Customer Reviews for

Chasing Sunsets (Cedar Key Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Chasing Sunsets by Eva Marie Everson - Summer Read

Kimberly Tucker doesn't want her ex-husband, Charlie, to have more time with their two boys, Chase and Cody. The boys are her life, and it's come to her attention they spend more time with their grandparents when visiting their father, who is once again enjoying the dat...
Kimberly Tucker doesn't want her ex-husband, Charlie, to have more time with their two boys, Chase and Cody. The boys are her life, and it's come to her attention they spend more time with their grandparents when visiting their father, who is once again enjoying the dating scene. What she can't understand is why they divorced in the first place. Their life represented the picture-perfect American family.

When the judge awards Charlie the right to keep his boys over the summer, Kimberly is faced with coming to terms with the situation. At her father's request, she heads for the beach house in Cedar Key, where she will work at finding a replacement housekeeper. Kimberly doesn't want to be there, and she plans to return home, close to her boys, within a week or two.

What Kimberly doesn't expect is to befriend the older woman next door, run into her first love, and have a second chance at the life and love she's desired all along.

Eva Marie Everson shows us that love still prevails in her Cedar Key novel Chasing Sunsets.

Perfect for that summer beach read, Chasing Sunsets is filled with Eva's wonderful descriptions and characters we can relate to and fall in love with. If you can't make it to the beach, no worries, she'll take you there!

Available June 2011 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

If you desire a summer's worth of great reading material, be sure to pick up copies of Eva's novels Things Left Unspoken and This Fine Life, as well. I promise you won't be disappointed!

posted by AlyciaM on June 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Crash ending

I liked the book all the way to the ending. The ending was Very abrupt and unsatisfying.

posted by 5376611 on June 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Christian literture

    Christian publication. Very clean romance. Heroine was pretty whiny at first. Book was also pretty preachy. All the main characters were horny, but would not have sex before marriage, even though they were widowed or divorced. Except for main chacters ex, he was a player. There are some rather tame adult topics in this book. It is rather entertaining, especially if you read it with a sense of humor. It is a goody, goody two shoes type of book. For readers 16 and up, it does teach morality. Chick lit.

    AD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Recommend this one!

    Easy read which I found particularly enjoyable because of the setting. I've been to Cedar Key many times and was familiar with places used in the book. That always makes me feel like I am in the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2014

    Good Summer Read - Makes you want to visit Cedar Key!

    I just finished this book yesterday, and really enjoyed it. It's a great summer read, but I was VERY disappointed when all of a sudden it ended with many loose ends that hadn't been tied up. I did check out the author's other books to find that there are others in the series, so I will probably purchase those as I thoroughly enjoyed the characters and their stories, and want to find out what their history is. I had never read anything by Eva Marie Everson, but will definitely read more of her books as she deals with many issues we hear of today such as spousal and child abuse and alcoholism.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    Would recommend

    Very good story line but was left hanging with the ending. Want to know how the dangling threads are resolved. Will get the other books when I can afford them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Interesting story

    Enjoyable read by a Christian author. I liked the back story about the main character's family and how it effected her current life. Some times there was unnecessary details but overall a good, easy read. I would read more books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Chasing Sunsets

