Customer Reviews for

The Chasm: A Journey to the Edge of Life

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Unlike the other Randy Alcorn books that I have enjoyed (especia

Unlike the other Randy Alcorn books that I have enjoyed (especially the Deadline, Dominion, Deception trilogy and his other allegories), I had a difficult time understanding the book at first. It seemed very fragmented and purposeless. Even though I could tell it was w...
Unlike the other Randy Alcorn books that I have enjoyed (especially the Deadline, Dominion, Deception trilogy and his other allegories), I had a difficult time understanding the book at first. It seemed very fragmented and purposeless. Even though I could tell it was written in the vein of "Pilgrim's Progress," the jumping from scene to scene was very disconcerting and confusing.

I put the book aside and picked it up again a few months later, I was finally able to connect with the character and the format, and I wasn't able to put it down until I finished it! The story had gripped my heart, and the compassion I felt for Nick as he progressed through the journey was reflective of many incidents in my life that paralleled his.

So this is just an encouragement to those of you who purchase the book, persevere and you will be rewarded!

I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review

posted by a1trainer on May 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Buyer Beware

This is a very abbreviated condensed version of Alcorn's earlier book, The Edge of Eternity and not a sequel! Unless you have ADHD or simply don't have the time to invest in reading the original text save your money!!

posted by 7754739 on March 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    Unlike the other Randy Alcorn books that I have enjoyed (especia

    Unlike the other Randy Alcorn books that I have enjoyed (especially the Deadline, Dominion, Deception trilogy and his other allegories), I had a difficult time understanding the book at first. It seemed very fragmented and purposeless. Even though I could tell it was written in the vein of "Pilgrim's Progress," the jumping from scene to scene was very disconcerting and confusing.

    I put the book aside and picked it up again a few months later, I was finally able to connect with the character and the format, and I wasn't able to put it down until I finished it! The story had gripped my heart, and the compassion I felt for Nick as he progressed through the journey was reflective of many incidents in my life that paralleled his.

    So this is just an encouragement to those of you who purchase the book, persevere and you will be rewarded!

    I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    Buyer Beware

    This is a very abbreviated condensed version of Alcorn's earlier book, The Edge of Eternity and not a sequel! Unless you have ADHD or simply don't have the time to invest in reading the original text save your money!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Difficult read

    I tried reading The Chasm by Randy Alcorn, & it is a difficult read. If your into romance, Amish, or war history type novels, this is not your type of read. The author is well wrote, but unless you have time to understand were the Randy is coming from, its not exactly a great book for novel readers....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    A Well Written Allegory

    Overview:

    The Chasm by Randy Alcorn tells the story of Nick Seagrave. Nick is a traveler on the paths of life-only his life story is told through allegory. You experience epic battles, struggles, and vivid pictures of what our average life looks like in a less than average land. Along his journey Nick reflects on the good and bad times he has had in his life. He also meets many different travelers, some of them good for him and others not so much. Nick encounters a picture of Christ in the woodsman and a picture of the devil in the tempter Joshua. Will he ever get across the Chasm?

    Review:
    From the first pages you are drawn into Nick's story. It's important to know that The Chasm is a partner story to Alcorn's Edge of Eternity. So if the book leaves you wanting to know more about Nick Seagrave you can find the information you seek there. The Chasm deals specifically in Nick's journey to cross the chasm that separates travelers from the city of Charis. The story is extremely well written. It's hard to put down and pretty fast paced. The book is only 110 pages long but it is truly action packed. The Chasm is written in an allegorical style so there are obvious allusions and comparisons between characters in the book and important Christian figures like the devil and Jesus. The allegory is easy to follow which is a blessing. I recommend this book to readers ninth grade and above. It will be a journey that's hard to forget.

    This book was provided to me by Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing at no cost for review purposes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    An allegory about life

    In "The Chasm", Randy Alcorn has given us a glimpse into the life travels of Nick Seagrave. In a style similar to "Pilgrim's Progress", the reader is shown the many choices that Nick has to face in his life. Nick faces many colorful characters that some will quickly equate to Bible characters and common temptations. This is one of those books that could be read quickly before going back on the shelf, or read slowly multiple times and studied. - I suggest the slow reading. There is a reader's guide at the end with several thought-provoking questions. ***I received this book for free from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. **

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    Beautifully written!!

    The Chasm is a beautifully written and genuine illustration of our journey with Christ. Alcorn presents and honest dipiction of how most of us attempt to become the master of our own lives, and can allow ourselves to become blinded to the realities in the world around us and the choices we make in our own lives. Alcorns imagery is brilliant and his approach allows the reader to relate to and follow the main charachter through his stuggles with salvation. I definitely reccommend this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    Wonderful Easter read -- a must read for every Christian!

