Customer Reviews for

Chasing Mrs. Right

Average Rating 4.5
( 87 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Loved thisl! Ian is a sexy but troubled soldier who sets his sig

Loved thisl! Ian is a sexy but troubled soldier who sets his sights on his sister's best friend. If you read Wrong Bed Right Guy, you will remember these characters from Gabe and Elle's book. It was alot of fun to see Gabe and Elle again too! Hot and sexy. Recommend thi...
Loved thisl! Ian is a sexy but troubled soldier who sets his sights on his sister's best friend. If you read Wrong Bed Right Guy, you will remember these characters from Gabe and Elle's book. It was alot of fun to see Gabe and Elle again too! Hot and sexy. Recommend this one to anybody that loves steamy romance and military heroes.

posted by 9573642 on March 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

ok read

This was an OK read but nothing more. It was, above all, predictable. Much of the book is spent with her denying her feelings and obsessed with her issues of abandonment, whereas the guy has to go out of his way to romance her and pamper her despite his own PTSD. And wh...
This was an OK read but nothing more. It was, above all, predictable. Much of the book is spent with her denying her feelings and obsessed with her issues of abandonment, whereas the guy has to go out of his way to romance her and pamper her despite his own PTSD. And when she finally accepts her feelings, then his issues surface and bababoom, back to basis until all is forgiven and they find their happily ever after. There was little character development and no solid plot. It was disappointing because I had really liked Elle and Gabe story in 'Wrong bed, right guy'.

posted by EmmaGR on April 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    A chance meeting between Ian and Roxanne leads to a night of pa

    A chance meeting between Ian and Roxanne leads to a night of passion...
    Ian is back from his second tour in Afghanistan. He barely gets off the plane and he is bombarded by a welcome home party from his baby sister. Ian finds himself unable to handle it and flees the scene.

    Roxanne is not interested in love or a boyfriend, or commitments. They lead to bad things. She has been taught well to rely on no-one but herself. She has erected a bulletproof wall around her heart. Too bad she meets a straight shooter who doesn't play fair.

    They have combustible chemistry. Roxanne could give in and let him in, but at what cost? Ian could fall in love, but would he ever be whole again, and be enough to be truly wanted? This story shows us two unlikely lovers who aren't looking for love, but cupid struck them both and fate has other plans for them.

    This was a great second story for this series, the first book being [book:Wrong Bed, Right Guy|15762975]. Great chemistry, a quick and feisty hot read.
    4 Erotic Romance Stars.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2013

    I received this book on Tuesday and finished it today. It's a qu

    I received this book on Tuesday and finished it today. It's a quick read and one you don't want to put down.
    When thinking about a way to describe this book, I would say that it is a perfect mix between fantasy and reality.
    Ian and Roxanne have that connection that just is and I found myself anxious for them to work through their issues.
    Both characters are very easy to relate to, whether that be with family issues, relationship issues, abandonment, etc.
    I would say the only thing I was hesitant about with this book was how quickly they professed their love to one another.
    It actually surprised me, but it also showed the growth and development of Roxanne. The chemistry between Ian and Roxanne
    was spot on! A great read! Can't wait to see what happens with Nathan...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Good read

    ## Another great read by Ms. Robert. I enjoyed Gabe & Elle's story (even though I didn't care for Elle), so I gave this one a try. I'm glad I did. The beginning was so amazing, with the flirting and teasing. Really sexy. Then the heroine had a brain fart and became a witch for about 3 chapters, but did finally redeem herself. And the hero.....Holy Moly he was hot. Mmmmm, Ms. Robert knows how to write heroes! Between Gabe and Ian, I'm still fanning myself. She just needs to work on her heroines. I'm looking forward to Nathan's story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2013

    Good Book! Entangled Publishing provided this book free of char

    Good Book!

    Entangled Publishing provided this book free of charge in exchange for a book review.

