BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Cheap Cabernet: A Friendship

Average Rating 4
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Cheap Cabernet is not the memoir of friendship it is marketed to be

    Cheap Cabernet is not the memoir of friendship it is marketed to be. If Denise Katz was someone who gave so much and expect nothing in return (307), then Cathie Beck did her friend a disservice in the development of her character in the book. Beck and Katz's friendship seems extremely unbalanced, that Katz was controlling and manipulative. Somehow through the self-promoting actions of Katz, Beck learns to value herself.

    I found the first half of the book far more engaging than the latter. The quality of writing is disappointing given that Beck is a journalist by trade.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    WOW This is a book to read and share with your girlfriends

    Cathie and Denise's story will inspire other women to appreciate their friendships on a deeper level! I could not put the book down once I started to read it. The friendship is strong and one full of many life lessons. The fun, tears and fears are jumping out of the pages. A portion of the proceeds from the sale of the book will be donated to MS Research. I strongly recomend this book for book clubs, the conversations will be inspiring.
    Brenda Jewell Swartz

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2010

    A Wonderful Memoir

    I just finished "Cheap Cabernet" today, very much unable to put it down. Thank you, Cathie, for sharing your story and for paying such a wonderful tribute to your friend Denise! Amazing. Powerful. And so very thought provoking. I have several friends/aquaintances with MS, and it is a very difficult disease to manage. As a friend, it's often so very tough to know what to do, what not to do, and what to say. What we can offer, as Cathie did, is friendship, laughs, love, and deep, deep compassion. Keep writing, Cathie!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Trey

    Im there

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Honest, heart-wrenching, real, roller-coaster ride

    This book is a memoir (a fact that I somehow missed and realized about a third of the way through). It isn't supposed to be a work of fiction, but a memoir of a friendship.

    Cathie Beck has had a tough life, raised in an unstable home, pregnant and married as a teen, abandoned by her husband with two children to raise at age 21, she has clawed her way through life. Now, nearing the age of 40, she finds herself an empty-nester in need of friends and begins a woman's group called WOW (Women on the Way). At the first meeting of their new group, Cathie meets Denise Katz: forward, unapologetic, brash, and Cathie doesn't think she likes this woman very much. But then she changes her mind, and finds she likes her very much, and the two begin a many-year friendship that navigates the difficulties of Denise's' struggle with Multiple Sclerosis.

    Cathie appears to be honest and real. She almost begrudgingly becomes friends with Denise, who is perhaps unlikeable to many, but I found that I liked her. Perhaps that is because I can identify with her. Denise has a warmth and heart that is kept very well hidden, but she also displays an evident strength.

    This book was a very easy read. Certain writing styles are just very conversational and comfortable for me, and allow me to whiz through much more quickly than with strongly narrative or "stodgy" writing.

    I sort of delayed picking this one up, because I just wasn't sure that it would be able to grab me. I was pleasantly surprised. It built and held me most of the way. However I did find the final 100 pages to be less captivating, and began to lose me, and the ending was less than satisfying. But, given that it is a memoir, that may be something that cannot be helped-- it ended as it ended. You can't change life.

    One thing that confused me was that the beginning had nothing to do with the ending. The way that the opening chapter is laid out, I always thought that the end of the book would pick up where it left off and the story would end. But that isn't what happened. The story never really returned to that moment again, aside from a very brief mention of Wyoming at the end of the book. So that only added to disappointment in the ending. It's as if the beginning set me up for an ending that never came as expected.

    For the most part, this was an enjoyable story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Brilliant

    Funny, sad, uplifting and heartbreaking. This book is all those things and more.

    I am not normally a big fan of memoirs. They can be whiny and self-indulgent. This one, however, is a beautiful, touching story with writing that is both professional and relaxed. Cathie Beck had a difficult childhood and her life didn't get much better into early adulthood. However, Beck doesn't dwell on this. She expects neither pity nor praise. This book is more a celebration of Beck finding her way out and a joyous friendship that gave her all she needed at that time in her life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1