her about her much.

    This book was slow moving for me, but once it hit about the halfway point there was no stopping it. There was so much action that I didn't want to put the book down. About the last 50 pages were the best for me. There are so many great scenes and quotes that I could go on all night. My Nook is filled with highlights.

    If you haven't picked up this series and like Urban Fantasy, I highly recommend this series to you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Kane can do no wrong!

    Stacia Kane can do no wrong in my book. Man this series just grabs you by the balls and will not let go! This review will be hard to write without spoilers; that’s for sure. (The only reason Chasing Magic didn't get a the full 5 stars is that I felt like Chess back peddled some in her relationship with Terrible and I feel like they are solid and she should be over some of her self destructive ways. So I have high hopes that we will see a new an improve Chess in the next book.)

    Terrible equals awesomeness. He is the best male character I’ve read since Karen Marie Moning’s Barrons. He is exactly what Chess needs in her life. He is strong but can also be sweet and kind but Chess is the only one that gets to see that side of him. These two complete each other (yes that is the most freaking cheesy thing to say about these two but it’s the Truth. And Truth is Fact and Fact is Truth. Dig!)

    I’ve send it before and I’ll say it again; I have a love/hate relationship with Chess. And in Chasing Magic I wanted to freaking killer her in one part. (Those that have read it know what part I’m talking about) All I could think was that botch better not hurt Terrible again. But Chess pulls her head out of her sorry ass just in time and I loved Terrible’s reaction to the guilt he saw on her face. That scene with them two is in second place with the bathroom scene from an earlier book for hotness.

    We get to see Chess and Terrible out of their element when she brings him to Elder Griffin’s wedding. And I could have died at Terrible's answer to Griffin's husband's question as to if Terrible and Chess were going to get married....



    I think that Chess has done some growing and realizes that she can no longer sit on the fence about some things in her personal life. I just hope that her small growth stays with her and that we see more personal growth in the future from her. DO NOT BACK PEDDLE.

    Ok let’s move away from the personal side before I spoil you guys…

    This time around Chess and Terrible are dealing with people in Downside going crazy and dyeing from speed that some new dealers are selling on the street. The speed is special in the fact that it has magic mixed in with it. All kinds of bad and bloody crap goes down because of this new “designer” drug. Chess and Terrible find themselves up against an angry mob of “zombies”.

    And in the middle of them trying to figure out who is behind it, they have to deal with Lex. See he has big plans now that he is in charge of the other side of town. He got plans, big plans. Like trying to get Terrible to work for him or kill him if he says no. I am so done with Lex.

    Also Terrible is still having problems with the sigil that Chess put on him a few books back that saved his life. In true Chess fashion all her bad choices are coming back to bite her and everyone around in her in the ass.

    If you are a Urban Fantasy fan and you have not started this series you need to do so NOW! Great writing, great characters, just LOVE LOVE LOVE this series. I pre-ordered Chasing Magic while I was reading the FREE ARC from Netgalley because I know this is a series I will re-read so many times. Honestly, I own this series in ebook and audio book and I enjoy it in both formats. And once Chasing Magic is out in audio I will be paying it again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2014

    An Emotional Ringer! My Initial Reaction...  Stacia Kane sure k

    An Emotional Ringer!

    My Initial Reaction... 
    Stacia Kane sure knows how to put you through an emotional ringer! By the time I was done with Chasing Magic I'm pretty sure I'd experienced every single emotion possible - happiness, frustration, anger, fear, sadness, disappointment, arousal, surprise, excitement, and for the first time in this series a bit of hope. 

    The Narration... 
    I've said it with every single book in this series and Chasing Magic is no different - Bahni Turpin nails it! At this point, I don't know if I could even finish the series if they changed narrators because Bahni Turpin IS Chess, she IS Terrible, she IS Lex and every other character I've come to know and love (or hate). She's definitely an A++ narrator!

    The Characters... 
    Oh Chess! Why must you be so colossally damaged? She does things that make you want to just reach into the book and shake her - her using continues to be a problem in Chasing Magic and then there's her extremely complicated relationship with Terrible. You can't help but worry she's going to ruin it - ruin HIM - because she's just so screwed up. But I can't hate her. Can't even begin to hate her because she's so incredibly down on herself. She breaks my heart over and over - yes, she's screwed up, but so much of that is BECAUSE she doesn't love herself. This fact was made so incredibly vivid in Chasing Magic - and it was so hard to see happening. Chess takes some hard hits in Chasing Magic, one in particular that I did NOT see coming and am still a bit wounded from myself. Poor Chess! But, for the first time ever in this series, I really do think something has changed and Chess FINALLY has a chance. FINALLY I actually have hope for her to have some sort of HEA in this messed up world. 

    And then there's Terrible. I guess we all love him right? So what else is there to say - except that you'll love him 100 times more my time you finish Chasing Magic? I wish he saw himself more clearly - saw what we see, what Chess sees, because even though he's way more together than Chess, way stronger, he's got a whole ton of insecurities and they break my heart all over again. He sure knows how to love with 100% of himself though and if anyone can bring Chess out of her cycle it's gonna be Terrible. 