    The small book has been sitting on my desk for a while, but I have failed to pick it up. In the midst of a rather hectic week -- filled with Holy Week activities and work responsibilities -- I finally decided to pick up Randy Alcorn's The Chasm to have a time of leisure reading in the evenings. It would have been impossible to find a better work to read while celebrating our Saviour's passion. I have been tremendously blessed by the book and will definitely return to it again in the near future!

    The Chasm is reminiscent of Pilgrim's Progress in my mind. As the reader follows traveler along the Red Road, we become aware of the impact sins -- both public and private -- have had upon his life as well as others in his world. Spiritual warfare and deception are shown with such powerful language that the reader quickly begins to think of the presence of such activity over his head at that very moment.

    As the work progresses, our sinfulness is clearly blamed for the divide between man and God. In one of the most beautifully conceived allegories I have ever read, Alcorn examines our role in the suffering of the crucified Christ and the incredible love and provision demonstrated by Jesus' willing sacrifice at the cross. Although I quickly became aware of the direction the story would move, I found myself engrossed in the details and crying because of the undeserved suffering of my Saviour for me.

    I finished the book last night and have already passed it on to a friend. My hope is to see a class developed in my local congregation using The Chasm as a jumping off point. Of all the books I have read so far this year, this work has made the greatest impact upon me. I pray that the story will not soon be forgotten as I continue my personal journey along the Red Road.

    *I received this book for free from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    The Chasm

    This brief novel by Randy Alcorn is an allegory of life, the Christian walk, and Christ's sacrifice for us.

    It is quite a bit like Bunyan's 'Pilgrim's Progress' in both the feel and message. It is very well done, although it is a bit shorter than I would have liked. It can also be read as a companion to Randy Alcorn's own Edge of Eternity. It has been quite awhile since I've read that one, but I think this one would go well with it.

    In one section describing the unawareness that so many are in regarding spiritual warfare, he writes this incredibly astute line: 'I looked around again at the little people so pathetically oblivious to the battle. They seemed to fancy themselves neutral and at peace, hoping to maintain dual citizenship in two warring kingdoms.'

    There is some very graphic imagery about the way that Satan uses people as pawns including smoking them 'as if they were cigarettes'.

    There are several other very good parts and a couple of amazing ones. This is very thought provoking as well as entertaining. I plan to buy a couple of other copies to share with some friends. I recommend it.

    For anyone who has not read Mr. Alcorn's novel, Deadline, it is one that should not be missed.


    I received this book from Multonomah's Blogging for books for review purposes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    One of the finest allegories written!

    The Chasm is an adapted version of Randy Alcorn's full novel Edge of Eternity. Now that I have read this short work, I am definitely going to read the full novel.

    Using an allegorical style of writing, Mr Alcorn took me on an exciting spiritual journey through life. He tells a story of love, sacrifice and redemption. Getting down to the hard stuff in life that at some point affects all of us he shows that in the end no matter what we try to do as humans we still need Christ. On our own we cannot cross The Chasm!

    I highly recommend this book.

    I received this book from Waterbrook Multnomah for free in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Chasm

    Wowza, is there a lot of symbolism in this book! The protagonist Nick is in some sort of land that relates to Earth. There is a big chasm separating him from Charis. Charis is this great city of light and laughter that seems to represent Heaven. Throughout his journeys, Nick meets several different people. The reader has a fun time discerning who is really a friend and who is really a foe. Spiritual warfare is heavy in this book, and the illustrations are not for the faint of heart. When it comes to Jesus and the Crucifixion, there is also a plot event that correlates to it. It is not exactly the same in the sense that the story is in AD30 Middle East. However, Alcorn paints a vivid picture that makes the Passion easy to understand, especially for those that are not exactly Bible scholars. Also, at the end of the book, there are discussion questions and even a short list of Bible verses to guide the reader. I knew Alcorn was an apologetic theologian, but I had no idea how well he could write Christian fiction that impacts readers. Plus, at just over 100 pages, this book is short and easy to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Alluring Read

    I've always been a lover of allegorical novels. How skillfully people can weave subliminal truths into their stories is always a fascination to me. In fact, allegories are seemingly the only kinds of stories I can write. Therefore, you can imagine my anticipation of reading The Chasm by Randy Alcorn.