    This is the first book I have read from author Katee Robert and it definitely won't be the last. I enjoyed this book very much. The characters were real and easily identifiable with the world we live in. I especially liked Ian, the main male character. His story was extremely well written and developed. The author expressed his emotions, doubts and fears with palpable realism.

    I did like Roxanne, the main female character, especially when her "inner voice" spoke to her during various predicaments. However, I would have liked a little more detail on her upbringing and prior relationships. Elle, Roxanne's best friend and Ian's sister was a great secondary character. She added a lot connection within the storyline.

    I will read more from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Short but enjoyable

    I've read all of the Come Undone series. They are all enjoyable but far too short and follow the same premise. However, no matter what the typical "chick lit" formula, trashy novels as for pure enjoyment, not literary genius.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I HAVE to go back and read the first book in the series. Can't wait for book 3!!!

    Reviewed by Kim
    for Read Your Writes Book Reviews

    This is my first Katee Robert's book. I've checked her out on Facebook and she writes some pretty hot things and she has a great sense of humor. I love the premise of this book. You have two people who each have some issues but manage to find a way to resolve those issues together.

    Ian is a great guy who is chasing after the one woman who understands him and actually, cheesy as it sounds, completes him. He literally knocks Roxanne off her feet. Roxanne's issue is sorta like your classic romance novel issue. She doesn't believe in love and thinks it only leads to heartbreak. I mean hey, what's a girl to do? It's not like she has a good track record with the whole " I love you" thing. Her mother doesn't help things, with her own three failed marriages. Hey, how about maybe you just weren't with the one person you were meant to spend the rest of your life with.

    While I'm on the topic of mothers. Oh my gosh... Poor Ian and Ellie. Their mom is miserable and just wants to make everyone as miserable as she is. I swear, she made me want to jump through the book and let her know what her place actually was.

    I loved this story because Ian and Roxanne bring out the best in each other. They truly make the other a better person and own and stand up to their issues. Oh and yeah, of course the sex which is HOT isn't bad either.

    I'm really excited that I discovered a new author to read and I can't wait to find out what else she has in store for us.

    Source: NetGalley

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Really liked this book!

    I read this book before the first book and I throughly enjoyed it. Another book that I could not put down till I was finished. I recommend this book to anyone looking for some heat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Ian's just come back from living his life in the military. Due

    Ian's just come back from living his life in the military. Due to circumstances while being deployed he no longer can tolerate huge crowds and loud noise. So when his family throws a welcome home party for him in a club filled with people, it doesn't take long for him to bolt out of there and plow down a poor woman outside the door. He finds that being around this sexy woman calms him in ways that his deep breath exercises have never managed. After a night of passion, he wakes up in an empty hotel room with no idea what her name is, until he bumps into her and his sister. That's when he finds out that the mystery woman is his sister, Elle's, best friend.

    I must admit that I haven't had a chance to read the first book in the Come Undone series which focuses on Elle and her HEA. So I was a little nervous going in that I would feel like I was missing something and even though you could tell that there was a story previously that was obviously about Elle, the author did a great job filling you in.

    Clearly Ian has issues from his time in the military but Roxanne has her own as well. Her mother went through men like crazy and drilled into Roxanne's head at a young age to never trust men, they always leave. So when the perfect gentlemen falls into her life, she's skeptical that he's any different from the men her mother warned her about. However, he does everything in his power to reassure Roxanne that he's not one of those men.

    I really enjoyed this story and the heat level is definitely steamy. Katee wastes no time jumping the characters and the readers into bed. The characters were likable and I enjoyed reading their story. Now all I have to do is read the first book in the series. Yes, I know it's out of order but sometimes, that happens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    Liked a lot!

    I liked this book as much as the first one. It was so much fun to read. Just like the first one they found unexpected love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2013

    Ms. Robert has given us another exceptional read, with Ian, a se

    Ms. Robert has given us another exceptional read, with Ian, a sexy, hot as hell damaged veteran, and Rox, a seductive, equally damaged party planner. When they sneak away from the welcome Ian's welcome home party, chemistry sparks instantly giving you a hot read with raw emotions and a story you can't put down. I'm very much looking forward to Nathan's story! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    Loved it!

