Customer Reviews for

Chazown: Define Your Vision. Pursue Your Passion. Live Your Life on Purpose.

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Finding My Chazown Helped Me to Find My Path

    Wow, 2006. Here it is four years later and I am just now reviewing this book. I recently joined a book blogging committee and one of the books listed to review was Chazown. I have held on to this book all this time with the thought that someday I would finish my Chazown. I have read the entire book, however I have not finished it. Meaning, I have not finished the require applications.


    I might be a little biased about Craig Groeschel. I was a member of his church, LifeChurch, the Stillwater, OK campus for many years. I even volunteered with their Life Kids ministry. LifeChurch is an amazing establishment and it has changed the way many view church. Craig was so excited about the release of his first book. We were able to purchase at discount rates, and LifeGroups formed to study the book together as a team. There was also a website chazown dot com where you could journal and use the extra tools to help find your personal Chazown.


    We are not here to talk about Craig, I know this. So I am going to do my best to not talk about him on a personal level, but rather speak about the book. But, I did have to check the website again today to see if my information was still available. The website is completely different and sadly I am no longer registered.


    The one thing I love about this book is how the author actually takes the time to talk to you as if he was sitting right next to you, telling you a story. It makes the read much more enjoyable. Chazown is the Hebrew word for Vision. And this book is about finding your vision or God's vision for you.


    The book is broken down in to five parts, with each part having three to six sections. The sections are fairly short and very easy to read. At the end are simple thoughts, tasks and questions to help guide you on your vision quest.


    The first task was to write your own epitaph I remember how I felt four years ago trying to sit down and write this, to sit and think about one's own death is not really how I would expect to start a book. I can't remember how mine went then, now if I was to write one it would be completely different.


    I made it midway through Part 3. I am not sure why I never finished, I just remember being stuck and frustrated. I had a lot going on with life and I was trying to make some personal changes. I think maybe the book put me on the bath to making some of the decisions I had been holding off on, which sent me on a new path on life. I did not realize this at the time.


    I took a step to make some changes in life and even those some of those steps I am still working on (I am a work in process) I did take a chance on following my dreams of becoming a professional writer. Even though I do not have a bestselling novel published, I am writing for a living and taking the steps necessary to move forward with this career. I am also about to graduate with my BA in the next semester with plans to go on to graduate school.


    Now, in life, I am in a place where I should give this book another look. There is also a Limited Edition CD in the back of the book that I never opened.


    Do I recommend it to others? Yes, I do! Especially to those who are searching for guidance or direction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2012

    I really like this book for a number of reason. The first reason

    I really like this book for a number of reason. The first reason is that it really makes you think. And the best part about the thinking is that it makes you think about a general concept that we all sort of talk about (God has a plan for your life) in a more concrete way (what is God’s plan for your life?). I think sometimes we often assume we can’t know God’s plan or purpose for our life so we don’t think critically about the spiritual gifts or the core values that God has given us. This book will encourage you and help you to think about how those things work together. The second thing is that it’s concrete. In the sections it asks you specific questions that apply to the concept being talked about. For example, it asks you to identify your spiritual gifts when it talks about them. In this way it’s a good book because I think it’s easy to read books that might fall under the sort of “self help” category but then you’re like, okay, that’s fine and dandy, but how do I do that? What does that look like practically? How do I start? Groeschel can cut a lot of that out because he’s provided specific pointed questions for you to think about. I also think it’s a really great book for small Bible studies. We’ve been studying this book in my Bible study (as I mentioned earlier) and it’s been working really well for that. The questions in the back definitely get us having long thought out discussions. Lastly, I can honestly say since I read this book, I really have been giving more thought to how can I be purposeful about serving and my life. This has been especially helpful since becoming a mom and has helped me to try and maintain some perspective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    Finding My Own Chazown The author did a splendid job in this bo

    Finding My Own Chazown

    The author did a splendid job in this book and the interaction after every chapter help us to dig deep within to find out about our own dreams. There is a difference in knowing what your dreams are and pursuing your dream. This book helps those that are trying to figure out exactly what are their dreams and visions. The author used the Scripture from Proverbs 29:18 “Where there is no vision the people perish…..” which is a great scripture to be reminded of when pursuing the vision God placed in you. The book encourages us to pursue our hopes, dreams, and visions, in spite of what others may say; we have to follow the dream that makes us happy. This is a great book to be share with others as they seek after their dreams. I highly recommend this book and share with the message. The book was in line with what my marketing plan was dealing with core values and spiritual gifts. I dare anyone to try it and be honest about it. Don’t let the dreams God has given you die. Thank you Craig Groeschel for this awesome book!


