Customer Reviews for

Chasing the Dime

Average Rating 3.5
( 100 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    Still a good book

    Sorry but character cannot be this book smart but so dumb it just didn't play out for me.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2006

    A Warning for Connelly Fans

    Unlike EVERYTHING else written by Michael Connelly (which is excellent, including his newest, The Lincoln Lawyer) this book is terrible. There are no likeable characters, the action is boring, and the story is not at all compelling. Buy anything else of Connelly's, but not this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Not his best work.

    But it was written early in his career, so I cut him some slack.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2007

    One of the worst I've ever read

    Don't waste your time on this book - there isn't a likeable character in the book. And the actions/decisions taken by the lead character are beyond stupid. I listened to this book and it was a painful experience - spare yourself!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2006

    Don't waste your time

    If I didn't know who the author was before reading this book, I never would have guessed it was Michael Connelly. The plot is quite unrealistic, poorly developed and leaves you wondering why the book was written. I am a devoted fan to all of his other novels.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2006

    The 1st bad Connelley book....

    I nearly always enjoy Connelley's books, esp. the Harry Bosch series. This one is entirely different -- I didn't care about the characters -- in fact, I found the protagonist merely irritating. The motivations for the actions were dubious. All in all, not a good book, barely fair.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2006

    A Surprising Disappointment

    Having read and enjoyed all of Connelly's books, including his new one The Lincoln Lawyer, I was tremendously disappointed by the quality of this book. It is as if he removed everything that made his books compelling from the content of this novel. There isn't one likeable character, there is a complete dearth of suspense, and you spend most of the book just wanting it to be over. I write this review not to scold Mr. Connelly, but to warn his fans: Stay Away From This Book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2005

    DON'T DO IT!

    This book must have been a contractual obligation. Or at least I hope it was. I usually like his books, but this flat out blows...big time. I wasted time reading it, so I don't want to waste much time writing about it. In a nutshell, the characters all lack basic brain functions, you'll never care what happens to any of them...in fact, the main character is such a moron that you wish someone would just shoot him so the story would end...uh, the story...if you can call it that. It's more like a bad idea followed by a stupid thought held together by a wild hallucination. $4.98 was TOO MUCH money for this book! Stick to the Bosch novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2004

    Idiotic

    I have been a Connelly fan, but this book is just plain idiotic. It makes me wonder if the other reviewers read the book. It is the most implausible story line I've ever read. Just as Red Rabbit cured me of Clancy so this soured me on Connelly. At least the reviewers of Red Rabbit were on the mark.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2004

    This book was awful

    What a huge disappointment. You are spoiled by thinking that everything that Connelly writes will be great. This book will sure disabuse you of this thought. It is in a word awful. The plot is thin and not believable. The characters are so poorly portrayed that you don't know who to root for. The last two chapters are the book the rest is a complete waste of time. This one left me screaming for a refund.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2013

    To date, this is my favorite Connelly book! Will read again and

    To date, this is my favorite Connelly book! Will read again and recommend to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2013

    I had a hard time staying with this book because it has so many

    I had a hard time staying with this book because it has so many stupid scenarios that the character who has such high intelligence could get himself into the situation involving someone who he has never met

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Solid and diverting

    Not Connelly's best, but he's set the bar pretty high. In fairness, while this one starts a little slow and I had a hard time really getting behind his protagonist (a problem I never had with Harry Bosch), I still had no idea where this one was going with forty pages left. That's a pretty good recommendation, right there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Good audio book

    A good read....I enjoyed the audio as always. Henry Pierce has a whole new life — new apartment, new telephone, new telephone number. But the first time he checks his messages, he discovers that someone had the number before him. The messages on his line are for a woman named Lilly, and she is in some kind of serious trouble. Pierce is inexorably drawn into Lilly’s world, and it’s unlike any world he’s ever known. It is a nighttime world of escort services, websites, sex, and secret identities. Pierce tumbles through a hole, abandoning his orderly life in a frantic race to save the life of a woman he has never met.

    Pierce’s skills as a computer entrepreneur allow him to trace Lilly’s last days with some precision. But every step into Lilly’s past takes Pierce deeper into a web of inescapable intricacy — and a decision that could cost him everything he owns and holds dear.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Good but not a favorite....

    I had a bit of difficulty becoming engaged in the story and this is usually not a problem for me with Michael Connelly. I am a die hard though, so I finished the book. I never did get a real sense of the protagonist which may be my problem with the book. I like to know the characters well, and am interested in even the mundane details of their lives. This story didn't make time for that. I am glad I finished though as the surprise ending made it worth the ride. Don't get me wrong, Connelly fans must agree, this guy has never written a bad book. If this one is gonna be your first from this author, may I suggest starting with the first book of his Harry Bosch series. Sadly, I have read them all.......but you are in for a TREAT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not up to his usual work

    Totally annoying lead character, very hard to believe anyone who has the intelligence that Pierce must have would follow the path to obvious self destruction he takes. I will admit that the story got more compelling in the second half, but, I almost didn't get that far.
    Very disappointing for a Michael Connelly novel.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Surprise Ending!

    This was my first Michael Connelly book. It started with Henry Pierce moving into a new apartment after the breakup with his girlfriend, Nicole. He gets a series of phone calls for Lilly, a woman he has never met and becomes more and more annoyed with the angry callers that want to speak to Lilly. He plans on changing his phone number but cannot get Lilly out of his mind. He becomes involved in trying to find Lilly, suspecting foul play. His life will never be the same. Little does he know where this obsession leads him. No one can be trusted, and his life is in constant danger. He steps into a world of escorts, websites, sex and secret passions. His success and expertise mean nothing, and he soon becomes the chief suspect in a murder case. Henry has been chasing the dime and doing all it takes so his company comes out first with a scientific breakthrough worth millions. Unfortunately for Henry, there are people that do not want this breakthrough to happen. This is a hard to put down book with a lot of suspense. I was on the edge of my seat throughout. Just when I thought I had figured out who was causing all the problems for Henry, the story had a new twist. Wow! I certainly was surprised with the way the story ended. I liked it so much, I decided to read more of Michael Connelly's books starting with his first book, Black Echo. My only disappointment was some of the language used, which really wasn't necessary for the plot.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2008

    A reviewer

    I read all Michael Connelly books and enjoyed this book very much. I liked the characters and I thought the plotting was good. Featuring a protagonis that's a scientist was a nice change of pace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2006

    GREAT BOOK

    THIS WAS A GREAT BOOK I HATED FOR IT TO END--TWIST AND TURNS ON EVERY PAGE LOVED THIS BOOK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6