Customer Reviews for

Chasing Perfect (Fool's Gold Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 286 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(121)

4 Star

(94)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Fans will enjoy the first visit to Fool's Gold as Susan Mallery deftly merges humor with pathos

As a child, urban planner Charity Jones had no place she could call home. Thus her fondest desire is to finally settle down somewhere. When Fool's Gold, California hires her to help the hamlet attract new business and men, she thinks this is her permanent place to cal...
As a child, urban planner Charity Jones had no place she could call home. Thus her fondest desire is to finally settle down somewhere. When Fool's Gold, California hires her to help the hamlet attract new business and men, she thinks this is her permanent place to call home

Men for some reason don't stay in Fool's Gold normally. One exception is former Tour de France winner Josh Golden who left biking after a teammate died in an accident. He has been in hiding in the California foothills. All the women in town want Josh except Charity; all he wants is Charity and not the other women.

The fun behind this entertaining contemporary romance is the aptly titled town that seems to struggle with a scarcity of men; thus leading to poignant jocular situations. The support cast is strong and eccentric while the lead couple is a wonderful pairing as she just wants a home without a man but is hired by a town of women to entice men to come and stay. Fans will enjoy the first visit to Fool's Gold as Susan Mallery deftly merges humor with pathos.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on April 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Just not one of her best.

I REALLY enjoy Susan Mallery's books, but this read seemed as if she was writing with a ghost writer. Characters were there, plot developed....just missing the depth of her usual emotions. Like she wrote it in a hurry, used the story board to create the usual and forg...
I REALLY enjoy Susan Mallery's books, but this read seemed as if she was writing with a ghost writer. Characters were there, plot developed....just missing the depth of her usual emotions. Like she wrote it in a hurry, used the story board to create the usual and forgot to add the development.

posted by 569842 on June 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 289 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted June 17, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    What a great read! really enjoyed it. It was very easy for me to

    What a great read! really enjoyed it. It was very easy for me to connect to the characters

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fans will enjoy the first visit to Fool's Gold as Susan Mallery deftly merges humor with pathos

    As a child, urban planner Charity Jones had no place she could call home. Thus her fondest desire is to finally settle down somewhere. When Fool's Gold, California hires her to help the hamlet attract new business and men, she thinks this is her permanent place to call home

    Men for some reason don't stay in Fool's Gold normally. One exception is former Tour de France winner Josh Golden who left biking after a teammate died in an accident. He has been in hiding in the California foothills. All the women in town want Josh except Charity; all he wants is Charity and not the other women.

    The fun behind this entertaining contemporary romance is the aptly titled town that seems to struggle with a scarcity of men; thus leading to poignant jocular situations. The support cast is strong and eccentric while the lead couple is a wonderful pairing as she just wants a home without a man but is hired by a town of women to entice men to come and stay. Fans will enjoy the first visit to Fool's Gold as Susan Mallery deftly merges humor with pathos.

    Harriet Klausner

    11 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    I have read all of Susan Mallery's books and chasing perfect is one of the best.Great plot, good writing. will read more.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't wait for the next one in the Series!!

    I'll admit that I pretty much love everything by Susan Mallery. Chasing Perfect is no exception. Charity is the new Town Manager of Fools Gold. She is looking for a place to belong and call home. Josh is the town hero and a former Tour de France winner. Can they find love together? Well of course, but how they get there is a great read. The town is full of other great characters as well. You won't be disappointed.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    Exactly what I was looking for!

    Knock me over with a feather! Susan Mallery has been sitting in front of me all this time and I had it in my head that I didn't like her books and I don't know why! Chasing Perfect was exactly what I had been looking for. I feel like I've been in such a dry spell I'm so happy to know that I have a whole back list of books I can read.

