Customer Reviews for

Chasing Sunsets (Cedar Key Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Chasing Sunsets by Eva Marie Everson - Summer Read

Kimberly Tucker doesn't want her ex-husband, Charlie, to have more time with their two boys, Chase and Cody. The boys are her life, and it's come to her attention they spend more time with their grandparents when visiting their father, who is once again enjoying the dat...
Kimberly Tucker doesn't want her ex-husband, Charlie, to have more time with their two boys, Chase and Cody. The boys are her life, and it's come to her attention they spend more time with their grandparents when visiting their father, who is once again enjoying the dating scene. What she can't understand is why they divorced in the first place. Their life represented the picture-perfect American family.

When the judge awards Charlie the right to keep his boys over the summer, Kimberly is faced with coming to terms with the situation. At her father's request, she heads for the beach house in Cedar Key, where she will work at finding a replacement housekeeper. Kimberly doesn't want to be there, and she plans to return home, close to her boys, within a week or two.

What Kimberly doesn't expect is to befriend the older woman next door, run into her first love, and have a second chance at the life and love she's desired all along.

Eva Marie Everson shows us that love still prevails in her Cedar Key novel Chasing Sunsets.

Perfect for that summer beach read, Chasing Sunsets is filled with Eva's wonderful descriptions and characters we can relate to and fall in love with. If you can't make it to the beach, no worries, she'll take you there!

Available June 2011 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

If you desire a summer's worth of great reading material, be sure to pick up copies of Eva's novels Things Left Unspoken and This Fine Life, as well. I promise you won't be disappointed!

posted by AlyciaM on June 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Crash ending

I liked the book all the way to the ending. The ending was Very abrupt and unsatisfying.

posted by 5376611 on June 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Chasing Sunsets by Eva Marie Everson - Summer Read

    Kimberly Tucker doesn't want her ex-husband, Charlie, to have more time with their two boys, Chase and Cody. The boys are her life, and it's come to her attention they spend more time with their grandparents when visiting their father, who is once again enjoying the dating scene. What she can't understand is why they divorced in the first place. Their life represented the picture-perfect American family.

    When the judge awards Charlie the right to keep his boys over the summer, Kimberly is faced with coming to terms with the situation. At her father's request, she heads for the beach house in Cedar Key, where she will work at finding a replacement housekeeper. Kimberly doesn't want to be there, and she plans to return home, close to her boys, within a week or two.

    What Kimberly doesn't expect is to befriend the older woman next door, run into her first love, and have a second chance at the life and love she's desired all along.

    Eva Marie Everson shows us that love still prevails in her Cedar Key novel Chasing Sunsets.

    Perfect for that summer beach read, Chasing Sunsets is filled with Eva's wonderful descriptions and characters we can relate to and fall in love with. If you can't make it to the beach, no worries, she'll take you there!

    Available June 2011 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

    If you desire a summer's worth of great reading material, be sure to pick up copies of Eva's novels Things Left Unspoken and This Fine Life, as well. I promise you won't be disappointed!

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    ???

    Should i get this

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2015

    An easy read and nice story...

    An easy read... So far, well written and nice story. but still a few chapters to go. Not thrilled with how much the author goes back in time, but I guess it adds to the story. I definitely recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2014

    Lovely story.

    I love summer beach stories like this,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Highly Recommend

    A cute, clean romance that made me want to red the next book in this series. First time reading this author but she introduced us to her characters and they welcomed us into their lives. The story was dotted with some very meaningful outlooks on everyday life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Enjoyed it

    Great read. Highly recommend it to young adult readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2014

    Highly recommend

    Love this book, great reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Ice tea.....

    Before I read this book, I didn't really like ice tea, then after this book, ice tea became my biggest drink to drink! Just how often they drink it, and what they say about it, it made it sound like heavens drink!! Haha but yeah I just wanted to say that(; Oh andthe rest of my review was posted on June 23! Two down(:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Worth every penny!