    I like how this book picked up from the first book Wrong Bed, Right Guy; however, if you didn't read the first book you can still follow along. I read this book in one day it flows well and is an easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Chasing Mrs. Right is a sexy, romantic tale that will keep you e

    Chasing Mrs. Right is a sexy, romantic tale that will keep you entertained. Katee Robert does an awesome job of crafting a love story about two people dealing with their inner demons and finding solace in each other’s arms. She takes PTSD, a subject that plagues so many of our military people, and handles it with sensitivity and finesse. Katee interjects humor, sexual tension, and steamy romance to make this a light-hearted tale despite the realities of life that it touches upon. 

    Roxanne, a commitment phobic woman, engages in only one-night stands due to witnessing her mother’s failed marriages and disappointment with men. Ian, an ex-military man who suffers from a light case of PTSD, finds relief from his fears with Roxanne. Two strong yet vulnerable people, who struggle to come to terms with their inner fears, find love and understanding with each other.

    This book is filled with well-drawn characters, witty dialogue, sizzling sexual chemistry and scorching-hot sex, all wrapped up in a sexy romance that will keep you turning the pages from beginning to end. It is a well-paced and thoroughly enjoyable love story. 

    Chasing Mrs. Right will appeal to anyone who loves a titillating erotic romance with unbelievably hot sex, interspersed with both seriousness and humor. It is a definite must read.



    I received a copy of the book from Entangled Publishing
    in exchange for my honest review.
    Janna Shay
    Author of Fair Play

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    It was a great read and was great to see a continuation of Gabe

    It was a great read and was great to see a continuation of Gabe and Elle's story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    I loved Ian he was so adorable and sexy... and a soldier too...

    I loved Ian he was so adorable and sexy... and a soldier too... Wanted to be Roxie so much...loved how they interacted with each other as they worked through their relationship. Bring on Nathan's story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    For the past couple of days I have been reading Katee Robert's C

    For the past couple of days I have been reading Katee Robert's Chasing Mrs. Right. I must say that this a hot steamy read will keep you warm at night. Let me share why:

    Who doesn't love when a one night stand that goes horribly wrong. We all know the purpose of one night stand, that we are never going to see the person ever again. However, that doesn't happen with Roxanne Stokes, nope she has the luck of sleeping with her best friend's older brother Ian Walser. What are the chances of that? So much heat and passion in that one night how can they both walk away from that?

    Normally, I don't like damaged heroines for a couple of reasons. The main reason is they tend to get on my nerves. However, Roxanne didn't get on my nerves. I actually liked her and her jaded attitude on love. I must say I have seen some jaded heroines, but I think she takes the cake with lines like:

    "It's the only emotion that makes people experience a false high, better than any drug on the market. Two people in love believe in miracles. They believe that all they need is love to conquer the world. It's all a lie."

    Or...

    "It's the same damn thing. We're encouraged to marry for love, and then those new relationship vibes run out, and all you're left with is some near-stranger who you are incompatible with in every way but, sexually. You end up resenting them because you're trapped, and all that hate turns into a toxic mix that's damn unlivable. Falling in love is the beginning of the end for relationship. It just takes some longer to realize it than others."
     
    Seriously jaded, cynical, or whatever word you can come up with. What it all boils down to is fear that was instill at a young age. And I appreciate Ms. Robert using a hero that had some serious emotional baggage. I don't think that Roxanne could have handle someone who didn't have baggage. Boy Ian has baggage. For one thing he's coming back from overseas and adjusting to life after the military; not always an easy transition. Then he's dealing with his family, especially his mother. Wow, she's a piece of work.

    Overall, I enjoyed reading Chasing Mrs. Right. I love the fact that Roxanne and Ian are both damage goods trying to work their way through life. They are a lot of fun to read with their banter between each other. BOY they bring the heat in their conversation and in the bedroom (or anywhere else). Here's the bottom line: If you are looking for hot and steamy with some witty conversation, I would say give Chasing Mrs. Right a try and be prepare to turn on the AC.

