Customer Reviews for

Chateau of Echoes

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Well-written story with engaging characters. The medieval sub-p

    Well-written story with engaging characters. The medieval sub-plot is a nice touch. The romantic tension between the protagonists is perfect for a Christian novel—mildly sensual while remaining chaste. Christian principles are emphasized without preaching. I enjoyed everything about this book except the constant descriptions of every single item that every character wore. By the middle of the book, it began to detract from the story. But I will definitely read this author again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Love Siri Mitchell's books

    Another great book! Cubicle Next Door is still my favorite but this one was close.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Wow

    Good read, i liked how it had your emotions going to and fro! Didnt want to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Rich with detail

    I had read and enjoyed The Cubicle Next Door so I wanted to go back and read the rest of Siri's books. I picked up this one because I love books about France. Something about that country is just so magical to me. The descriptions in this book about the country really make me want to go visit it one day. I liked how this story focused on the quiet countryside as opposed to big city Paris. This book was especially intriguing with the double storyline blending historical fiction with modern storyline. It was reminiscent of Angela Hunt's Heirs of Cahira O'Connor series. I really liked learning about the history of the chateau with Alix's story. Her tale seems so tragic because she was at such a young age when everything happened to her. Frederique's story is interesting and tragic as well. She seems to be such a soft spoken character that likes having everything in place and with a routine. Then this guy comes into her life and makes her want to change. I didn't like Severine from the beginning. Her character felt like she was a good person although the story did keep me wondering what she was up to throughout the whole book. The story does start off a bit slow but once the reader gets deeper into the story, it just flows naturally. This book has it all from mystery to history to romance, a perfect blend of European culture for the reader who likes to travel from their armchair.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2007

    History and Mystery

    I knew from first glance that I was going to love this book. I read a lot of Christian fiction and Siri Mitchell's work is quite unique. It consistently brings in a point of view or way of thinking that is new and different. This book is very well-written and explores the past in conjunction with the present. There's some suspense and mystery nestled in as well. It will make you want to explore all of France.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2006

    WOW!

    It was difficult to turn the last page of Chateau of Echoes and say good bye to all the characters I've gotten to know and love. So few novels have such wonderful character development. But there also was a creative twist to Siri Mitchell's Chateau of Echoes. It was written in the first person, a rarity! We got to know the protagonist from the inside out, not from the outside in. Bravo! Seri Mitchell's writing style is phenomenal! I was challenged vocabulary! YAY! She regularly consulted an English, French dictionary, and loved using a thesaurus and a culinary dictionary. I rarely read a book that I want to share. Chateau of Echoes is one for your library collection. To be shared and enjoyed over and over again. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2006

    Great Book

    This is the first book I've read by Siri Mitchell. It made me want to visit a chateau in Paris and eat fine French food! The conflict the protagonist has with her own guilt and convictions with her spiritual state and that of her late husband's are very real and believable. It's easy to relate to her feelings of discouragement and disillusionment. Her struggle for truth is exposed by someone unexpected who offers some theological challenges for her to ponder. The mystery surrounding the castle is intriguing and the historical storyline of the book is excellent. This book is a great escape that also challenges the reader with the realities the protagonist faces. The author adds thought-provoking questions for the reader in the back that are worthwile to read and answer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2006

    Awsome!!!!!!!

    I never thought that anything could come close to the book Kissing Adrien but this sure has! I absolutly love this book i took it with me everywere I went I just couldnt put it down! Frederique has such and awsome adventure and meets the most interesting man that I actually thought that I was there with her. the plot is incredible.... and the detail to the scenery was awsome! I love this book and can't wait to read the next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2005

    Delightful!

    Siri captured me as a fan with her first book 'Kissing Adrien. I anxiously awaited her novel 'Chateau of Echoes'and picked it up on the day of release 9/15 and read it entirely that day! It is such a wonderful and refreshing story! I loved the characters of 'Frederique' and 'Robert' . I had the pleasure of watching two people come to love each other in such a sweet and sometimes very humorous way. What a beautiful and romantic setting ...WOW! I eagerly await Siri's next book!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2005

    Great book!

    This book, while quite different from Mitchell's first book, Kissing Adrien, is equally as wonderful. This story explores a more serious side of her writing yet will not in any way leave you wanting (except more from her!). It has romance, mystery and the finest of french food. If you are looking for a new author or just a great book, check out Siri Mitchell!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2005

    A beautifully written retreat for the soul

    This beautiful book was like enjoying an exquisite meal or long, restful vacation. I enjoyed the historical aspects, and how they are so cleverly woven into the storyline. A recommended read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Chateau is full of surprises and packed with romance

    I didn't think I could possibly enjoy this story as much as Kissing Adrien, though I adore the author's writing. Then I got into Chateau and was so hooked that I dragged the book with my everywhere and lost sleep until I finished. I laughed, I cried, and most of all, my heart felt ready to burst. This novel pulls you into Europe, makes you feel the joy and pain of true love, then leaves you glowing. I enjoyed the contemporary piece as well as the medieval story of Alix and Awen. This novel is truly a work of art. It offers insight into the heart of a man who has everything but real love, and a woman who is lonely, but afraid to love again. The mystery and plot twists also made for an addicting read. I am thoroughly impressed and dying to read another novel by this author. I hear it's called Something Beyond the Skies and is coming out in January 2006. Whoo hoo!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1