BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Chasing the Dead

Average Rating 4
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

LOVED IT!!!!!!!

This book was so great. It kept you on your feet. I tell everyone to read this and make sure that you pay attention because this book throws you for a huge loop at the end. Buy far this is a book that has not yet been topped for me.

posted by Anonymous on June 25, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

M

Of course harriet klausner comes along with het cliff note book report and ruins this book. This pister needs to be banned as she reveals every detail of the book she supposedly reviews. Harriet, check out the other reviews, they are concise and to the point and more im...
Of course harriet klausner comes along with het cliff note book report and ruins this book. This pister needs to be banned as she reveals every detail of the book she supposedly reviews. Harriet, check out the other reviews, they are concise and to the point and more importantly, they dont reveal every detail of the plot. Learn from them. Stop ruining every book with your excessive reveals.

posted by 8888649 on May 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2007

    LOVED IT!!!!!!!

    This book was so great. It kept you on your feet. I tell everyone to read this and make sure that you pay attention because this book throws you for a huge loop at the end. Buy far this is a book that has not yet been topped for me.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    M

    Of course harriet klausner comes along with het cliff note book report and ruins this book. This pister needs to be banned as she reveals every detail of the book she supposedly reviews. Harriet, check out the other reviews, they are concise and to the point and more importantly, they dont reveal every detail of the plot. Learn from them. Stop ruining every book with your excessive reveals.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2008

    Campy

    The story moves at break-neck speed, which would be great in most other books, but the concept behind 'Chasing the Dead' is so far-fetched, it needed some more exposition and believable dialogue to give it some credulity. If you're looking for a disturbing, psychological horror novel 'i.e. The Haunting of Hill House' then you won't find it here. But If you want a quick weekend read that will give you the same chills 'Nightmare on Elm Street' would, then I would highly reccomend 'Chasing the Dead.'

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2008

    Creepy and Nerve Racking!

    Sue Young races through a cold winter night trying to save her young daughter from a mad man. She is given a map and told to drive to several rural towns in Nothern Mass. At each town horrible things happen but Sue is forced to keep going, knowing time is running out. About time an author gives us a great horror novel without page after page of gore. Look forward to more books from this author.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2007

    Spooky

    I loved this book. I purchased it because of the reviews, and I have to admit that it is the best book I have read since the year has started. It took less than a day to read, and I have to say that I had to turn my cell phone off, because I didn't want to get distracted. This book is full of suspense, twists, and turns. I would recommend this book to anyone, and I'm giving it to my sister to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2007

    It was like what the heck!

    This book was actually picked up at the library by mistake and I am so happy that it happened. I finished it within 2 or 3 days. The book starts off great but about a quarter of the way through it, it threw me for a loop. but a good loop. Great read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2007

    awesome

    its a really good book full of suspense i loved it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2007

    Very Strange

    If you like books with weird things that could never really happen then you might like this book. I thought it was very strange. Really not what I expected.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2006

    Thrilling and spooky

    I picked up this book based on a review i read. It ended up being a really great choice. I couldnt put the book down, after reading maybe three pages i just had to know how the book ended and after maybe 20 pages or so i was hooked and really just wanted to figure out what exactly was happening? Anyways a great thrilling read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2006

    Thrilling

    Fast paced book thats non stop chills. If your a fan of Stephen King you will like this. Looking forward to his next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2006

    LOVED IT!!!

    This was such a page turner. This was a kidnapping that ended up with unbelieviable twists. Kidnapping turned scifi is the best way i could describe it. There are some pretty crazy things that happen in this book, where you want to reread some passages just to make sure that what you just read really did happen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a reviewer

    In Boston, thirty-four years old Sue Young is on the phone with her daughter¿s nanny when Marilyn says someone is heading towards her. They agree to meet back at Sue¿s house, but when the single mom arrives home neither Marilyn nor her eighteenth-month old Veda is there. The phone rings the person on the other end insists he abducted her infant daughter as just remittance for a crime she and her estranged husband, Philip Chamberlain committed as children. The kidnapper makes demands of the former ambulance driver that he expects her to perform if she wants Veda back alive.---------------- She travels to Gray Haven to dig up the corpse of the baby she and Philip buried there. Next a teen doe Jeff, who she never met, jumps into her car to tell her to follow his instructions closely, not the voice on the phone otherwise the dead will return to life if she does. Before leaving her he tells her not to continue on her quest. Jeff and others return to life even as Sue drives to White¿s Cove expecting to get Veda back. However, to achieve her goal, Sue has one more trial of fire and that is to figure out how to destroy an evil that is playing her like a master puppeteer.------------------ Joe Schreiber pays homage to Stephen king with this incredible New England horror novel that begins as a nightmarish thriller, but turns into something more horrifying. The protagonist is a loving mother coping with her worst fear until she realizes that what she is dealing with is even more horrendous than a child killer. Her feelings of foreboding grow stronger gripping readers who anticipate the worst at the end of her journey. Deserving of a Stoker nomination, CHASING THE DEAD showcases a new star in the horror realm.------------ Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2006

    interesting

    this book showed a motherlove for her daughtershe does anything to gether back the mother wentthrought hell chasingthe dead

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    It's rare that I don't finish a book but this one is awful. I fo

    It's rare that I don't finish a book but this one is awful. I forced myself to keep going and made it to pg 67 but I'm calling it quits. The description sounded great too bad the book did not meet the expectations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    Chasing the Dead

    very good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Entertaining, but a little too far fetched for my imagination

    While I enjoyed reading this novel, I did find the ultimate plot line a little far fetched for my imagination. I should preface this by stating I often have problems with believing the supernatural. With that said, if you enjoy supernatural thrillers, this one did keep me entertained and wanting to read more. For a Nook Book under $2.99, I wasn't disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    A MUST READ

    Wow what a thrill ride Amazing story
    maxsm0m@yahoo-com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Chilly willy is back!

    A short, fast, and riveting read the likes of which i havent read in a long time. It was gross, intriguing, and dare i say it, predictable? Yet I couldnt put it down! Great for a quick lunch time or beach read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    The one good thing to say is that it was only 144 pages, since i

    The one good thing to say is that it was only 144 pages, since it was based on solely one woman and her frantic, but planned out, rescue attempt of her daughter Veda that circles around something she did back in 1983. I practiced my talent of speed reading with this one. Not because the story gripped me so much (the story has more holes than swiss cheese), but just so I had enough info to read the end,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Good till the end

    I enjoyed it but the ending sucked i got lost somewhere between towns

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2