    The Chasm is actually supposed to be part of a larger story called Edge of Eternity. I plan on getting a copy soon so I can get a wider scope of events and the storyline. However, I wasn't all that into this story because I'm not exactly a fan of business men or anything to do with the financial field/industry. I'm sure it is better for many other readers, but not me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    Recommended

    A must read book about Redemption and God's love. This is a good book for rainy days or book clubs because even though it is short is has a strong thought provoking message and can easily be discussed. I found this book to be similar to The Pilgrim's Progress in some ways which emphasize what the author was going for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    Excellent book

    When I received this book I was taken back a little by its size. It's only 120 pages and the pages are small but from the first page I was hooked and could not put the book down. The book had a very good story line and the character kept me interested and there were times in the book that I felt that I could be that character. I also enjoyed the illustrations that were in the book, there were 12 in all. It gave me excellent visuals to keep my interest in the book as I was reading it late at night. This book was very symbolic of Satan, Christ, and Heaven. At the end of the book there is a reader's guide that offered questions for me to ponder after reading each chapter. I loved this feature because as I found myself relating to the character, I was challenging myself with the questions. This book is on my read again section of my library! "I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    Allegory or Parody?

    This is an allegorical story of "man's redemption" by Christ. However, at times it read more like a parody. I am not certain of the reading level, but it read as if it were geared towards teens and young adults. The Chasm is adapted from Randy Alcorn's earlier story Edge of Eternity.

    In these stories, we are following the character, Nick Seagrave. He is on a spiritual quest. It is unclear in the Chasm whether this journey is a mental struggle or if he's walking that thin string, balanced between life and death. Regardless, no explanation is given regarding how Nick (our main character) got to this unnamed, God forsaken land.

    Throughout the story, Nick is trying to get somewhere - sometimes he wants to go back to the life he had and understood, but most of the time he is struggling to get to the city on the hill, Charis, the City of Light.

    As Nick travels, he meets up with various characters. Most have names, while a few, following allegory tradition have titles. There is the struggle between good and bad (warriors who are described as dark or light), there is a Shining warrior and a Woodsman. He takes up with one of the Characters, named Joshua. Nick learns you cannot always judge a man's heart based on how he looks. Joshua has some secrets that he's not telling Nick. The story is packed full of descriptions, however, sometimes the descriptions feel forced. Details seem to be "tacked on" and cause the reader to slow down his/her reading. The result is a jerky eye movement, decreasing the overall reading speed.

    At times during the story, Nick's vision would zoom in on some object or person-he could suddenly see what others around him could not see. Then at other times, the sizes of the characters changed suddenly. I found this confusing, I wasn't sure at any given time the meaning of the changing of his perspective. The story peaks when Nick, with the help of an old man, reaches the chasm. Here he realizes that there is no way he can cross over to the place he longs to run to, Charis. It is here that there plays out a "crucifixion" scene.

    Overall the book was interesting and fun to read. The book become easier for me to read the closer to the ending I got. The final chapters were well written. I'm not sure if this was because I became use to his method of writing or if his writing just smoothed out. However, if the reader wasn't familiar with the gospel story, I'm not sure how well the he or she could follow along. The book presented the crucifixion in a novel way, which may cause the reader to stop and question their life style. With that said, I finished the book and had more questions than answers. How does this experience change the man with the secrets or does it? The question I have is regarding the characters who are lost; How does it work out for them. How are they saved or as the story goes, are they ever able to cross the chasm?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderfully Condensed and Focused Version

    The Chasm is adapted from Randy Alcorn's book Edge of Eternity.

    Nick Seagrave has been brought from our world into another, where spiritual battles can be seen, where a red road holds the secret to eternal life, and a chasm awaits those who try to find Charis, the City of Light.

    I read Edge of Eternity several yeas ago and loved it. The Chasm is quite short, about 110 pages, and it took me a couple of hours to read. It nicely condenses Nick Seagraves' allegorical journey to Charis into something maybe a Bible study group would enjoy reading together and discussing. Enough is told of the backstory that readers new to the story won't feel lost, and those who have enjoyed Edge of Eternity will appreciate the book's focus on the chasm and the way the Woodsman finally makes it crossable. The only thing I missed from Edge of Eternity was how Alcorn fleshed out the other characters besides Nick, but given the focus of this story, it didn't bother me whatsoever.

    Altogether, The Chasm makes a short, enjoyable read that will introduce readers nicely to Edge of Eternity.

    *I received this book for free via Waterbrook Mutlnomah Publishing Group's Blogging For Books program*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    A Delight to Read!

    The Chasm by Randy Alcorn was not what I had expected, it was better! It's a short story about 120 pages but it's a pager turner! I would highly recommend this book for a short read. It takes you to another place where you wouldn't go but in a book. It even had illustrations, as an adult, you don't usually have great illustrations that go along with the story. That made it fun for me and really helped picture this strange world. It was a delight to read.

    *I was under no obligation to provide a positive review ~I was given a complimentary copy from WaterBrook Multnomah publishing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is a must read to be passed on!!!

