Customer Reviews for

Checkmate, My Lord

Average Rating 3.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

CHECKMATE,MY LORD by Tracey Devlyn is another intriguing Regency

CHECKMATE,MY LORD by Tracey Devlyn is another intriguing Regency Historical Romance. Book 2 in the "Nexus"series,but can be read as a stand alone. See, "A Lady's Revenge". Faced paced and filled with spies,secrets,danger,passion,betrayal,treason,scan...
CHECKMATE,MY LORD by Tracey Devlyn is another intriguing Regency Historical Romance. Book 2 in the "Nexus"series,but can be read as a stand alone. See, "A Lady's Revenge". Faced paced and filled with spies,secrets,danger,passion,betrayal,treason,scandal,seduction,romance and love.Follow, Widow, Catherine Ashcroft and Sebastian Danvers,Earl of Somerton, spymaster, as they navigate danger and possible treason. Mrs. Ashcroft is determined to found what really happened to her deceased husband. She feels all is not what it appears,after receiving some disturbing letter written before his death. There goes, lies the trouble. A powerful story that will have you captivated from the first page to the last. Oh, who doesn't love a brave,courageous,precocious six year old,who is trouble,with a capital T and can capture a tough,cunning spymaster's heart. Ms. Devlyn is a wonderful storyteller who draws the reader into the story,and holds them there long after the last page. A must read! If you enjoy historical,romance,spies,England,France and its spies,an emotional story that tugs at your heartstrings as a young widow must save her family and deliver something that could only be consured as treason. I would highly recommend "Checkmate,My Lord" you will not regret reading this title. Received for an honest review from the publisher.
RATING: 4.5
HEAT RATING: MILD
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews

posted by MyBookAddictionandMore on February 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I liked the story line, but I would have liked it more it if had

I liked the story line, but I would have liked it more it if had all its pages. Huge gaps on this ebook from one chapter to the next. Only 150 pages! 

posted by Glopbug on April 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Catherine, receives a bunch of strange letters from her estrange

    Catherine, receives a bunch of strange letters from her estranged husband after his death. She starts trying to find answers of what really happened to him. 

    Sebastian is one Catherine goes to for help. He agrees to help her, hoping that while he does that he will find more info on who is trying to bring Nexus down.

    Catherine just wants answers for her daughter and herself hoping it will help them understand why he left them. To stay busy while Sebastian looks into the letters her husband wrote, she offers to help with, all repairs that needs done to the estate and the tenants homes. Knowing all the families in the area. While working together they start developing feeling each. But neither of them wanting to grow close to another. Catherine because she doesn't want her daughter or herself to feel the sting of being left behind again. Sebastian because he doesn't loved ones to be used against him. But when stuff goes down they both realize that they are stronger together. 

    I really enjoyed reading Checkmate, My Lord. The characters were extremely well written, and the plot was awesome. I loved how the characters interact. The Chemistry between Catherine and Sebastian was hot and steamy. Checkmate, My Lord is an awesome read, I hated having to put it down and getting back to work.

    I give Checkmate, My Lord Five Cocktails!  

    Reviewed by SammySosa for Cocktails and Books

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    This is the 2nd book in Tracey Devlyn's Nexus Series. I love rea

    This is the 2nd book in Tracey Devlyn's Nexus Series. I love reading the suspense/romance genre and this certainly fits the bill. Adding a historical story line only increased my interest as I do not read a lot of Regency/Historical romance Novels. The H/h are two very strong willed characters which only adds more angst to the book. Something I appreciate, those page grabbing moments when you read on because you can not stop, the need to find out what is happening next. Catherine is compelled to find out the circumstances behind her late husband's death. While Sebastion only wants to keep the secret that her husband was an Nexus Agent from her. Tender moments,hot sensuality and the fear to trust all combine to make this book a MUST READ for lovers of the Historical Romance genre! Reviewed by DeleneY

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    In Checkmate, My Lord, Tracey Devlyn absolutely delights with th

    In Checkmate, My Lord, Tracey Devlyn absolutely delights with the story of Catherine Ashcroft and Lord Somerton (Sebastian Danvers).  Catherine Ashcroft is a widow, asking many questions of Lord Somerton regarding her husband's death.  There is much deception on both Catherine and Sebastian's accounts, for different, but similar strong feelings.  There is mystery and intrigue throughout, as well as some glorious love scenes.  I loved the suspense that built throughout.  The Nexus series is simply fantastic!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely Wonderful!

    I received the book for free through Goodreads First Reads, the opinions are my own.

    I think I have stopped gushing over this book long enough to write a review!

    When Catherine Ashcroft loses her husband, she turns to Sebastian Danvers, Lord Somerton for help deciphering her late husbands letter and Lord Somerton seems to be the man for the job. Unaware that Sebastian is a spymaster and a Chief of an organization called Nexus that have spent protecting the English Shores from the French invasion and a man of quiet a few enemies.

    Sebastian is unable to keep the widow from his mind and offers her an affair while he moves down to lay low in the country from London. Unaware the real reason behind Catherine risking a scandal.