    Let me give you the highlights:

    Third person with his/hers POV
    Straight up contemporary romance with no suspense, vampires or bizarre plot twists
    Strong and physically perfect male "lead". He is an athlete and a superstar with the name to match his image "Josh Golden" and she is just the kind of heroine I like: strong but feminine, never whiny, real and attractive in a realistic way.
    Good sex scenes but coming off a couple of erotic romances it's hard to tell if the mild let down on the steam factor was due to less than exceptional "romantic" moments or a little desensitization. (Mild spoiler alert here: Since the first time they are together he does her up against the wall I'm thinking the latter is more likely.)

    More of this review can be found on the blog: Batteries and Bubbly

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2010

    Just not one of her best.

    I REALLY enjoy Susan Mallery's books, but this read seemed as if she was writing with a ghost writer. Characters were there, plot developed....just missing the depth of her usual emotions. Like she wrote it in a hurry, used the story board to create the usual and forgot to add the development.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    Great Reading

    I started reading and couldn't put it down. when I finished I was ready for book #2, it didn't leave you hanging. It left you wanting to know more.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2011

    First of a series

    Books build nicely upon each character. Stories good but predictable. Not overly descriptive bedroom scenes but enough to keep your interest. An easy read with characters easy to keep track of.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    Omg - THIS BOOK IS AMAZING!

    Susan Mallery is an outstanding author. I couldn't put this book down! Literally. I read this book in one day. :) The ending's leave me squealing with joy. God, She writes the best books! I highly recommend this book and Finding Perfect & Almost Perfect to any reader. Wow, What an awesome read. :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Can Charity Jones make her life in Fool's Gold

    Fool's Gold is the name of the town in the Sierra foothills with everything you can think of and if you can't maybe it will be coming soon.

    CHASING PERFECT is the story of the new city planner Charity Jones and her hopes of bringing new businesses to town--that is her job. There seem to be so many single women in Fool's Gold and not nearly as many single men for them. The City Council is almost all women and some are single too. Charity falls in love with the town and plans to never move again. She moved so much as a child she just wants a home. Charity has a few personal problems to work through now that she chosen this.

    The town has a favorite son Josh Golden, a world class cyclist, who does want to settle back in Fool's Gold. He's here right now but maybe he'd like to ride again though. You're going to love Josh too-a wonderful hero with some issues he needs to work out. He has been known as a player and most think he still is.

    Charity and Josh seem to be drawn to each other but there is no privacy in a small town. Charity doesn't want to be one of his conquests and he needs someone to understand his feelings but they do have there ups-and-downs in their romance.

    I loved Fool's Gold myself and even Josh and Charity. Wonderful read and I'm looking forward to July's ALMOST PERFECT

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    ?

    Once again we have harriet klausner and her cliff note book report ruining another book. Bn, please, will you ever do something to this poster and put a stop to her incessant plot spoilers???? She ruins every book *reviews*.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    You will fall in love with the characters that live in Fool's Go

    You will fall in love with the characters that live in Fool's Gold.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Easy read but

    After tge middle i felt it dragging. It mightvw been just me. Mallerys books have been great and i love her characters. They need focused on a liitle but more

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    Chasing Perfect = Near Perfection

    I am a huge Susan Mallery fan but she has outdone herself this time. I enjoyed this book from start to finish. I loved the characters, the background of the two main characters, and the love story that twisted its way through the plot. I cannot wait until the next book in the series comes out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Chase

    "What's wrong babe?" He shakes her shoulder lightly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Hanna

    She groans more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Good

    Pretty good :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    Great

    Great easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2013

    Excellent Read With Secrets Revealed

    I couldn't figure out the order of Ms. Mallery's Fool's Gold collection and was pleased to finally stumble across the story of Charity Jones and learn the history of Mayor Marsha! This book, as well as the entire series, was an excellent read and continues to provide insight into other characters of the town of Fool's Gold. This series is compelling, entertaining, romantic, funny and touches on every imaginable relationship roadblock you can think of. You won't be able to read just one, and each character has his or her own story that you will keep you reaching for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 289 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15