Customer Reviews for

The Checklist Manifesto: How to Get Things Right

Average Rating 4
( 151 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Critical

Like his colleague at the New Yorker, Malcolm Gladwell, Gawande has the ability to write about material that could easily be boring (in the hands of a less gifted author) in a way that is clear, engaging, and thought-provoking, without ever being condescending. This ser...
Like his colleague at the New Yorker, Malcolm Gladwell, Gawande has the ability to write about material that could easily be boring (in the hands of a less gifted author) in a way that is clear, engaging, and thought-provoking, without ever being condescending. This serves him well in this book, whose general topic is that most professions (his is medicine) have been overwhelmed by complexity. We have trouble getting things right, because the volume of knowledge we've created has overwhelmed our ability as individuals to follow through.

Emotional Intelligence 2.0 is another book that has been really helpful in my work of late. It has a wonderful process for increasing your EQ, and improving communication between coworkers.

posted by Mike_Cummings on January 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Add this to the Checklist

This is a "easy read" book (good writing, not very technical) that I found enjoyable and interesting.
As a "manifesto," it lays out the arguments for using checklists. The author does provide some interesting history about the development of checklists (esp. aircraft f...
This is a "easy read" book (good writing, not very technical) that I found enjoyable and interesting.
As a "manifesto," it lays out the arguments for using checklists. The author does provide some interesting history about the development of checklists (esp. aircraft flight checklists).
So: checklists can be a benefit. However, the author doesn't really provide the next step. There is a science to the development and implementation of checklists. It would have been nice to have a clearer sense of how to proceed (dare I say a checklist?) and a list of resources (the chapters do have good endnotes but that's not the same).

posted by Medic on March 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Critical

    Like his colleague at the New Yorker, Malcolm Gladwell, Gawande has the ability to write about material that could easily be boring (in the hands of a less gifted author) in a way that is clear, engaging, and thought-provoking, without ever being condescending. This serves him well in this book, whose general topic is that most professions (his is medicine) have been overwhelmed by complexity. We have trouble getting things right, because the volume of knowledge we've created has overwhelmed our ability as individuals to follow through.

    Emotional Intelligence 2.0 is another book that has been really helpful in my work of late. It has a wonderful process for increasing your EQ, and improving communication between coworkers.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    eminently readable for anyone in a large organization.

    This book is a must for physicians of all levels from medical students to those in practice and even those ready to retire. I sent it to my uncle an engineer who was very fascinated. It is organized.The examples are stories in and of themselves. I Will reread this book my times and give it as gifts to all my friends and colleagues in the medical profession

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Dr. Gawande hits it out of the ballpark, Great Read

    Interesting, very well written, compelling fast read. Highly recommended to anyone in health care and anyone using health care. Should be required reading. Checklist Manifesto is one of the most import books written for health care in recent years. Its value may seem subtle in that it defends and shows the process for implementing a simple surgery checklist, but saving lives and catching medical errors with a checklist makes it profound.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Excellent!

    My EP recommended this book during a discussiin we had about my two recent hospitalizations. Knowing that he read it, and was, hopefully, using checklists in his surgical procedures has motivated me to devise my own checklist of questions for my doctors to use for future procedures and assessing potential physicians and surgeons. Number one will be "do you use surgical checklists?" If not, I will probably find another doctor. It's that big of a deal.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Any task improved

    A self-help book, quite literally. Author shows how to make a job easier(in most cases), and more mistake-free by breaking it down into smaller pieces and checklisting those pieces. Perform those steps one by one on the list.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    I enjoyed it!

    I really liked it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2011

    Awesome book

    This book was buetifully written and now I can stop thinking about checklist. The author brings something as simple as a checklist to life with amazing examples of intense situations, showing how displine can calm some of the most dire situations and prevent error in one way processes. I'm not just an engineering nerd this book was sick

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    The Checklist Manifesto by Atul Gawande

    Dr. Gawande has written three excellent books. This most recent one can save many, many lives and reduce complications and errors with medical procedures. Its implications extend to other fields as well. It is a wonderful book, clear and compelling...except perhaps for the most blockheaded.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Reduce Risk, Control What You Can

    Some people may not be enamored with the stories and examples but the author's message is on point. We need to continually utilize checklists and whatever means are available to reduce risk in an increasingly complex world. It's in everyone's best interest to calculate risk, reduce it when possible and execute with precision. A surgeon is as good a person to tell that story as anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Iceescales's animals

    Queen ArcticFlower-wolf.
    <p>
    Queen SnowyStar-seal
    <p>
    Pets.
    <p>
    Noblesky-hamster.
    <p>
    Seacat-hamster.
    <p>
    Grumpymonkey-hamster.
    <p>
    Non-member

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Definitely worth reading

    The route to excellence can sometimes be available to all...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4