Customer Reviews for

Checkmate

Average Rating 4.5
( 338 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(217)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Another hit from R.L. Mathewson!

Another book, another neighbor from hell, another hit! I love her writing style and this book is no exception. I love the characters and the way she makes you feel comfortable with them right away...I laughed out loud through most of this book and will no doubt read i...
Another book, another neighbor from hell, another hit! I love her writing style and this book is no exception. I love the characters and the way she makes you feel comfortable with them right away...I laughed out loud through most of this book and will no doubt read it again!

posted by Buzziebee on October 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Out of the 3 NFH books, this was my least favorite only because

Out of the 3 NFH books, this was my least favorite only because it was too drawn out with over the top childish antics. Seriously, at least 1/3 of the narrative could have been eliminated and not affected the story! Loved the romance and human interest components rega...
Out of the 3 NFH books, this was my least favorite only because it was too drawn out with over the top childish antics. Seriously, at least 1/3 of the narrative could have been eliminated and not affected the story! Loved the romance and human interest components regarding Andrew but couldn't wait to get to the end.

posted by LucyReads on November 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Best of NFH

    I've read all three books from this series and I have to say that this obe is my favorite. The characters are just more well developed and the story is entertaining and keeps your interest till the end. Also Connor has to be my favorite out of all leading men of this searies. He's just so sweet and romantic. Read it!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Funny! Sexy! I love neighbors from hell!

    This is the third in the NFH series. This story started 20 years ago and brought you current with two childhood enemies. It's a funny story that chronicles their highly amusing antics as well as their struggle to fight their steamy chemistry. It's a good read? Can't wait for the next one!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    Loved

    I love this series. Hope she writes more

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Love it!

    Another great one in the series!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    Love

    I really enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    I enjoyed this series

    The last book of the series and it did not disappoint. I enjoyed reading it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    The neighbor from hell series is just awesome - sexy, funny, hea

    The neighbor from hell series is just awesome - sexy, funny, heart warming... Love love love!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Fun

    This book was fun. The characters have a massive love hate relationship and the chaos they put each other through is very entertaining. Lots of passion too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Good book but

    I love these series and I totally loved all of the book except the end. I felt it was rushed and without any of the drama the other two books-Perfection and Playing for keeps had. Overall its an awesome read. I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    LOVE RL MATHEWSON!

    LOVE RL MATHEWSON!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    I really loved this series

    I just started reading recently. I love to read now because of serie like these. They are will written. You will enjoy following the stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    Loved it from start to finish.

    Loved it from start to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Highly Recommended it!

    Loved this Book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2012

    Found this to be the funniest of the series! Love these books! D

    Found this to be the funniest of the series! Love these books! Do hope there are more to come

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    Another great one

    Love the tie in to the other characters from the Series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Good Story but grammar problems

    This was by far my favorite Neighbor From Hell novel. All three stories are great, however there were several grammar and spelling errors throughout the series; if you can get past the errors and follow the stories you won't be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Pretty Funny!

    Can you find your soulmate in preschool? I liked the "flashbacks" to many of the antics that got these 2 "banned" from being in the same place. It was laugh out loud funny in many spots & i really loved the Bradfords, too. The only slightly sticky part? That her Dad waits till the end to show any real emotion... it's not believable that she's his "favorite", even when he explains his motivations. I'm going to read the other's in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Great read

    Loved it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Entertaining

    The story is pretty good. I think it could have been about 100 pages shorter. The parts with the Bradford cousins were not needed, and there were some pages that could have been condensed. Still, the book was entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Good read

    I loved the chemistry between Connor and Rory. This is the best book in the series so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4