    I myself loved this story from the very beginning, found it hard to put down! The story makes me want to go visit Cedar Key for vacation just to see the sunsets! Loved getting to know the characters. I see some complaining about how the story ended, i admit its a bit of a cliff hanger,but this is a series so I think thats how it suppose to be so you will buy the next book, and Believe me....it is more than worth it!! Just like a good movie that has more than one part, it leaves you ready for the next!! Job well done and highly recommend to anyone! Expecially book two to those who just quit on book one...you really dont know what youre missing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    Good book

    Good light read would read it again

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2013

    I'm not going to summarize the book, as it has been done several

    I'm not going to summarize the book, as it has been done several times already.  A good story with well developed characters.  I liked how the backstory was written in through the look back to different times in history.  The only thing that annoyed me a bit was how the writer so carefully detailed what she was wearing every time she went on a date.

    I read it over the holidays, but it would be a great beach / summer read. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    Highly recommend

    This was one of those books that when you start reading it, you do not want to put it down. The language in it is suitable for anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    THIS IS DEFINITELY RATED A 5!

    In my previous review it shows I rated this book a 4, I don't know what happened, but I DID rate it a 5! I'd rate it 10, if I could.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Surprised

    Loved this story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Healing And Believing In New Starts

    Eva Marie Everson in her new book, "Chasing Sunsets" Book One in the Cedar Key series published by Revell gives us a view into the life of Kimberly Tucker for five weeks as she finds respite on Cedar Key.

    Kimberly Tucker, a schoolteacher, is not sure where her marriage went wrong but she is still suffering from the divorce. Due to skillful manipulation of a judge the court awarded her ex-husband the summer vacation, all five weeks, with their boys which leaves Kim at loose ends. When her father suggests that she spend the five weeks at their vacation home in Cedar Key FL, a place she hasn't been since her mother died, she hesitates at first but decides to go. As soon as Kimberly enters Cedar Key she can feel some of the tension leave her and she is transported back in time to when she was young and carefree and vacationing with her father. Kimberly also reconnects with her first love, who broke her heart. Can she find healing for her bruised heart perhaps a second chance with her first love?

    Eva Marie Everson has a winner with "Chasing Sunsets". Kimberly is a fantastic character, emotionally damaged with multiple trauma on her heart she is looking for healing but not sure she will ever find it. Ms. Everson deals with serious topics of divorce and alcoholism but does not dive the story into tragedy. Instead Ms. Everson gives us a story about letting go of past hurts, making unexpected changes, and believing in new starts. I liked this book and am looking forward to the next in the series.

    If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.

    To listen to 24 hours a day non-stop Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    "Available June 2011 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    Fun summer read!

    Wednesday, June 15, 2011
    Chasing Sunsets by Eva Marie Everson






    Ok. Do you want the perfect summer read? This is it!

    Chasing Sunsets is the story of Kimberly Tucker. Kim is a newly divorced woman who can't seem to let go of the past and move forward with her life. Until... her father suggests she return to her childhood vacation home to 'take care of the house'. It seems the perfect opportunity to get her mind off things while her boys are with their father for part of the summer. Planning to stay only a few days to get things in order, Kimberly goes to work to find? the help that is needed. While she's there, her plans slowly begin to change. She meets with her closet childhood friend, Rosa, only to find she is not the same girl she remembers. Her new neighbor Patsy brings much insight into her life and then of all the unexpected... she is reunited with her first love, Steven Granger.

    The story takes place in a tiny beach town called "Cedar Key", and all I have to say is... now I want to live there! The scene is painted so clearly it feels as if you are right there with the characters, which by the way, are all so lovable. I can see the birds fly by, feels the ocean breeze, the humidity... even see the sunrise and sunset which are in great detail. Did I say I wish I was there? Yep. I can dream.

    Turns out that Cedar Key is an actual place that the author visited for this book. She even says that some of the places mentioned in the book are actual businesses in Cedar Key. There really is a Dilly Dally Gally, a Cook's Cafe, Cedar Key Market, a Kona Joe's and others. How wonderful it would be to see these actual places. You want to go now too, don't you? If not now... you will after reading this book.

    I highly recommend this book for your summer reading list. It's a great story with characters you can't help but like. It's very relaxing with the beautiful setting. Just a fun, easy read. I can't wait for the next in the series of the Cedar Key Novels. This is one series I will be sure to follow. Thanks Eva Marie Everson... I loved it!

    *Revell Books and Baker Publishing Group have provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for my honest review. ~ Thanks!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    ENGAGING, ROMANTIC, SUPER SUMMER READ

    CHASING SUNSETS by Eva Marie Everson is the first book I've read by this author and I think I've found a new favorite author to follow!


