Customer Reviews for

Chasing the Falconers (On the Run Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Courtesy of Teens Read Too

Gordon Korman's ON THE RUN series starts off with a bang with CHASING THE FALCONERS, an action-adventure thriller with serious overtones. The opening of the story finds Aidan Falconer, 15, and his younger sister, Meg, 11, ensconced at Sunnydale Farm, a so-called minimum...
Gordon Korman's ON THE RUN series starts off with a bang with CHASING THE FALCONERS, an action-adventure thriller with serious overtones. The opening of the story finds Aidan Falconer, 15, and his younger sister, Meg, 11, ensconced at Sunnydale Farm, a so-called minimum-security rehabilitation alternative for delinquent youths. Although Aidan and Meg haven't committed any crimes, their parents, Drs. John and Louise Falconer, both Professors and criminologists, had been found guilty of treason months before--and are now serving life sentences in separate prisons. Both Drs. had been working for the CIA, under the tutelage of operative 'Uncle' Frank Lindenauer, to create profiles to help the US government identify and locate terrorists. Unfortunately, though, the profiles fell into the hands of the very terrorists the Falconer's were profiling, and the world branded them traitors to the United States. When their lawyers failed to produce any trace of Frank Lindenauer (the CIA, in fact, testified that there was no such agent in their offices), the doctors were tried, found guilty, and sent to prison. Now their children, although innocent, are paying for it, as well. When an accidental fire at Sunnydale Farm presents a means for escape, Aidan and Meg grab it. There mission? To find Frank Lindenauer and prove that their parents are innocent. Their only rules are to stay together, and not get caught. As the Falconer's race towards Vermont and the summer house they once vacationed at with Lindenauer and his girlfriend, the two meet up with another fellow juvenile from the farm, Miguel Reyes. As the three attempt to avoid the police, and FBI agent Emmanuel Harris, who was responisble for bringing the case against the elder Falconers, Aidan and Meg learn what it means to be fugitives. CHASING THE FALCONERS is a quick, adrenaline-packed read that will leave you wanting to read the next book in the series, THE FUGITIVE FACTOR, as soon as you're done. Definitely a highly-recommended read for all lovers of action-adventure and mysteries!

posted by Anonymous on April 19, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

it sucks

it had no good ponits in the book it is not a good buy

posted by Anonymous on June 17, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    Aiden and Meg Falconer are put in a juvenile detention center be

    Aiden and Meg Falconer are put in a juvenile detention center because their parents were convicted on charges of treason and sentenced to life in prison. Aiden accidentally burns down the facility and they escape. They get on a freight train to go to Vermont, where they can find out about Frank Lindenauer, a man who can testify that their parents are innocent.They go to Chicago where they steal a car and drive it to Vermont. When they are there, they go to the house where they stayed with Frank Lindenauer on a vacation. When they are in the house Miguel, a fellow escapee, is shot but the Falconers escape. 

     

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2008

    LOVED IT!!!

    i think these are the best series of books i have read, just the thought of 2 kids, brother and sister running from the F.B.I and police and stuff, risking the lives and breaking the law!.this is my second time reading ON THE RUN, i think its on the edge, you never know whats going to happen, i LOVED IT!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2006

    Courtesy of Teens Read Too

    Gordon Korman's ON THE RUN series starts off with a bang with CHASING THE FALCONERS, an action-adventure thriller with serious overtones. The opening of the story finds Aidan Falconer, 15, and his younger sister, Meg, 11, ensconced at Sunnydale Farm, a so-called minimum-security rehabilitation alternative for delinquent youths. Although Aidan and Meg haven't committed any crimes, their parents, Drs. John and Louise Falconer, both Professors and criminologists, had been found guilty of treason months before--and are now serving life sentences in separate prisons. Both Drs. had been working for the CIA, under the tutelage of operative 'Uncle' Frank Lindenauer, to create profiles to help the US government identify and locate terrorists. Unfortunately, though, the profiles fell into the hands of the very terrorists the Falconer's were profiling, and the world branded them traitors to the United States. When their lawyers failed to produce any trace of Frank Lindenauer (the CIA, in fact, testified that there was no such agent in their offices), the doctors were tried, found guilty, and sent to prison. Now their children, although innocent, are paying for it, as well. When an accidental fire at Sunnydale Farm presents a means for escape, Aidan and Meg grab it. There mission? To find Frank Lindenauer and prove that their parents are innocent. Their only rules are to stay together, and not get caught. As the Falconer's race towards Vermont and the summer house they once vacationed at with Lindenauer and his girlfriend, the two meet up with another fellow juvenile from the farm, Miguel Reyes. As the three attempt to avoid the police, and FBI agent Emmanuel Harris, who was responisble for bringing the case against the elder Falconers, Aidan and Meg learn what it means to be fugitives. CHASING THE FALCONERS is a quick, adrenaline-packed read that will leave you wanting to read the next book in the series, THE FUGITIVE FACTOR, as soon as you're done. Definitely a highly-recommended read for all lovers of action-adventure and mysteries!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2006

    Great Series!!