    Copy provided by publisher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    This was a book that Katee Roberts wrote as a 2nd book in her Co

    This was a book that Katee Roberts wrote as a 2nd book in her Come Undone series. Even though it follows Two Wrongs, One Right, I feel that it can very well stand alone. So if you haven't read Wrong Bed, Right Guy, even though I recommend it, you can start here and it would be a great place to do so.




    Ian Walser, just came home, after 10 years away while in the military. When he get there he feels out of place and is suffering from full blown PTSD. He has to be strong though and doesn't tell his family about what is going on with him. So naturally they throw him a huge welcome home party. Feeling the anxiety rush though him, he decided to leave the party in a hurry. With his hasty departure he plows down a beautiful brunette and feels an instant connection with her. Without knowing who one another is, they go off together and have the magical night everyone dreams of. Until the next morning.




    Roxanne Stokes is a event planner. She has her career, one night stands, and maybe a few short term relationships. That's as far as it goes with her because of her many qualms about relationships and love that have been firmly set in place by her mother and past relationships. When this to-sexy-to-be-true man runs into her out side of the club, she feels that connection too. Some time during the night she realizes that it's Ian, her best friends brother, and know that's as far as it will go. So in the morning she picks up and runs out before he wakes up, thinking that the end of their relationship.




    Ian soon finds out who Roxanne is and decides he isn't done. He sees the effect he has on her and can't leave things alone. Ian pursues Roxanne and after many steamy encounters she finally starts to let him in. Throughout the book they both work on their issues and discover they are meant to be.




    I think this book was wonderfully written and had many very, very hot scenes, leaving me fanning myself. The story was captivation and the characters were well developed. Though I do think the ending was a bit thrown together and a little predictable, it was still over all an excellent read!! I don't think Katee is done with Ian and Roxanne, so I am hoping to see a bit more of them in her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2013

    This was the second in Katee's Come Undone series, however, I di

    This was the second in Katee's Come Undone series, however, I did not read the first one, and it did not take away from this book at all, it is not a series that you have to necessarily read in order, although I will be trying to get a hold of book 1 as I really enjoyed this one.




    The story starts off with us meeting Ian who has just returned home from his second tour in Afghanistan and instead of being able to go home and sleep and try to relax, his sister has arranged a coming home party for him. It turns out that he needs to leave early as there are too many people and different noises for him as he seems to be suffering from a form of PTSD, and just trying to get use to a "normal" life back at home after being in a war environment I would imagine is extremely difficult. 




    When he leaves the party he literally runs in to Roxanne and knocks her over, this is how they first meet. Neither of them realise at the beginning that they are connected by someone that they both care about, and their chance meeting is supposed to be one night of bliss before they both move on. 




    I really liked the characters in this book, Roxanne has a great personality, but she seems to have a lock on her heart because of situations in her past, and things that her Mother has tried to ingrain in her, even if they are not right. Ian has his issues for sure, but he is also brutally honest in what he wants, and really puts Roxanne to the test in trying to get it.




    The thing that I love about these books is that they put real life situations in with the romance and steaminess. It just makes you connect with the story a little more, to make it an enjoyable experience. We see the characters in this book struggle with their own issues, but also try to support each other at the same time with what the other is going through, and the relationship is not perfect, but we do see it grow and I am happy with how it turned out at the end.




    I have a feeling I am going to really enjoy the Entangled Brazen collection if it is going to be carrying authors like Katee as this was a perfect Sunday night with a coffee read! I give it a 4/5.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Good Series

    This is a cute series to read. Romance and steamy scenes. Not much follow up on the previous characters but still a good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    In the beginning, I wasn't at all sure about this one, but by th

    In the beginning, I wasn't at all sure about this one, but by the time I was about a third of the way in, I was hooked! 




