Customer Reviews for

Chasing Midnight (Doc Ford Series #19)

Average Rating 3
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I'll let you know! I've liked all of the Doc Ford's so far!

This book isn't out yet! But Randy Wayne White does a great job of taking the reader to South Florida or the Caribbean with some really interesting characters. He also runs one of the best restaurants on Sanibel Island! I've met him there; very friendly & personable!...
This book isn't out yet! But Randy Wayne White does a great job of taking the reader to South Florida or the Caribbean with some really interesting characters. He also runs one of the best restaurants on Sanibel Island! I've met him there; very friendly & personable!

posted by JimfromHomer on February 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I've read the entire Doc Ford series. Publishers Weekly is spot

I've read the entire Doc Ford series. Publishers Weekly is spot on. Doc Ford is emotionless; even more so than in past novels. In this storyline we hear all about how "bad" he is, yet he comes off as a complete incompetent - too busy daydreaming about how g...
I've read the entire Doc Ford series. Publishers Weekly is spot on. Doc Ford is emotionless; even more so than in past novels. In this storyline we hear all about how "bad" he is, yet he comes off as a complete incompetent - too busy daydreaming about how good he is supposed to be. The lengthy diatribe about the overfishing of the sturgeon for caviar is WAY overdone. Instead of making you care, it has almost the opposite reffect. The last several chapters were the better part of the book as there was way more action, and way less mind-numbing musing. This copy will go straight into the library donation bin and I will not purchase any future books. They are only getting worse.

posted by Dinia on March 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    I've read the entire Doc Ford series. Publishers Weekly is spot

    I've read the entire Doc Ford series. Publishers Weekly is spot on. Doc Ford is emotionless; even more so than in past novels. In this storyline we hear all about how "bad" he is, yet he comes off as a complete incompetent - too busy daydreaming about how good he is supposed to be. The lengthy diatribe about the overfishing of the sturgeon for caviar is WAY overdone. Instead of making you care, it has almost the opposite reffect. The last several chapters were the better part of the book as there was way more action, and way less mind-numbing musing. This copy will go straight into the library donation bin and I will not purchase any future books. They are only getting worse.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    I'll let you know! I've liked all of the Doc Ford's so far!

    This book isn't out yet! But Randy Wayne White does a great job of taking the reader to South Florida or the Caribbean with some really interesting characters. He also runs one of the best restaurants on Sanibel Island! I've met him there; very friendly & personable!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Done

    Randy's lasr two books are not up to the expectations I have from reading all of his previous books! A waste of money but I won't be so quick to pre-prder anymore

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    A great disappointment!!!!

    This newest novel from White is a continuation of the decline of "Doc Ford". I prefer more action and less babble. White should remove himself from the book and get back to writing fiction. Doug

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    A Real Page Turner - Just to be Done - Bad Book

    I have always loved the Doc Ford series by Randy White. The book before this was not up to par and this book is just plain bad. As far as I am concerned, RWW has jumped the shark.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    Randy Wayne White does it again!

    Loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    I basically agree with the one and two star responders in the fi

    I basically agree with the one and two star responders in the first 19 reviews. Not a particularly enjoyable book and I, too, have read the whole series. Looks like a rush job.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Randy Wayne White Gets Rellgion

    I've been a Randy Wayne White fan for a long time; but this time he has bored mee and made me regret buying one of White's books. White has chosen to devote about 75% of the book to conversations between a redneck steroid freak and a 13 year old Guatamalan girl who is a Joan of Arc fanatic. Never mind that Joan of Arc was herself a nut case. Doc Ford and Tominson are obviously afterthoughts of an author who has spent too much time in churches recently. I'll probably buy at least one more Randy Wayne novel, if only to see if White has gotten over his his religious disability. Don't waste your money on this drivel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    This book was difficult to read. Defintely not RWW best work. Ev

    This book was difficult to read. Defintely not RWW best work. Even the original dick and #uck books of Randy Stiker were more enjoyable to read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    Another Winner for White

    Chasing Midnight kept me up most of the night reading it straight through. Doc Ford is a character like no other--consistent when his character is involved, but constantly changing. Randy Whites descriptions of Doc's world take me to a place in the country I have never visited. Now I think on it, probably won't, because nothing could live up to White's prose.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Do not waste your money.

    This book is not up to par with RWW's past series. Very disappointing given the enjoyable Doc Ford series. Can you say, "Refund"?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2014

    Entertaining, as always, but a very farcical plot, and missing t

    Entertaining, as always, but a very farcical plot, and missing the texture and thoughtfulness of the early books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2012

    Greatly disappointed Randy fan

    The characters are poorly developed. The story just seems to ramble on and on...Seems like a rushed story. Tomlinson seems like a child. Where is the mystery? No cajones mi amigo!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2