    “I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review”.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Must read

    This book is inspiring and lifechanging!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    God has a vision for your life

    This book is an excellent step by step guide to finding what God wants you to do with your life using the correlation between your core values, spiritual gifts and past experiences. I thought this was going to be one of those books that told you that God has a vision for you, but never revealed how to find that vision. I was pleased to see that Craig Groeschel's book "Chazown" not only told me God has a vision, but showed me how to figure out what that vision was. Using the Bible verse "Where there is no vision, the people perish" (Proverbs 29:18), Groeschel, as an often humorous guide, leads you step by step into finding the vision God has placed within you. The online tools help to guide you on the path to God's Chazown for your life. I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    Purpose Driven Live on Steroids!

    "The decisions you are making today are actually making the bed you will lie in while you wait to die." Should you just wait to see what your life will look like when you get to that death-bed? Or do you make a decision right now to live life with purpose and passion? This is the foundation upon which Craig Groeschel presents this important gift to the church - or to anyone who wants to make his life count. Chazown is the "Purpose Driven Life" on steroids. The title comes from the Hebrew word for the "vision" of Proverbs 29:18 "Where there is no vision, the people perish" (KJV). It's one thing to vaguely understand that our lives should have purpose and meaning, but in Chazown, Groeschel not only teaches you where that vision should come from, but takes you step by step through the process of creating your vision and purpose for life. He helps you to take a fearless inventory and create changes in: your relationship with God, your relationships with people, your financial life, your physical health and your life's work.
    This is one of the most practical books I have ever read and I heartily recommend it for every human being who wants to do more with his life than just exist. Do not read it if you're not ready to change - and do some work to make that happen.
    I received a complimentary copy of this book from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Find Your Vision--Read This Book

    Craig Groeschel in his new book, "Chazown" published by Multnomah Books looks at the Hebrew word for vision.

    Looking at the word, Chazown don't you just expect when you say it that a sound like thunder and a lighting bolt to come zipping from the sky striking a young newsboy in a red pullover and then watching him become a grown man in a red outfit with a lightning bolt on his chest? Well that only works in the comics however this is a powerful word. Chazown, pronounced Khaw-zone, is the Hebrew word meaning a dream, revelation or vision.

    Pastor Groeschel works through how we should be achieving our Chazown in parts. One part is where to look: Your core values: What do you get passionate about? What gets you righteously angry when it is violated? Your spiritual gifts: What are the things you do noticeably well, and love to do? Your experiences: These experiences, both good and bad that make you who you are today. Once we got that part down Pastor Groeschel moves us to how to name your Chazown and where to start and then finally gets us to The Five Spokes of Chazown.

    If you are like me you might feel that you are just marking time and not really doing anything but still feel that there is really something you are called to do and just can't get a handle on it. "Chazown" is the book that Pastor Groeschel wrote for us. God made us with purpose and we each have our own Chazown. This book will help us find it step by step. I highly recommend this book.

    If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.

    To listen to 24 Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    Awesome Awesome Awesome...Everyone Needs to Read

    This is a spectacular book, I highly recommend it to everyone, but especially to people that believe they have a purpose on this Earth, but are having a hard time realizing what that purpose is. If you have ever heard Craig preach you'll understand these next comments (if you haven't I highly recommend that you hear him preach). Craig writes the exact same way he preaches; when you're reading Chazown it is like Craig is standing in front of you talking to you, specifically.

