Customer Reviews for

Cheat the Grave (Signs of the Zodiac Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 197 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(121)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    terrific entry

    In Las Vegas Joanna Archer knew what she was giving up when she rescued a child to save the light. Her sacrifice is her superpowers and her allies.

    Although she swears she would do it again Joanna has nagging doubts. Her destiny not only radically altered by her good deed, her friends deserted her; in fact they want to kill her. Feeling alone but forced by her revised destiny to act if the prophecy is to occur, Joanna travels through a nightmare in which everyone is her enemy, but one particular psychopathic predator plots to kill her. Joanna knows only her former foes give her a chance to survive and fulfill the prophecy.

    The latest Sign of the Zodiac is a terrific entry that centers on Joanna in a twisting of the coming of age theme. Urban fantasy readers will enjoy the fast-paced thriller that wastes no time by moving out from the onset. Joanna is terrific as she struggles with a myriad of emotions with the changes to her. She makes Cheat the Grave a great novel and though the story line can stand by itself, it is enhanced by reading the previous books to see how far the metamorphosis occurred.

    Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Vicki Pettersson Just Keeps Getting Better!

    I loved this 5th installment of the Sign of Zodiak series. I love Joanna and her alter ego, Olivia and I can't wait to read the next book. I read a lot of books and I can say that this is one of the most original story lines I've seen in a very long time. Cheat The Grave is definitely funnier than the last book, City of Souls. We get to see how Joanna copes with becoming mortal again and she looks very deeply into her psyche, figures out how to be an independent and powerful woman with only her wits (and very mortal friends) to help her in her battle against the Shadows. This book will tie up a lot of loose ends from the series and brings absolution to the readers who hoped for Joanna to be the character we knew she could be, i.e. strong, determined, resolved and complete. :) Absolutely Fabulous!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Action, Emotion and FULL of incredible revelations

    A jaw-dropping read!
    After the heart-breaking events in the previous book, Joanna attempts to bounce back. She manages to do so, in ways we may not have imagined.
    Stronger in her mortal skin, she's out for justice and answers.
    WOW.
    Even though this is book five in a series and I highly recommend you read all five, this book would actually do well on its own. It's written so well you could read it alone and not feel lost.
    But the author doesn't spend half the book explaining past books, which sometimes loses loyal readers either.
    It's quite a twist from the old Zodiac books. You won't see alot of Shadow versus Light in this one.
    But you will see the evolution of Joanna, which was a long time coming.
    A masterpiece. As always, Ms. Pettersson leaves you craving more as soon as you finish the book.

    Fans of the series, don't miss UNBOUND- an incredible anthology that explains alot of what happens after book 4!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    great cliff hanger

    I always recommend reading books in order and this series is a must! I picked the first book up on a whim and I am so glad I did. within the week I bought and read all of them. I had no idea of how petterson was going to on with the series when joannas superhero status was no more. she really surprised me! joanna has gone through so many changes in her life and has been struggling to find out who she is and find a balance within her sisters life and her own.especially since she made life changing sacrifice that caused her to become a mortal (just like her mother). so many people in her past seems to have abandoned her when she needs them the most. in this book she realizes that a couple of these people have always been there and loved her and always will. on the way to her discovering who she is she discovers who the people around her really are. the deceit of her former troop members keeps unraveling. her love and connection to jaden jacks becomes clear and complicated at the same time. her quest to find her mother zoe archer is still very strong. maybe more so now that she is a mortal. her quest to destroy her father the tulpa becomes stronger now that her life is more at stake than it ever has been. the last couple of chapters left me saying "holy #%@$! I need to know more!" I have no idea when the next book will be coming out but I WILL be keeping my eye out for the next sign of the zodiac!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Hunter Becomes the Hunted!

    I strongly recommend you read the previous books in the series (The Scent of Shadows The First Sign of the Zodiac, The Taste of Night The Second Sign of the Zodiac, The Touch Of Twilight, The Third Sign of the Zodiac and City of Souls and check-out from the library, the short story "the Harvest" in the Holidays Are Hell anthology) prior to reading this book.

