Customer Reviews for

Cherry

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

What an intimate look inside the life of an enigmatic poet.

Mary Karr has opened the door to her adolescent, young adult life without boundaries. An honest portrayal of decisions made with an immature perspective and how those decisions shaped her world. I am a new fan of her work. I read Liar's Club in one week and Cherry in...
Mary Karr has opened the door to her adolescent, young adult life without boundaries. An honest portrayal of decisions made with an immature perspective and how those decisions shaped her world. I am a new fan of her work. I read Liar's Club in one week and Cherry in about two. I have just started Lit and her book of poetry Sinners Welcome.

posted by Lyriq3 on January 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Well Written, But Not Nearly as Compelling as Liars Club

I often choose to read books that show up on Amazon's "Recommended for Me" list - and since Mary Karr's _Lit: A Memoir_ is one of them, I decided to read Mary Karr's first two memoirs beforehand. Since I *loved* _The Liars' Club_ (to which I will henceforth refer as Boo...
I often choose to read books that show up on Amazon's "Recommended for Me" list - and since Mary Karr's _Lit: A Memoir_ is one of them, I decided to read Mary Karr's first two memoirs beforehand. Since I *loved* _The Liars' Club_ (to which I will henceforth refer as Book One), I looked forward to reading _Cherry_ (Book Two). What a disappointment. Book One felt incredibly honest - the product of many conversations, much introspection, and hard work. I loved the way Karr linked her past experiences to the present and especially appreciated the inclusion of her therapist's injunction to challenge herself vis-a-vis her mother (something along the lines of "If you keep doing what you've always done, you'll keep getting what you've always gotten"), as well as the immediate results of that self-challenge. I loved Karr's approach, actually felt that I'd learned something when I finished, and imagined that Book Two would be more of the same. It is not. Between the poetic reminiscences and extensive use of the second person, _Cherry_ feels much more like a work in progress, more a roster of veiled excuses than like a life story. Although the writing is undeniably lovely, this book is simply a published journal, a journal in which Karr is still wrestling with unresolved issues. I'm feeling doubtful about Karr's most recent memoir installment (_Lit: A Memoir_) -- but I'll still be giving it a try.

posted by MJinPA on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Well Written, But Not Nearly as Compelling as Liars Club

    I often choose to read books that show up on Amazon's "Recommended for Me" list - and since Mary Karr's _Lit: A Memoir_ is one of them, I decided to read Mary Karr's first two memoirs beforehand. Since I *loved* _The Liars' Club_ (to which I will henceforth refer as Book One), I looked forward to reading _Cherry_ (Book Two). What a disappointment. Book One felt incredibly honest - the product of many conversations, much introspection, and hard work. I loved the way Karr linked her past experiences to the present and especially appreciated the inclusion of her therapist's injunction to challenge herself vis-a-vis her mother (something along the lines of "If you keep doing what you've always done, you'll keep getting what you've always gotten"), as well as the immediate results of that self-challenge. I loved Karr's approach, actually felt that I'd learned something when I finished, and imagined that Book Two would be more of the same. It is not. Between the poetic reminiscences and extensive use of the second person, _Cherry_ feels much more like a work in progress, more a roster of veiled excuses than like a life story. Although the writing is undeniably lovely, this book is simply a published journal, a journal in which Karr is still wrestling with unresolved issues. I'm feeling doubtful about Karr's most recent memoir installment (_Lit: A Memoir_) -- but I'll still be giving it a try.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    What an intimate look inside the life of an enigmatic poet.

    Mary Karr has opened the door to her adolescent, young adult life without boundaries. An honest portrayal of decisions made with an immature perspective and how those decisions shaped her world. I am a new fan of her work. I read Liar's Club in one week and Cherry in about two. I have just started Lit and her book of poetry Sinners Welcome.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Great reading!

    I attended PNG High School with Mary Karr. I graduated in 1974. She nailed life there on the right on the head.

    Rock Barras

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2001

    From Southeast Texas (it ain't so bad)

    The main thing that strikes me about this book is its frankness and honesty. Mary Karr does not sugar-coat anything. I was born and still live in the same area in Texas as she grew up in, so I had that extra interest before I started the book( I also read Liar's Club). But most people will relate to this entertaining story of the passage of a young girl through her adolescence. It can make you laugh and cry in the span of a few sentences. The chapter on her visit to a Beaumont bar call Effie's-A-Go-Go is worth the price of the book by itself. And she looks good by the pool table. Looks like some of her prayers were answered.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2000

    Karr Does It Again

    Amazing, Amazing, Amazing! Karr's gift for poetically mesmerizing, vivid prose is incredible. After every passage I read, I shake my head and say to myself, 'Damn, I wish I could write like that.' She remains the unchallenged winner in the art of memoir writing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    Keny

    Ah.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    A person

    Fire Cabin.........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Dani

    *she strolls in.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Ace

    "I hafta go. Bbl."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Jordan

    K.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Nick

    "Hmm. I gotta go." Flies out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Hush

    Hehehe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Seth

    Gtg bbt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    cherryclan map

    Res 1 bios res 2 map res 3 main camp and so on deputy makes the rest

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    Bublewing

    Smiles and leans into her to keep her warm (it's fine)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Dappledeyes

    Sorry again.))*purred happily*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    A creature

    Watches silently

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    Luna

    Yeah caitlin

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Snooki

    Angel your doing me?!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Angel

    Im already doing snooki

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3