BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Chasing the Dime

Average Rating 3.5
( 100 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 30, 2013

    To date, this is my favorite Connelly book! Will read again and

    To date, this is my favorite Connelly book! Will read again and recommend to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2006

    GREAT BOOK

    THIS WAS A GREAT BOOK I HATED FOR IT TO END--TWIST AND TURNS ON EVERY PAGE LOVED THIS BOOK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2006

    Pretty cool

    I loved this book..right from the first page. The connection between the calls for Lilly and the goals of his company doesn't become apparent until the end. I couldn't put this one down. Connelly is a great author, and this proved he didn't need Harry Bosch to put together a wonderful story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2005

    Connelly is a must-read but don't get too excited

    This was the first book I read from Michael Connelly. That made me purchase about 5 more. That is how much I liked this book. Very well treated, very good ambience, very smart way to keep you turning page after page. Not sure why the guys who rated it with 1 star did so. However, I then started reading three more, and saw the only film that has been made from a Connelly's book (Blood Work). The film was just OK but not great thing (yet I've seen very good comments about the book). Either it didn't do justice to the book or the book is not good enough too (haven't read it yet). From the three books I started reading, I am almost done with 'City of Bones'. Have to confess it didn't catch my attention as 'Chasing the Dime' did (which I didn't stop reading until finishing), and got me sort of dissappointeda about 75% of reading it but close to the end it raised my interest again (I am about 2 chapters to close it). The other two, I am sort of in the first part, and although quite interesting, have not catched my interest either as 'Chasing the Dime'. For me, out of the 5 stories I know from Connelly, 'Chasing the Dime' has been the most interesting one. Curiously enough, that's the only one where neither Harry Bosh nor Terry McCaleb had any thing to do. Is that why I liked it? Maybe. To put an example: Many John Grisham's stories have been made into a film. Although I like his stories (and films are much better than his books), I think Michael Connelly is better writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2005

    Another great suspense filled novel

    I am a fan of the Harry Bosch series so I wasn't sure I'd like this as well. What I like about Michael Connelly is there is a line, a thread that binds all his books and characters. A past case and Bosch are alluded to in this book. I listened to the abridged version, which always makes me wonder what I am missing. I found myself cringing at some of the decisions Henry makes but that makes for the suspense. I would recommend this book/audio book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2004

    Best Book I've Read in the Last Year

    This was even better than his Harry Bosch series. Intelligent, superbly constructed, rich and intriguing characters and an engrossing and quick-paced story. I was upset when it was over!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2003

    His Most Interesting Book To Date

    The characters in the book were interesting and the story held me fast to the book until I finished it. The book was full of surprises that I enjoyed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2003

    Fabulous Read

    I am a fan of this writer, however this one tops them all. You won't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2003

    Constantly on the edge of my chair...

    As in the previous book read, Chasing The Dime is an all star hit... In March I read my first Michael Connelly book 'City of Bones' and was totally hooked on his writings... As of to date, I have read 4 of his books and have one more on my shelf... When that one is finsihed, I'm going back for more..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2003

    WOW!!!!

    This would make an excellant movie,a page turner.I loved the way he got so involved in this and the compassion for the reasonto do what he did a MUST read for all mystery fans

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2003

    Normal college kid (when im not at the bar)

    I thought this book was very amazing. The research alone that went into this book was outstanding. I could not put the book down, but it was a little predictable in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2002

    Excellent

    This is the first book I've read by Connelly and it was FANTASTIC! I will definetly be looking for more of his work. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2002

    A post dot com high tech plot

    With the demise of the dot com era, how can a novelist invoke high technology as the backdrop? Well, nano tech is still promising; which one could interpret as it never hitting the levels of hype that the dot coms reached. This book gives a nice peep into the vagaries of fund raising for a nano tech startup. (Indeed, of any startup.) The frantic search for an angel investor; the gimlet eye on the burn rate; the negotiating over (percentage) points of equity that the angel can get for his money; anxiety over bad publicity queering a deal... Connolly keeps the pace flowing. The protagonist is the chief scientist and founder, who find himself implacably manipulated by an unknown puppet master who seems to anticipate his reactions at every turn. Beatings, shootings, computer breakins, naked chicks. An old fashioned whodunnit, updated for early 21st century Los Angeles. I suggest this to you. Read this book. But while doing so, squint a little. Strip out the high tech references. Then see the beautiful murdered woman, the sleazy, live hooker, the vicious thugs, the confused, clever hero. Can you find echoes of Raymond Chandler and the whole LA Noir scene?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2002

    A HIGH OCTANE READING

    Leave it to the inventive mind of best-selling author Michael Connelly to come up with a compelling can't-put-down high tech read woven around computing and on-line sex. Then, leave it to film and television actor Alfred Molina togive this title a suspenseful reading. Following an acrimonious breakup with his girlfriend Henry Pierce has a new start, a new apartment, and a new telephone message waiting - but, it's not for him. The caller is looking for a prostitute by the name of Lilly, whose telephone number is listed on a sex for hire web site. Henry is a technological whiz, a go-getter whose company is about to make a major breakthrough and he's working or "chasing the dime" to raise the needed funds. He surmises that Lilly probably had his telephone number in the past, and he also guesses that she is now in deep trouble. Because of a past personal loss Henry feels compelled to search for and try to help the mysterious Lilly. However, some doors should never be opened because he soon finds himself in a vicious world that he could not have imagined in his worst nightmare. Listeners will never suspect the stunning climax of this high octane tale, but they certainly will enjoy guessing all the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2002

    Connelly Delivers again!

    Connelly is truly a master of mystery. This book kept me on the edge of my seat. I was so into it, I read it in 2 days. The development of each character is superb as is the final outcome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2002

    An electrifying MUST READ thriller!

    Henry Pierce is starting his life over. After his girlfriend leaves him, Henry moves into a new apartment and with his new apartment comes a new phone number¿a number that belonged to someone else. Shortly after his new number is activated Henry begins receiving calls for Lilly, obscene calls from men wanting sex. Anxious to put a stop to the calls, but curious to find out find out more about Lilly, Henry begins searching for information only to discover the young woman mysteriously disappeared and nobody seems to care. Henry sets out on a quest to find out the truth about Lilly and the world she lived in, only to discover a world he¿s never known. A world of sex, escorts, websites, secret identities, and murder. The deeper Henry becomes involved in this world, the farther he is from escaping it and a wrong decision could cost him his life. `Chasing The Dime¿ is one of THE BEST thrillers I have read this year. The plot of a simple wrong number, turns into a terrifying ride of relentless suspense. From page one the reader is held captive in a race against the clock thriller that stuns with every turn of the page. It¿s fast-pace, gripping plot and creepy underworld setting will keep even the most jaded thriller readers on the edge of their seat. Michael Connolly is the leading writer of crime fiction, as far as I¿m concerned, and his on-going `Harry Bosch¿ series is about as good as they get. But, when an author strays from writing their successful series, we as reviewers (and fans) become leery if the novel will be any good, well that is not the case with Mr. Connolly¿three of his best novels are NOT part of the Bosch series, `The Poet¿, `Blood Work¿, and now his newest novel `Chasing The Dime¿. Any reader not tempted to stay up all night to finish this novel is much stronger than I am, because I stayed up well into the night to finish it. `Chasing The Dime¿ will rocket up the best-seller list¿s, and prove Michael Connolly a master of the thriller/crime genre. A MUST read! Nick Gonnella

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2