    Author Eva Marie Everson takes readers on a new adventure to Cedar Key, Florida. Everson is known for her great southern fiction titles and her latest book, Chasing Sunsets is a contemporary romance with a Christian fiction base. Everson, a speaker and radio personality draws on personal experiences and a deep faith in God to give readers a story they won't soon forget. Filled with second chances, forgiveness and one woman's struggle to find herself, this book is on my list of great summer reads! Eva Marie Everson is an author who writes from the heart. She creates characters that have strong feelings and emotions, good and bad. She understands that life isn't always easy and isn't afraid to write about the hard parts. I first encountered Everson's writing with her book, This Fine Life, which I really loved. In both that book and her latest book Chasing Sunsets, Everson gives the reader characters that they can relate to. These are not fairy-tale women who couldn't exist in today's world, they are real and have the same issues that the reader may be facing. Kimberly Tucker is such a great character. I found myself empathizing with her for several reasons. I am a divorced mother who has to deal with some of the same things Kim is dealing with in this book. Her teenage sons are spending the summer with their father, some may think of this time as vacation of sorts, but if you are anything like me and this character it is extremely difficult to deal with the loss you feel when your children are gone. I loved the fact that the author had Kimberly do some soul-searching of her own while the kids were away. This was time in which she was able to work through her feelings about the divorce. Divorce is never easy and sometimes it takes a great toil on a person and I think the author did a wonderful job of portraying that. Kimberly also has the opportunity to come in contact with her first love. The first time around he actually broke her heart and he has quite the reputation as a ladies man, but both she and Steven have reached a place in their lives that they are ready for change. That is sometimes really difficult for people. Change is often not easy and Everson makes that plain to the reader. I also thought the author did a great job of developing the relationship between the characters. Though they are old friends, a lot has happened in their lives since they have been in contact with each other. They fall into a rhythm that is both comforting and understandable and it leads them to something wonderful. The author also incorporates issues of faith into the story without making them overwhelming. Patsy, Kim's next door neighbor at Cedar Key is a woman who has a great faith in God and through her friendship, Kim is able to get in touch with that side of herself as well. Everson lets the reader glean tidbits of wisdom and faith from the story, she doesn't hit them over the head with it. I love a good Christian fiction novel that is able to get the message across without sounding preachy. It is obvious that Everson's own faith fuels her writing which gives it an authenticity that is lacking in some books today. I recommend this one to Christian fiction readers and lovers of contemporary romance, as well as readers who enjoy reading stories about women and how they change and grow.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Chasing Chapters

    Moving forward into an alternate life style is a challenge for divorced parents, as it becomes more common. Chasing Sunsets is about letting go of past hurts, making unexpected changes, and believing in new starts.

    The overall story follows the life of Kimberly Tucker post divorce. While ex-husband Charlie has their sons for a month Kimberly returns to Cedar Key, where memories of the past and dreams for the future collide.

    The characters are full of emotions and multiple personalities shine through. Very descriptive writing and easy to envision and follow.

    The only challenge I encountered was the abundance of back story. It seemed to jump from present to past nearly every chapter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    A GREAT INSPIRATIONAL CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE! CHASING SUNSETS BY EVA MARIE EVERSON....

    CHASING SUNSETS by Eva Marie Everson is a wonderful inspirational contemporary romance set in Cedar Key,Florida.It is the first in the new "A Cedar Key" novel series. What a wonderful Southern fiction with delightful,convincing,engaging and lovable cast of characters.The plot is well written with details and depth. It has family secrets,love,faith,finding peace,redemption,forgiveness, grace,the depth of a family's love,and second chances. Kimberly Tucker,is a recent divorcee,struggles with loneliness,mother of two teenage boys, a control freak, and looking for change. Steven Granger,is also a divorcee of one teenage girl,has a bad reputation of being a playboy,and looking for change.While, Kimberly and Steven where old friends they moved apart.Steven,was actually Kimberly first teenage love.When Kim's father sends to on vacation at their family's summer cottage in Cedar Key,she meets Steven again. Together,they will find peace,forgiveness,long buried secrets that come to surface and you can sometimes find your first true love again.This is a compelling love story set on island time and second chances.It will keep you turning pages,while you enjoy island atmosphere. A great summer read. This book was received for the purpose of review from the publisher and details can be found at Revell, a division of Baker Publishing and My Book Addiction Reviews.

    ****Watch for the second in the "A Cedar Key" novel series "Chasing Seeking Sunrise"....Coming soon****

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The perfect book to take to the beach!

    If you like Southern fiction, you'll love Chasing Sunsets. Kimberly Tucker is used to having things under control, but she's now finding her life beyond her ability to manage. Learning to give up control and trust is rarely easy. Trusting someone who once broke your heart is even harder.

    Eva Marie Everson charms her readers with characters you'd love to have as friends. Then she places them in a setting where you'd love to be. Chasing Sunsets is a compelling love story that will have you coming back for more from Everson's pen. Novel Journey and I give it a high recommendation. It's the perfect book to take to the beach with you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1