    I ended up really enjoying Ian and Roxanne's story. I'd just finished a story with a whole lot of absolutely ridiculous internal dialogue, so reading Ian and Rox's was a breath of fresh air. They had issues--major issues--which actually had basis in realism. I didn't always agree with what they were thinking, but it made sense for their characters, and they worked through their issues as the story progressed. There was a bit of insta-love here, but it worked for this reader. And the chemistry? Definitely hot! It didn't hurt that the hero was a former Marine, either. ;)




    I haven't read the first in the series, but after reading this one it's definitely on my TBR list--as is Nathan's story, due out this summer. Can't wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful steamy read about two broken people finding love...in

    Wonderful steamy read about two broken people finding love...in a hopeless place!

    There is something about a soldier that  really does it for me. I don't know if it's the uniform, the hair cut or the overall manly persona but military hero's are hot as sin! Ian Walser is no different. He has just returned home from a tour over seas with the army and has been dragged to a welcome home party thrown by his sister. He doesn't want to be there, all he wants is to go home and be alone for a while. In the middle of a full scale panic attack brought on by all the people shoved into the club that holds the party, Ian runs out to find some fresh air but runs directly into Roxanne Stokes. The instant he touches her he feels a peace he hasn't felt since he joined the military and has to get to to know here. The result of him knocking her down left a cut on her leg he insisted on taking care of so Roxanne suggests they go to the quiet top part of the club. The attraction between them from the first moment leads to a hot encounter in a darkened booth and ultimately leads them to a hotel nearby. 




    After a hot night of passion Ian wakes up to a note and money on the dresser left by Roxanne, making him feel cheap and angry. He decides he won't let her get away with just one night and he pursues her relentlessly. Roxanne doesn't do relationships after watching all the men she has tried to care about leave her high and dry. Her mother isn't a great example either with her many failed attempts it's no wonder Roxanne can't commit. Ian is finally able to get Roxanne to take things one day at a time and slowly starts to show her things with him aren't like her past experiences. Things between them seem to be going great and they even manage to get closer than either of them ever have until a disastrous dinner with his family threatens to tear them apart.




    I really liked this book, add another score in the win column for Brazen! It was a quick, humorous and steamy! I knew I was going to enjoy it when I had barely gotten through chapter 3 and Roxanne had already jumped Ian while he was driving them to a hotel! this was a couple that I instantly liked from the start. Ian being military was one reason but him being damaged from the war in Iraq and being vulnerable was a major turn on. You get to watch him change from beginning to end with him at first not wanting to even be touched. Loud noises startled him and crowds area not his best friend. Guess he doesn't want to be up in Walmart at the first of the month huh? Ian was funny and sexy and charming in the way he dealt with Roxanne and her relationships issues. 




    Roxanne was the perfect relationship-phobe especially when she turned the tables and left Ian high and dry with cab fare. That was hilarious watching him discover what she'd done. She has her own set of quirks about Love and watching her slowly trust Ian was like watching a baby bird learn to fly. I can understand where she was coming from, even though she frustrated me at times. Having a guy tell you he loves you then effing ditch you shortly after is NOT fun. Trust me! Needless to say I connected with Roxanne because we both went through similar things with men. She didn't cut Ian any slack and actually stuck to her guns until he showed her he could be trusted. Eventually she couldn't resist the call of his "Slim Jim" and gave into the hot sex he provided.




     These two had some amazing chemistry to go along with the heat. Between mirror sex and hot car sex while driving it's amazing that I didn't combust in my kitchen chair while reading! Beyond all that yummy goodness though this couple had really sweet moments between them that ultimately solidified them as a unit despite the troubles that came their way later in the story. Ian proved he could be trusted and broke down her defenses and Roxanne helped him deal with his anxiety and familial obligations. They were just a really great couple to read about and everything wrapped up the way I was hoping it would. While it didn't knock my socks totally off I still enjoyed it and recommend it. The people at Brazen really know how to deliver a sweet and hot story to turn your frown upside down!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2