Customer Reviews for

Chasing Perfect (Fool's Gold Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 292 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(123)

4 Star

(97)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Fans will enjoy the first visit to Fool's Gold as Susan Mallery deftly merges humor with pathos

As a child, urban planner Charity Jones had no place she could call home. Thus her fondest desire is to finally settle down somewhere. When Fool's Gold, California hires her to help the hamlet attract new business and men, she thinks this is her permanent place to cal...
As a child, urban planner Charity Jones had no place she could call home. Thus her fondest desire is to finally settle down somewhere. When Fool's Gold, California hires her to help the hamlet attract new business and men, she thinks this is her permanent place to call home

Men for some reason don't stay in Fool's Gold normally. One exception is former Tour de France winner Josh Golden who left biking after a teammate died in an accident. He has been in hiding in the California foothills. All the women in town want Josh except Charity; all he wants is Charity and not the other women.

The fun behind this entertaining contemporary romance is the aptly titled town that seems to struggle with a scarcity of men; thus leading to poignant jocular situations. The support cast is strong and eccentric while the lead couple is a wonderful pairing as she just wants a home without a man but is hired by a town of women to entice men to come and stay. Fans will enjoy the first visit to Fool's Gold as Susan Mallery deftly merges humor with pathos.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on April 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Just not one of her best.

I REALLY enjoy Susan Mallery's books, but this read seemed as if she was writing with a ghost writer. Characters were there, plot developed....just missing the depth of her usual emotions. Like she wrote it in a hurry, used the story board to create the usual and forg...
I REALLY enjoy Susan Mallery's books, but this read seemed as if she was writing with a ghost writer. Characters were there, plot developed....just missing the depth of her usual emotions. Like she wrote it in a hurry, used the story board to create the usual and forgot to add the development.

posted by 569842 on June 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    Chasing Perfect = Near Perfection

    I am a huge Susan Mallery fan but she has outdone herself this time. I enjoyed this book from start to finish. I loved the characters, the background of the two main characters, and the love story that twisted its way through the plot. I cannot wait until the next book in the series comes out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    I enjoyed this book very much. The beginning did have a slow sta

    I enjoyed this book very much. The beginning did have a slow start to me, but I pushed on and I'm glad I did. I hope we continue their story in the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    Highly recommend this one.

    This was another very good Susan MAllory story. Love all her books.
    Everyone should read her books, they are always good for an interesting afternoon or late nights read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Cute

    Cute easy read book. Ending confused me since Liz was never previously mentioned, but I guess that is the lead in to the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Iudhjbggwvgg Z

    Eteyjusnsdl

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful Series!!!

    This book was a great start to a joyful series! I read almost all the books in a month and I look forward to more later this year. In this first book we meet Charity who comes to the small town of Fool's Gold for a job but finds everything she ever wanted and more. Her soul mate, who doesn't know it, is Josh, an uber handsome jock Charity thinks is too good to be true. But everyone has flaws and Josh is no different. The town is fictional, but I wish it existed because I so want to move there! These people really look out for each other. Oh, and there is a man shortage, which is pretty funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Cute

    *

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Great story, looking forward to next installment

    I feel the way I do when just leaving after spending a wonderful evening getting to know new friends. It is a really good feeling of anricipation for the future. So looking forward to the next story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    Loved it!

    Great introduction to the series, makes you want to read all the books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Very cute book

    I read this in less than two days as it was addicting. Can't wait to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Fun series!

    Going to enjoy the rest of them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    So it appears that I’m always late discovering the great a

    So it appears that I’m always late discovering the great authors… I finished Chasing Perfect in one day…. I was up until past midnight, because I could not put the book down… I don’t know what I was thinking by taking so long to start reading this series.

    I’m a huge fan of the city and citizens of Virgin River, CA (Robyn Carr). I am now also a huge fan of the city and citizens of Fool’s Gold, CA.

    Josh Golden (what a name, The Golden Boy) is a semi-retired cyclist. Charity Jones is the new city planner. Both are looking for something… The only something that the other can give them.

    I love the title of the book, “Chasing Perfect”. Charity is looking for the “perfect man”. But she doesn’t understand the “perfect” is in the eyes of the beholder. She has a habit, like her mother, of falling for the “perfect” guy, only to find out that there’s something wrong with him. An abuser, a theft, and a cheater. What more can a girl ask for, right?

    Josh is all flash and no substance? Or is he? He has an amazing smile, a great body, and women all over go crazy over him. Definitely not for Charity, right?

    I always love stories where the hero of the book has deeper layers then what they really want you to see. Josh is one of those guys.

    Yes, this is a true romance story. So you know that the guy gets the girl and everything is honky dory. But I always love the ride that gets you there. If you are really paying attention to the book as you’re reading it, yes, you can figure out what’s going to happen ahead of time. But it’s still a great read.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    Good Book

    This book is a sweet one. I enjoyed reading it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    This book like all her other's is a very nice read one too get lost in and wast away a very slow day.

    The characters are easy to lose once self in, she developes them very fast and you get into this book without mush time wasted on the plot. a book that doen't make one think so mush and your day become relaxed. nice weekend read at the beach or any vaction down time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    It was okay

    It was not one of her better books. The idea that Josh was special and going to have a string of groupies was repeated so many times it got ridiculous. I found Charity a very superficial character. The grandmother angle was good The rest was so so.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another good one

    Mallary does it again and gives you great characters, funny reading, romance, and overall a great story. Especially about a town lacking in men. You can't help but to want to know how that's going to be written about. Mallery writes it theonly way it can be written. I'm definitely a fan of series' and can't wait to read the next book in this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5