Customer Reviews for

Cherry Bomb (Jacqueline "Jack" Daniels Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Bomb---Literally

    I've been reading this series since it started with Whiskey Sour and couldn't stop raving about it back then. I was eagerly anticipating this book since Fuzzy Navels heart stopping, cliff hanger of an ending. The past books had enough humor and irreverence to make up for all the horror. They were wonderful police procedurals as well as humorous mysteries.

    But this offering is nothing but non-stop gratuitous murder, yes we get the fact that Kork is a nut case and this is her reason for living, but a break would have been nice, there is no humor unless you like jokes about monkey feces, and the fact that Jack would have had sex so soon (I would explain why this is disturbing to me, but it would mean adding something that would spoil the book for those who haven't read it yet) doesn't ring true and only goes to show that men authors may not really want to write books from a woman's POV.

    Too much of this book forces me to suspend disbelief to the point that I may as well have been reading a paranormal. The characters have not developed any farther than they had in the last book and in that one they hadn't changed one iota from the previous books, and the added character in the way of a monkey that throws his feces at everyone is well, maybe it's something a teenage boy would find hilarious, I didn't.

    I recommend that if you must read this because you have a compulsive need to keep up with a series, then wait and buy it in paper back or better yet go to the library. I'm sorry that I got it in hard cover my book budget would have better spent elswhere.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    This is great

    Read the whole series it is worth it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    On the edge, AGAIN!

    Another on the edge reading. Just when you think it couldn't get better or more exciting! Really excited to read the Jack Daniels series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2010

    Where are the others?

    I don't won't read #6 only. Where are the others on ebooks??? Please,Please put the other books on ebooks for my nook!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Don't just read this one...read them all!

    Another great mystery filled with humor. It is fun to laugh and be entertained and Konrath is an expert! Konrath's imagination goes everywhere and one can never guess where the story is going next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2009

    excellant!!! when is the next in the series coming??

    another hit in the series. bring on more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    A thrilling page-turner

    Cherry Bomb was definitely my favorite of the Jack Daniels series to date. JA Konrath keeps you on your toes with his humor and sickness!
    Can't wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    Great summer read

    Konrath did it again he keeps you wondering how Jack gets out of the mess he puts her in. Hopefully his next book has a different set of villains for Jack to take on. Her mother & friends are good but that crazy family of villains have run their course. Can't wait to see the next book to see what kind of mess Jack is in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fast and Gripping

    Jaqueline "Jack" Daniels continues her duel with Alex Kork, one of the most chilling serial killers in the detective/mystery genre. Jack must violate the department edict that she stay away from the case because Kork has killed her fiance. Jack sees it as both vengence and a duty because Alex Kork has no scruples about killing, to steal a car, to get a few dollars, even for no apparent reason.

    Alex even confronts Jack with the challenge to try to prevent the deaths of those close to Jack. Calls from untraceable cell phones, with photos of the trapped victims and clues to the location drag Jack in deeper. Each call comes with a deadline. Jack races against time throughout the book, and the tension constantly increases.

    Highly recommended like the rest of the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    "Jack" Daiels

    I love the Jacqueline "Jack" Daniels series. All the books are named after hard liquor drinks, such as Dirty Martini, Cherry Bomb, etc. I would suggest starting with this series from the first book, they are a delight and quite an adventure. It's nice to see someone come up with a new strong female character. Hope there are more of these books to come!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    Cherry Bomb

    I love this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Couldn't put it down!

    "Cherry Bomb" the sixth in J.A. Konrath's Jack Daniels series, is not as sarcastic or hilarious as previous stories (mom and cat not really involved). But this one begins where the previous novel ended, with Alex Kork, a really sadistic killer is out to get Daniels. And the games begins: the killings get more gruesome and Jack becomes more emotional. This definitely kept me on the edge of my seat and I couldn't put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2009

    A Real Thrill Ride!

    Konrath delivers his usual spine tingling, fast paced thriller. Alex Kork is back and more devious than ever. This sick chick takes our heroine, Jack Daniels, on a torturous journey and makes for a page turning thriller. Scary, a bit of horror and gore but you won't put this book down. When I finally finished the last page I was breathless. Whew! What a ride!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2009

    Cherry Bomb

    Cherry Bomb is the newest in the Jack Daniels series by J A Konrath, an author that doesn`t get displayed prominently enough, but is worth searching for! It combines a thriller, with humor and the result is a book you can`t put down! A very good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    MAJOR CHILLS AND THRILLS

    If you like suspense and you haven't been following the Jack Daniels series created by the ever surprising J. A. Konrath, it's not too late to change your ways. It's easy to pick up on the challenges facing Lieutenant Jack (Jacqueline) Daniels with this, the sixth in the series, but once you've had a sip of Cherry Bomb you'll probably want to have a taste of Whiskey Sour (2004), Bloody, Mary (2005), Rusty Nail (2006), Dirty Martini (2007), and Fuzzy Navel (2008). As stand-alones or full series Konrath's stories always provide full measures of laughter and thrills.

    Fortunately for Jack she has a number of friends because if she ever needed them it's with the opening of Cherry Bomb. Her fiancé, Latham, has been murdered by one of the scariest psychotic killers ever invented, Alexandra (Alex) Kork. Jack stands by his grave side when her cell phone rings - it is Alex who is miles away in a coffee shop with WiFi. She cannot resist taunting Jack, and relishes seeing her stunned, falling to her knees in the mud. Alex misses little and has hidden a camera phone atop a nearby mausoleum. "Later today," Alex says, "I'm sending you a picture over the phone. Twelve hours from then, the man in the picture will die. Unless you find him and save him. I hope, for his sake, you do a better job than you did with your fiancé."

    Jack knows this isn't an empty threat because Alex doesn't kill for revenge or because of hatred - she kills for pleasure. Further, she tells Jack that if she doesn't make an effort to save this man the next picture Jack receives will be of a playground full of kids.

    That's some spine-tingling scenario and one more Jack Daniels story that's impossible to put down. As always, Konrath rockets readers to a totally unexpected finish.

    - Gail Cooke

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3