    I read Gordon Korman's series 'On the Run' #'s 1-4.Here is my review: I really enjoyed this action packed series. The settings are things that fit the situations perfect. I like how Gordon Korman uses realife situations to get the point how hard the kids'life really is. The characters really balance each other out. Aiden is tense and cautious. Meg is laidback and dangerous. I really enjoyed this series. If you like great books read this one!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2006

    it sucks

    it had no good ponits in the book it is not a good buy

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2005

    AMAZING!

    I love Gordon Korman as a writer! This book, though, totally blew me out! Everyone should read it! I read the whole book in one day, and believe me that's not normal for me! My eyes were glued! Definetly read the rest!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2005

    wow

    This book has fast action and gets you right into the story. I gurantee if you read this book,you won't be able to put it down until your finished and you will love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2005

    Confessions of a Gordon Korman Mega Fan

    I would consider myself hooked on about almost all of Korman's books. The first book to this series was no exception. The story is about Aiden and Meg Falconer, whose parents are locked up in a federal prison for a crime they didn't commit... Meanwhile, Aiden and Meg are the only innocent ones on horrible Sunnydale Farm, a juvenile detention center with bullying inmates and incredibly corny supes (supervisors). Each chapter ends with a cliffhanger, and the end of the book does too. Pick up the book and see for yourself what lies ahead for the Falconers! Please, I beg you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2005

    It was so awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is one of the best series ever! When I read them I stayed up all night because I couldn't put them down. Aiden and Meg Falconer are in juvie and their parents are serving life sentences in jail. One night Aiden accidently sets the detention center on fire. He runs off with his sister to try to prove that their parents are innocent. Along the way they meet friends, traitors, and gang members. They even solve a few crimes while avoiding the police, FBI, and a scary killer named Hairless Joe, even if that means driving, flying on a plane, jumping of a building, stowing away on a boat (and jumping off that boat), and even hancuffing the FBI agent that made their life come crashing down. Oh yeah, did I mention that they steal his car, cell phone, and flush the handcuff key down the toilet? Well, I'm sorry my review is so long, but YOU HAVE GOT TO READ THIS SERIES!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2005

    Action packed adventure...too much talk

    The book was okay. Too much of the talking and stealing. The action packed ending gave the fun.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2005

    Read Chasing The Falconers

    Imagine yourself running away from cops when your parents are stuck in jail for life. Well Aidan and Meg Falconer were in their own jail. Then one night Aidan accidentally sets the place on fire! Oh No! Now Aidan and Meg are running for their freedom. On the way they bump into another run away. Now Aidan and Meg have to use their skills to cross half across the country to help their parents get out of jail without getting caught! My favorite part was when Aidan and Meg had to cut and dye their hair to disguise themselves. Gordon Korman has written many other books like NO More Dead Dogs, the Dive series, the Island series, and the Everest series. I recommend this book to 3rd graders and over and especially if you like adventures.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2005

    THE BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Wow when i read this book i was amazed how the author outdone it self man if u like adventure and suspense ull love this book. this is the best action and suspense book in a long time

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2005

    THE BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is the best book ever.Two kids on the run from the cops, thats great.I had to keep reading.I got in alot of trouble because this book was so great, I wouldn't put it down.I can not wait for the next book.This is a must read book.Gordon Korman is a GREAT author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2005

    Franklin Fifth Graders run with the Falconers!

    My fifth grade class in Le Mars, IA read this book aloud. We really enjoyed the book. It had a lot of adventure and the students were always waiting to see what happened next. We are disappointed that the second book has not been published yet and we will not be able to read it this year as a class.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2005

    Wow!

    I have just started this book, and i really enjoy it.....i can not wait untill the next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2015

    Ffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuunnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnyyyyyyyyyy

    Funny and crazy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Amazing

    This book is great. Lots of acrion and edge of yur seat moments. MUST READ!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    read this

    I live in vermont

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    Awesomeness

    I loved this book so much it is worth a second reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    You have to read this!

    A very good series. Its kinda addicting. Just dont read it again; itll ruin it for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3