    Not only did the book contain beautiful illustrations brought the message to life, but the message was made clear in this book. The main character Nick represents everyone of us ¬¬¬¬who walks the earth. Before me meet Christ we are unaware of the great chasm between us and our Lord. It is a chasm that we created. His death to save us was painted in such a way that we can't help but understand what we must do to bridge the gap. This book is one we don't want to hold on to but one we need to pass on to help others who may be like Nick and unclear about how to bridge the gap and knows something is missing but just not sure how to fill that void. This was an excellent book and one that must be passed on by word of mouth to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    Great Parallels to the Gospel

    As I started to read "The Chasm," I was skeptical about my choice of books. This was confusing and seemed similar to a mystery. I didn't understand that this book tied in to a larger novel, "Edge of Eternity." Now I haven't read the latter book, so I can't say whether it's good or bad or indifferent.

    However, I ended up really enjoying "The Chasm." There are beautiful parallels to the Gospel: the Woodsman and Jesus, the tree and the cross, Charis and Heaven. This is a tale of demons and angels, good and bad, and all the gray matter between.

    My favorite part of the book is the overhead look at the roads. Our lives are really paths that take us to one place or another - and in the end, the final one place or the other. The road you choose to travel may be scenic and beautiful...or even confusing and sorrowful...but where will it end? Charis, the city of lights, full of beautiful music and happy endings...or another city, full of darkness and eternal sorrow? I know which I would (and have) chose(n).

    Some may read "The Chasm" and completely miss the ties to Christianity (just as some watch or read "The Chronicles of Narnia" and miss the ties), but I don't see how. Randy Alcorn paints a lovely story of a man trying to find his way back home, to the place we all are meant to be.


    Disclaimer: I received this book for free from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing in order to facilitate an honest review. My opinions are honest and my own. Others may or may not have the same experience(s) with this publishing company and/or the book and/or author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Chasm

    This book is about Nick Seagrave and his quest to find truth. Nick is faced with his past, the choices he made and the choices he can make now. There are several original illustrations by Mike Biegel that add much to the story. Although I would be able to picture the story without them. There are light and dark warriors fighting for and against Nick. His destiny is either the chasm or Charis the 'City of Light.' There is sin and temptation pulling him one way, faith and eternal life pulling him another way. The story reminded me of John Bunyan's "Pilgrim's Progress", where Christian must find the correct path to take on his journey. Randy Alcorn does a great job bringing out the plan of salvation in this 128 page allegory. There is a reader's guide in the back of the book which makes this appropriate for book study. I believe this book would be good reading for the secular or Christian reader or seekers of the truth. I received this book complimentary of Waterbrook Multnomah for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Chasm

    Having had readone of the best apologetics books on God and the purpose of evil and suffering- If God is Good, by Randy Alcorn, I was curious to read the allegorical fiction piece, The Chasm, also by the same author. In the former book, it is clear that Alcorn has deep insight into biblical truths, and effectively delivers his biblical based message. Considering that he has proved himself as an effective apologist, I anticipated that any fictional piece of writing would be based on biblical principals, as well.

    The Chasm is obviously an allegory for the story of salvation: sin, temptation, faith, free will and eternal salvation. Basically is everything is covered here in symbolic or allegorical form. The characters, places, objects and even the emotions have a symbolic counterpart to actual bible based principals and truths. The city of Charis is spiritually significant as well as Joshua, and every other element of the story. Perhaps for those readers who like liked the spiritual symbolism of the Narnia series, this story will be enjoyable as well. The hero of the story, goes on a quest to sek out truth and deliverance and is faced with the demons of his past, but also a series of choices as well- one of which is the delusion and allure of false religions-whereas just as in this world, many percieve various religions and believes as just one of many ways to attaining truth. Modern and real life misconceptions are brought to life in a palatable, allegorical form , that may perhaps speak out to the secular and non religious reader as well as Christians. Issues of justice, and injustice, human imperfection and sin are addressed. In fact, briefly, some of Alcorns philosophies and truths about injustice and suffering as well as its purpose are woven into this story. Even for those readers who do not neccessarily enjoy the symbolism of this story or the allegorical nature if this piece of work, will appreciate the biblical insights of wisdom. Although it is obvious to any bible reader this allegory is based on Christian truths, this book may be an effective outreach method for those non Christian readers who are not religious- yet conscientious of spiritualism and philosophy and self introspection.
    Within the text are simple child-like black and white illustrations- remeniscent of cartoon or comic book art. The end of this story includes some study questions which may shed light onto the specifics of the symbolism for those readers unfamiliar with the bible. As a blogger for Multnomah books I recieved a copy of this book for the purpose of writing this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2