BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Chasing Redbird

Average Rating 4.5
( 145 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(110)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Chasing Redbird

I read this book years ago when I was in junior high and remember it being a very intriguing book. As I was looking through my bookshelf recently, I came across the book and decided to read it again. Even as an adult, I loved the book (for the most part) and would highl...
I read this book years ago when I was in junior high and remember it being a very intriguing book. As I was looking through my bookshelf recently, I came across the book and decided to read it again. Even as an adult, I loved the book (for the most part) and would highly recommend it to any teenager. This is a book that makes you think . . . and will help you find yourself through reading this book.
This book is about a 13 year old girl named Zinny, who has 6 siblings and whose parents who seem to overlook her. She has a strong relationship with her Uncle Nate and Aunt Jessie, but when her Aunt Jessie dies, everything in her life seems to be a whirlwind. She finds an old trail near her farm that she begins to clear, and becomes enveloped in blazing the trail. Although she doesn't understand at first why the trail is so important to her, she later realizes that it is to find out who she really is, to prove to her family that she is responsible, and to understand more about her families past and her Aunt Jessie's death. This would be a great book for someone trying to understand closure and death.
My only slight concern with this book is the character of Jake Boone. Although I liked the fact that he was "sweet on" Zinny, I did not like that he stole things to give to her. I don't know if young adults would get the idea that stealing is okay as long as you gave those things to someone else or not. Although Jake is punished for his actions in the end, I just thought that it was a little weird.
Overall, I give this book four stars. It is a book that will definitely make you think long after you have finished the book!

posted by jamie-blake on January 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not sure

Not sure if the book is good or not because the sample only gave me six pages and that was just enough to get to the end of the contents page. Disappointing. They are not going to sell very well if people cant even read a page of the book.

posted by 9500201 on November 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted May 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I Absolutly love this book!!!!!

    This is one of the best books I have read! I am your typical book worm. I read this book a while back and I loved it! Sharon Chreech does a great job creating unique characters. The story is not only touching it is also funny! I highly recomend this book to anyone of all ages!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2008

    awesome book

    Creech did a fantastic job on this book. several times it made me cry and i did not like it when i had to sit the book down. again amazing book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2008

    Favorite book since my childhood

    This book has a special place in my heart.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2013

    Amazing page turning book, that you will absolutely love! Zinny

    Amazing page turning book, that you will absolutely love!

    Zinny Taylor lives with her 6 siblings and parents. Her parents don't notice her much and get mixed up between all their children. She has a very close relationship with her aunt and uncle, but also when her aunt dies she stumbled upon a trail and then became convinced that aunt Jessie had wanted her to find that trail and wanted her to finish it, which made her think that she was connected to the trail and had to finish it at any cost. but she also figured out that someone had a little crush on her because he would always give her gifts. During the book you will be wondering if she will ever get the trial finished?, if she and the boy will ever get together?, what will happen next to her while she is on the trail? I didnt think i was going to be to interested in this book till i actually sat down and read the first few chapters and it became so addicting i finished this 260 page book in about a week! The sense of wonder and adventure had interested me and that there were some many things that could go wrong as she traveled into the wilderness by herself, or so she had thought. Don't be discouraged by the front cover or the first 3 chapters, just read it and you will see for yourself if its addicting or boring it all depends on what books you like, but i recommend you READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!!! 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2007

    i love this book

    this book is the best book i have read in a while!!it is a book for the whole family!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Awesome!!

    I just started the book and i can't stop reading it because its so good and interesting!!! Sharon Creech is my favorite author and i'm trying to read all of her books this summer,thats my goal!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Sharron Creech Rocks

    Sharron Creech writes the best books ever this book is on of the best!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Love this book so much!

    I would give this 100 stars. I have not got this on the nook, but im reading the real book in school. I wish there was a other book, maybe someday i could make up a 2nd book that Zinny is more older and falls in love (you know who if you read the book).


    HOPE YOU GET IT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Bugg

    This book is wonderful but very sad it will make you cry cause i did when it started and when it ended cause i did not want it to

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2014

    Tap here for opinion

    Thus book id just simply amazing. I love it so much. To everyine else that loves thus book, im titally with ya! It has cliffhangers everywhere and is jlbeautifully cwritten. I think sharon creech should make a secing one! Thus us my favorite boik and it has for a whule. If you didnt enjiy rhis book that is ok because we all have differebt minds. But if yiu ask me ill say i live this book probably too much! And thats saying somthing because i normally arnt a big reader! Thx to sharon and all of her helpers to make this magical book possible. Thx for reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Hello

    Hi

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Loved it

    This book is amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    WOW!!!!!!!

    This is ama zing can't wait till end!!!!! :) :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    Dawn to cat

    Wanna chat?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Love this book

    A page turner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Tessa to Zinny

    You here??? I need to know more about you. Please!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Jeesica

    Oh your girl nevermind.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    Good book

    Love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    To number 3

    Really im not trying to be mean but you dont ask a girl to ask you out thats just wrong. Here some advice be your self the girl you may like may like you and then if you ask her out she might say yes so you might want to think about trying that!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6