    When a strange man approaches Catherine on the streets of London, claiming to know the information behind her late husbands murder – he offers the information in exchange of Catherine spying on Lord Somerton. Living in the quiet comfort of Winter's Hollow. Catherine finds herself helping Lord Somerton tend to the disgruntled tenants and their share of complaints against their landowners absence. Seducing her way into his house, as well as his heart. When her daughter's life becomes endangered, Catherine is found herself doing everything in her will in order to save her, which includes betraying Sebastian.

    Oh how I loved this book. I was so excited to run into a few great historical romance recently when I needed that fix. I loved Checkmate, my Lord. It had a riveting storyline, exciting characters, and a very emotional ride. Catherine was a head strong heroine who even though has had a rocky marriage with her late husband, still wanted the truth behind her husbands death – knowing how it had effected her daughter.

    Sebastian was always known for his cold logic and putting everything out there in sacrifice of the greater good. Though the Earl has countless of hard walls holding up his exterior, on the inside there is a void of loneliness that only the widow and her daughter can fill.

    I loved the passion and attraction between Sebastian and Catherine. I also loved how he was with her daughter as the book progresses. The way Sophie got attached to him, it really captures your heart. Tracey Devlyn has created a world of intriguing characters with real emotions and attachments. Catherine would have done anything to protect her daughter including betraying the one man that had made her feel love in a very long time.

    Checkmate, my Lord is also filled with tons of supporting characters that make the story that much more compelling, interesting and down right emotional. Parts of it even had me on the edge of the street, and one piece in particular downright shocked me. Loved Tracey Devlyn's writing, the way she tells the story and makes you feel so involved you cannot help but feel attached to the characters. I was even a little sad when the book is over but I am looking forward to finding out what happens to Danforth, one of my favorite supporting characters in this book. I will also have to find book one that started this wonderful series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2014

    Sunrise

    The creamy she-cat sat on a large rock, staring at the sunset. She inhaled deeply and exhaled. "I wonder if I'll ever find someone like Leafstorm did." She thought out loud about her sister. Immediately she thought of her past crush, Squirrelclaw. She sighed sadly and kept watching.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2014

    Great book! I was lucky and got it in paperback... It's my under

    Great book! I was lucky and got it in paperback... It's my understanding that the publisher is working on the fact that some of the chapters accidentally didn't get uploaded in the e-version... (I have had that happen before on other books and if you let B&N know, as soon as the correction is made they should help you get the complete version). This is not the authors fault so hopefully everyone will purchase the book. The book is a truly awesome read and I know you will all truly love it. Ms. Devlyn's characters will hook you in. It's a great romance novel with bits of danger and lots of emotion! I highly recommend it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Doelle@gmail.com

    Hi do to

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Don't buy ebook from B&N

    This book like the author's others is a good read. However issues with the ebook skipping chapters will turn readers off which is not the author's fault at all and should not be reflected in her reviews. It is a problem of either Barnes & Noble or the publishers making. Hopefully potential readers will be interested enough to perhaps buy the book in print instead. It won't disappoint unlike B&N service.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2013

    In this second book of the Nexus series, we find the Chief of Ne

    In this second book of the Nexus series, we find the Chief of Nexus, Sebastian/Lord Somerton dealing with an investigation in which he is told to give up the names of his secret agents. While he is dealing with that, Catherine Ashcroft has asked him to look into the death of her husband, one of the Chief’s agents (but Catherine is unaware of this at the time). Catherine will stop at nothing to get answers and finds herself involved in a very evil world of secrets and lies where her life and the lives of those she loves are threatened. I thought Tracey Devlyn did a fabulous job with the plot line in this story. It continues on from the first book between France and England so it helps to read A Lady’s Revenge first.

    Sebastian and Catherine were two strong willed people that continued to go back and forth with each other. One minute they were giving into their attraction and the next minute they did not trust one another and tried to build up walls around their hearts. They both did agree, however, to have an affair while Sebastian was in town but would end it when he went back to London. Of course these things never work out exactly as planned, right? Sebastian did not want to get attached to Catherine and her daughter, Sophie, for fear of placing them in danger just by having the relationship with him, but he found that difficult.

    Catherine was too afraid to give her heart to Sebastian, for fear of losing another man because of his dangerous job. Sophie, who was six, added such emotion to the story. She was so full of life and curious that she always seemed to catch people off guard. It was great fun to watch her melt the hearts of grown men. I enjoyed the rest of Sebastian’s family including Cora, Guy, and Ethan. I love Ethan’s lack of filter when he speaks, maybe because I can relate! You never have to guess what he thinks or how he feels about something. I am looking forward to his book next!

    I found Cora to be a wonderful friend to Catherine near the end of the story and for being one of the only females in Sebastian’s life who could tell him what he needed to hear regarding women and love. All of the people in Sebastian’s close circle have such a good relationship and work very well together when a conflict arises. I especially liked watching Cora and Ethan bicker with one another as all siblings do now and then.

    This book has plenty of mystery, suspense, love, romance, and even the laughter of a free spirited six year old. I highly recommend this it and look forward to the third book in the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1