    This is a book of hope, forgiveness, introspection and love. I love the fact that the main character decided to take a trip to Cedar Key by herself to do a little relaxing. For the first time since college, she's alone for 5 weeks in the summer. She seemed to be at loose ends until she meets her neighbor and "wise woman", Patsy. This time alone gives Kimberly the opportunity to examine her life, her ended marriage, her family's "hidden" issues and what she wants to do in the future. As in real life, it's a difficult road to take.


    I love that the characters in the book are developed - it's like you actually know them. When an author can pull that off, I'd say the book will be a success. You want to take sides in the character plots but Ms. Everson brings out both the good & the not-so-good qualities of everyone. No single character is black or white---just like in real life---but they have awesome traits and everyday flaws. Personally I like that in my reading.


    Chasing Sunsets is a fabulous summer read---by the pool, in a chaise lounge, or even on the patio. Bring out a fruity drink & you have the makings of a relaxing time just for you. I'm giving this a 5 star rating and look forward to the next book in the series!



    Available June 2011 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.


    I received this book free from Revell as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Chasing Sunsets

    Kimberly Tucker is not sure where her marriage went wrong, She is a schoolteacher who has five weeks without her boys to figure it out though, because the court awarded her ex-husband the summer vacation with their boys which leaves Kim at loose ends. When her father suggests that she spend the five weeks at there vacation home in Cedar Key FL, a place she hasn't been since her mother died, she hesitates at first but decides to go. What happens though when she reconnects with her first love, who ironically broke her heart. Will her bruised heart find solace and perhaps a second chance with her first love? I loved this story, it easily drew me in, and held my attention until the final pages. Filled with wonderful characters whose emotions literally jump of the pages. The plot revolves around Kim a second grade teacher who after a year still questions where her marriage went wrong. She is someone that is easy to connect with, and her feelings are so normal. I could easily understand how she wanted to protect her heart when she reconnected with Steven. The author easily transition's between the past and present allowing us a glimpse of what happened in the characters past that shaped their future. I would easily say my favorite character is Patsy, she is a feisty senior that allows her love of God to shine thru. A book also gets extra kudos when a dog or cat is included and in this story we get Max, a wonderful companion to Kim and Oreo, Patsy's cat. I loved my visit to Cedar Key and can easily say the only negative about the book was that it had to end! I hope the author takes us on another journey to Cedar Key soon! Highly recommended! A complimentary copy of this book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Chasing Sunsets on an Island Time Hasn't Touched

    Chasing Sunsets, Book I in the Cedar Key Series by Eva Marie Everson, released June 1, 2011, by Baker Publishing. It's 35 chapters that will sweep the reader to an island time hasn't touched, Cedar Key. Relax with a summer island read where Kimberly Tucker, a divorced mother with two sons, struggles with loneliness when they spend five weeks of the summer with their father. When her father sends her back to the family vacation home in Cedar Key, she encounters her first teen love, Steven Granger, and an elderly wise woman of God, Patsy. Steven is also divorced and a single father, but is he the island playboy an old childhood friend claims, or has he truly become an adult and man of God? The old flame still sparks embers, and Kim dares to believe her first love might become her last, but her youngest son wants to see his mom and dad reunited, though his dad has moved on with his life and has become involved with many other women. Will she let her son and her ex decide her future, or will she learn to let go of what she can't possibly control and let God? Can she trust the man who broke her heart as a teen, or will he rip her heart to shreds once again? This Christian novel is different in that two divorced people find grace and redemption and this makes it a realistic novel in today's world, a book with the potential to reach hearts for God. It illustrates how people live through mistakes and find it's never too late to turn to God, and change can be good. I loved the single father aspect, but most of all, I love the author's beautiful island description of Cedar Key. Her vivid detail makes the sights, sounds, and colors come alive for the reader. I can just see the marsh from the slider and envision those sunrises and sunsets that make Cedar Key famous along with the seafood, and as the author says, ". . . the island that time forgot." I've been to Cedar Key and can identify with every inch of amazing sensory details, and I love the island that remains untouched by today's standards. The heroine is a schoolteacher. Will she give up her teaching job in Orlando for Cedar Key? I enjoyed the read on my Nook. If you'd like to visit an island paradise through the pages of a great novel, let Chasing Sunsets sweep you to another world and way of life. Relax and enjoy a virtual paradise.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2