    It's nice to take a break from the usual vamps and demons and to curl up with a book that is one of the most creative series I have ever read! This series just keeps getting better and better. If you have been a Joanna Archer fan but were disappointed in the last couple of installments, it's time to come back; major secrets are revealed! For every secret revealed the plot grows thicker and thicker. In the last installment Joanna was budding into a mature adult, in this installment she is a full grown women; with no signs of the reckless, brattiness that grew so tiresome. The action was plentiful and the plot was explosive! I didn't think it was possible to top the last installment but Vicki pulled it off and this installment left me salivating for more.

    I highly recommend this book to fellow dark urban fantasy readers and can't wait for the next book and also Vicki Pettersson's short story in DARK AND STORMY NIGHTS "Shifting Star" due out 7/20/10.
    I also recommend J.A. Saare - Dead, Undead, or Somewhere in Between for some reason B&N does not carry this title.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    one of my top 5 books in any series

    ok let me start off by saying i am currently involved in many series in unison. some of the series include signs of the zodiac, sookie stackhouse, night huntress, dark days, dark bretheren, the hollows, skinners, dark forgotten, dante valentine, jill kismet, kitty norville, eragon, vampire academy, and evernight are the ones i have the full series up to this point.

    i must say that this is one of my 5 favorite books that i have read in any of the above mentioned series that i have up to this point. about the only other book i put up with it is the latest rachel morgan book in black magic sanction as far as how deep i got pulled into the story. this book pulled me in and no matter what i did i could not put it down. believe me i tried. i kept reading this morning and would get to the end of the chapter say just one more. i did that all the way til 6am this morning when i ran out of book. this book has got to have a nomination for best single book in the fantasy/supernatural book of the year hands down. if you look back through my reviews i rarely even review a book and this is the first book i have talked so highly about.

    i can't wait til book 6 and see if jo can finish her business even without all of the powers she no longer has. awesome book and awesome series and will not be dissappointed in either!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    An Unlikely Hero

    Of all of your friends, if you had to choose one to gift with super powers who would it be? Who would you think deserves super powers? Who would you trust? Everyone knows a 'Joanna Archer'. She's the friend that has 'issues'. You like hanging out with her but she tends to lean toward the negative. Got a confrontation? She's your girl. Want a fun night of movies and popcorn and painting toes, you know to leave her out.

    We tend to expect our heroes to be true blue, dignified, centered, unflappable, selfless and focused. Bad guys beware! We want them larger than life; better than life. We don't expect them to be 'Joanna Archer'. That's what makes these books so maddeningly fun. Joanna has had a rough time of it starting quite early in her life. Give her a minute and she'll let you know how pissed she is about that, how it has changed her, how she wishes for the person she might have been. Don't we all?

    Then life just keeps on coming. We want our heroes to take it all on the chin, stiff upper lip, rise above, but Joanna Archer is a real person with real pain and is hoping for just one day that doesn't involve fighting for her life. Sure super powers sound great in theory, but really consider what that would mean and I dare you to come through it better than Joanna Archer.

    In this 5th book Joanna faces everything that has made her who she is. She stares into the truth of herself and does not back down. She makes her choices for herself alone. The worlds she travels, the things she sees, the things she is forced to do would unravel you or me. But she is Joanna Archer. She is resolute, stubborn, focused, selfless and against her better judgment, a true blue hero. Bad guys beware.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    Love it!

    Love this 5th installment from the Zodiac series! Action-packed, well-thought of characters and situations and conflict!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I'M IN LOVE

    I'M CRYING, I CAN'T WAIT FOR THE OTHER BOOK. THIS SERIES IS ABSOLUTELY UNIQUE. I LOVE IT! I RECOMMEND TO ALL, READ THE ENTIRE SERIES.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Kevin

    Yeah baby talk dirty to me baby i groan. (Id make you so sor baby)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Very good

    Must read all six books. This book had 320 pages. On to the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Great book

    You have to read the series they are all great books. I cant wait to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Julie not Julia!!

    Im a different person))))))) Cries her head in a pilliw.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7