    Chazown is not a difficult book to read, but it definitely makes you think, and not just about everyday situations, but about your life. Reading certain parts of the book can make you uncomfortable in your own skin, but it's well worth it because you learn so much about yourself. Each chapter and section of the book has its own purpose and Craig does not deviate from the purpose of that section and when that sections purpose is finished he moves on. It is really easy to decipher exactly what you're reading about and not get confused.

    Wonderful book and I am so glad that I read it, because reading it helped me to learn a little about myself. Again, I highly recommend Chazown to everyone, but especially those who are walking around still looking for their purpose.

    FTC Disclaimer: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Read for All Christians!

    BOOK REVIEW: CHAZOWN "Chazown: (pronounced khaw-zone) from the Hebrew, meaning a dream, revelation or vision."

    Craig Groeschel's Chazown is based on the verse found in Proverbs 29:18: "Where there is no vision, the people perish." The subtitle sums up the entire book: Define Your Vision, Pursue Your Passion, Live Your Life on Purpose. Who among us does not want to know whether or not we are living God's vision for our lives?

    In a Biblically-based, reader-friendly format, Mr. Groeschel walks the readers through the necessary steps to discover God's vision for their life and how to implement that vision. The book is divided into five sections and within those sections, each chapter contains the wisdom and direction the reader needs to walk the journey of discovering their vision. The readers will find Key Thoughts that will motivate them to think how the truths in the preceding paragraphs might apply to them. At the end of each of the five sections are exercises designed to challenge the readers to pray and think about the questions posed by Mr. Groeschel. The readers are encouraged to participate even further by writing down what God shares with them during the exercise. There is also a personal and/or group study guide, as well as helpful appendixes to assist the readers in developing a personal time line and clarifying their core values and spiritual gifts.

    This book is revolutionary. If you don't know the vision God has for your life, Chazown will help you to discover that vision. If you've ever wondered if you are following God's vision for your life, this book will confirm that for you. And if you are positive you are following God's vision, this book will reinforce your vision even more. Chazown is a book that that will become a permanent part of your library because you will want to read it.and read again every year or so. It is that good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2010

    The step AFTER The Purpose Driven Life

    Several years ago, I believe 2002, our Church family read a book together. For me, it was the first time I had read the book and I couldn't sign up fast enough-I was (and remain) so hungry for God's leading in my life! Reading this book changed my life forever! As a matter of fact, I have THAT exact copy on my desk to this day (and I have changed desks a few times-I just keep packing this book in a box and placing it on the next desk). The book was The Purpose Driven Life by Rick Warren; which was instrumental in helping me realize my life has a GOD ORDAINED PURPOSE!

    Chazown, in my humble opinion, has taken me to the next level (beyond thinking/praying about my purpose) by providing TOOLS to IDENTIFY my purpose! My heart wants to provide you all the steps so you can travel this road with me; but listing the steps won't be enough. You need to get your own copy! You need to write all over it like I have! You need to fill in YOUR circles! You need to EXPERIENCE this for yourself!

    I will say this book confirmed my belief that God allowed grief in my life in order for me to help others. He alone brought me to a place of acceptance, JOY and willingness to share with others who suffer from the same grief. The author, Craig Groeschel, instructs us to examine three areas of our lives (he calls them circles): Core Values, Spiritual Gifts and Past Experiences. By reading these chapters, I was able to identify all three and understand where they intersect. Now, I'm working on my action plan, as the author states "with specific, achievable, written goals in the five fundamental life priorities identified." I must admit, taking this journey requires courage; you must be willing to examine yourself HONESTLY and commit to change. It's not easy, but I can promise the change in your life is well worth it.

    The next step-ACTION! And beware - your predator is watching! The author states, "You will face obstacles, mountains, and hurdles. You'll get distracted. You'll be tempted to wander off the road. You will procrastinate, putting off God's best for another day." His final word of advice: ACCOUNTABLITY! Create an accountability plan and stick with it! And, if you want to start a group study - he even provides the guide!

    This book will be a resource I turn to over and over again! I will pack it along side The Purpose Driven Life and take it with me every time my desk relocates!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1