Customer Reviews for

Chasing the Dime

Average Rating 3.5
( 100 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2006

    Pretty cool

    I loved this book..right from the first page. The connection between the calls for Lilly and the goals of his company doesn't become apparent until the end. I couldn't put this one down. Connelly is a great author, and this proved he didn't need Harry Bosch to put together a wonderful story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2005

    Connelly is a must-read but don't get too excited

    This was the first book I read from Michael Connelly. That made me purchase about 5 more. That is how much I liked this book. Very well treated, very good ambience, very smart way to keep you turning page after page. Not sure why the guys who rated it with 1 star did so. However, I then started reading three more, and saw the only film that has been made from a Connelly's book (Blood Work). The film was just OK but not great thing (yet I've seen very good comments about the book). Either it didn't do justice to the book or the book is not good enough too (haven't read it yet). From the three books I started reading, I am almost done with 'City of Bones'. Have to confess it didn't catch my attention as 'Chasing the Dime' did (which I didn't stop reading until finishing), and got me sort of dissappointeda about 75% of reading it but close to the end it raised my interest again (I am about 2 chapters to close it). The other two, I am sort of in the first part, and although quite interesting, have not catched my interest either as 'Chasing the Dime'. For me, out of the 5 stories I know from Connelly, 'Chasing the Dime' has been the most interesting one. Curiously enough, that's the only one where neither Harry Bosh nor Terry McCaleb had any thing to do. Is that why I liked it? Maybe. To put an example: Many John Grisham's stories have been made into a film. Although I like his stories (and films are much better than his books), I think Michael Connelly is better writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2005

    Another great suspense filled novel

    I am a fan of the Harry Bosch series so I wasn't sure I'd like this as well. What I like about Michael Connelly is there is a line, a thread that binds all his books and characters. A past case and Bosch are alluded to in this book. I listened to the abridged version, which always makes me wonder what I am missing. I found myself cringing at some of the decisions Henry makes but that makes for the suspense. I would recommend this book/audio book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2004

    Best Book I've Read in the Last Year

    This was even better than his Harry Bosch series. Intelligent, superbly constructed, rich and intriguing characters and an engrossing and quick-paced story. I was upset when it was over!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2003

    His Most Interesting Book To Date

    The characters in the book were interesting and the story held me fast to the book until I finished it. The book was full of surprises that I enjoyed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2003

    Fabulous Read

    I am a fan of this writer, however this one tops them all. You won't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2003

    seriously suspensful!!!

    Great book with an amazing ending and some of the most intense suspense I've ever seen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2003

    So slow to start

    I hate to admit this because I love this writer, but this book sure took its time getting me hooked. I guess I was looking for Harry when what I was getting was Henry. When it's all said and done, I truly love Michael Connelly's books and I'll even take Henry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2003

    An Execrable Piece of Work!

    It seems to me that Connelly just wrote up something on paper when it comes to CHASING THE DIME. After enjoying his works like BLOOD WORK and THE POET, I could not believe that he would just throw in a bunch of trashy violence and nudity. To make matters worse, Connelly just throws in Lilly's killer out 'from left field.' Let me tell all of you Connelly fans that CHASING THE DIME is not good fictional crime entertainment at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2003

    Constantly on the edge of my chair...

    As in the previous book read, Chasing The Dime is an all star hit... In March I read my first Michael Connelly book 'City of Bones' and was totally hooked on his writings... As of to date, I have read 4 of his books and have one more on my shelf... When that one is finsihed, I'm going back for more..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2003

    Just OK

    I read through the book, and I was very uninterested until the last few chapters. If someone had given me a summary of the rest of the book, and I could have started in the end I would have loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2003

    A Page Turner

    Exciting, fast-paced adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2003

    WOW!!!!

    This would make an excellant movie,a page turner.I loved the way he got so involved in this and the compassion for the reasonto do what he did a MUST read for all mystery fans

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2003

    Normal college kid (when im not at the bar)

    I thought this book was very amazing. The research alone that went into this book was outstanding. I could not put the book down, but it was a little predictable in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2003

    Fantastic

    Wonderful thriller. You never know what to expect around the next corner. If you like suspense & insight to a life most people don't know too well- READ this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2002

    Was this book for real?

    This book was overrated to the 10th power. It was simple and predictable. I gave it three stars for the research to write the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2002

    Excellent

    This is the first book I've read by Connelly and it was FANTASTIC! I will definetly be looking for more of his work. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2003

    Overated

    I also thought that this book was overated and had a predictable plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2002

    A post dot com high tech plot

    With the demise of the dot com era, how can a novelist invoke high technology as the backdrop? Well, nano tech is still promising; which one could interpret as it never hitting the levels of hype that the dot coms reached. This book gives a nice peep into the vagaries of fund raising for a nano tech startup. (Indeed, of any startup.) The frantic search for an angel investor; the gimlet eye on the burn rate; the negotiating over (percentage) points of equity that the angel can get for his money; anxiety over bad publicity queering a deal... Connolly keeps the pace flowing. The protagonist is the chief scientist and founder, who find himself implacably manipulated by an unknown puppet master who seems to anticipate his reactions at every turn. Beatings, shootings, computer breakins, naked chicks. An old fashioned whodunnit, updated for early 21st century Los Angeles. I suggest this to you. Read this book. But while doing so, squint a little. Strip out the high tech references. Then see the beautiful murdered woman, the sleazy, live hooker, the vicious thugs, the confused, clever hero. Can you find echoes of Raymond Chandler and the whole LA Noir scene?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    contemporary updating of the classic North by Northwest

    Henry Pierce obtains a new phone number that the scientist quickly sends out to his business contacts and scientific peers. However, he soon receives calls from individuals asking for Lilly and her escort service. He concludes that Lilly is a high priced call girl peddling her wares through her number placed in cyberspace except those phone digits now belong to Henry. From his molecular research work, Henry is used to doing things so he seeks out Lilly to get her to remove the number from her homepage. However, Lilly apparently has vanished, which reminds Henry of his sister who turned hooker before being murdered. Unable to resist, Henry begins a search for Lilly that leads to the police and some nasty individuals chasing after him. As he applies deductive and inductive reasoning to his situation, Henry realizes his paranoia proves valid not to trust anyone. Hitchcock fans will enjoy this contemporary updating of the classic North by Northwest due to the action and clever twists and turns. Henry makes a wonderful Roger Thornhill as he struggles with the truth that never seems to be out there. Readers will briefly wonder why a brilliantly logical person like Henry failed to just obtain a new number even if he knows it¿s a pain to inform his associates of the change and feels guilty over his sister¿s death. Still, fans will gloss over that as the delightful thriller stars an intelligent nerd landing in one predicament after another using sound reasoning to stay alive for the moment. Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6