    Then there's Lex. I don't know how most people feel about Lex in this series - but I like him... and damn it! I feel sorry for him too! (Why must I feel so badly for every character I love in this series?) The thing about Lex is - he jokes around and womanizes (is that a word?) - but I don't believe it for one minute. Just like Chess uses her drugs to shield herself, and Terrible his fierce strength, Lex uses his could-give-a-care attitude. Stacia hasn't confirmed it for us yet in so many words - but I JUST KNOW that poor boy loves Chess and it's killing him to see her with Terrible. Is he right for Chess? No. But do I wish he could find happiness - and that somehow that could involve not destroying Chess's world? Yes please. Please?

    The Story... 
    Although the story in Chasing Magic, like in all the Downside Ghosts books is fantastic, it's not memorable for me because I'm just so caught up in the characters. I feel like you could replace the story I just read with any other mystery (and it could be crap, honestly) and if the characters were still having the same interactions they had, I would probably still love Chasing Magic. So it's really just a bonus that the story is pretty fantastic. 

    Unlike most Downside Ghosts stories - there's really just one big bad magical problem. Chess isn't working a case for the Church (all though things are definitely happening there - but I'll leave it at that). All over Downside people are going crazy - like they're being possessed and they can't be killed. Are you thinking what I'm thinking? Magical Zombies!! So it wasn't quite zombies in the technical sense - no brain eating... but the concept is there. And of course, Chess has to figure it out and try to save the day. The other BIG, HUGE THING going down is Lex... he's got plans and step one involves Terrible. I'll leave it at that, but I have to say - Lex's plans caused me more anxiety than all the magic because it involved Terrible and I care way more about him than hordes of faceless people. 

    Concluding Sentiments... 
    As usual Chasing Magic was an emotional roller coaster, spiced up with loads of magic, action, and sex. The only bad thing? I'm now officially caught up on this series and have NO IDEA when then next book is coming!! 




    This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Love this series

    Write more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Love'em all

    Hooked!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Excellent

    Another excellent book from Ms Kane. I know it may sound greedy but--may we have some more please? As long as you write them I will read them. Thank you!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    LOVE THIS AUTHOR!

    THE CHARACTERS AND SETING OF THE BOOK ARE GREAT! STRONG YET VUNERABLE, LOST BUT STILL FIGHTING TO CARVE OUT A LIFE FOR THEMSELVES IN A CRAZY WORLD. I LOVE THIS SERIES!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Stacia Kane's are really good, once you start reading can't put

    Stacia Kane's are really good, once you start reading can't put them down. Can't wait to read the next book. The keep you on the edge to where want to read more. I hope she keeps them coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Still Rocking

    Loved the 5th installment in this series. Chess has so much self-hatred..I love watching her gradually work her way to out of that darkness through her love for Terrible. Keep up the great work, Stacia! Can't wait to see where you take us next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    dark, gritty, and captivating

    Another great Chess installment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Fantastic!

    Once again this series grabs my heart and squeezes! Fantastic writting and love reading Chess grow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Loved it!

    Another great book by Stacia and can't wait for the next book to come out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Awesome

    Wow! Another awesome story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Series Just Keeps Getting Better

    It’s so hard to put into words just how incredible this book, and indeed, this whole series is, at least not without rehashing the entire story for you or including spoilers. The entire atmosphere of the Downside Ghosts series, with not only the entire Church/ghosts/churchwitch setup but also of the realities of life in Downside for all its good and all its evil just draws you into their world and refuses to let you go, long after the final words of the final chapter.

    What really makes this series, however, is Ms. Kane’s ability to make the reader actually care what happens to all of her characters. It’s not just Chess, and Terrible, and for some readers, Lex and Blue. It’s the Elders, Bump, even some of the minor characters that we meet in pipe rooms and back alleys. The intricate plots and multifaceted characters chew you up and spit you out, leaving you desperate for more.

    One thing I feel is worth mentioning is that I do not think think that this book would work well as a standalone. As much as ms Kane throws in a bit of a refresher for those who haven’t read the previous novels recently, there is just so much depth and so many nuances in this world that I truly believe newcomers will miss out on too much of the history between the characters to get the full impact.

    I for one am completely obsessed with this series. Chess is one of the most unlikely heroines you will ever read about in any sort of romance, not just urban fantasy. She’s a liar, a cheat, a junkie. She’s arrogant, stubborn, impulsive, and full of self-loathing and self-sabotage. Even so, one just can’t help but be engrossed by her, even at those times you want to grab her by the hair and give her a good shake for some of the things that she does. Terrible, as well, is about as much of an anti-hero as you could imagine. Physically unattractive, violent, and an enabler to Chess’ drug addiction, his devotion to Chess makes him one of the greatest heroes in urban fantasy. These characters aren’t superheroes. They aren’t even what most would consider to be good people. And yet they are without a doubt some of my favorite fictional characters of all time. And that’s saying something.

    A resounding 5/5 Stars.
    {This title provided, free of charge, via Netgalley, in exchange for an honest review. Full review available on The Romanceaholic}

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2