Customer Reviews for

Chesapeake

Average Rating 4.5
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2003

    Why did I wait so long?

    We read a lot in our family and my oldest son read and reccomended Chesapeake to me years ago. I've just put our boat on the Eastern Shore and finally got around to reading it (why did I wait so long?). It is a outstanding story about our beginnings presented in story form. The way Michner introduces his characters keeps you involved and interested throughout 900 pages.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2001

    Entrancing

    I really enjoyed this novel. Unlike Hawaii, Michener does not spend the first chapter describing the geographical history of the area. The stories are captivating and many of the facts are historically accurate. This is a wonderful novel.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    One of my favorite books

    Having grown up near the Bay, this book is dear to my heart. Now that I live in the Midwest, I feel like I am back on the east coast when I read this book... for the third time.
    If you have not read it, read it if has been a while, read it again.
















    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    James A. Michener Chesapeake

    I read this book 30 years ago but always remembered it. Went searching online for it at B&N, found it and bought it again. Just as good as I remembered it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2003

    This is a rich history of the bay

    Michener's book is a classic and unfolds the rich history of the Chesapeake Bay and the people who settled this beautiful place. It is a must-read for anyone who loves the Chesapeake.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2002

    A work of Art

    Incredible story for those wanting a history of the Chesapeake Bay. This book will take you back in time...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2001

    Worth The Read

    Chesapeake was the longest book I have read in my lifetime, and definitely one of the best! I learned so much about the history of Eastern Shore MD from this book...not a day goes by that I don't use something in conversation that left an impression on me...from the pursuit of religious freedom in MD to the outlawing of the 'long guns' on the Eastern Shore. It was worth the 1000+ pages!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2000

    I loved it!

    I am only 13 years old and read this book. It was so great. I loved all the detail and how you could just see and hear the geese above you. Everyone in my class thought that i was nuts reading such a large book but it didn't bother me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2000

    Chesapeake is very alive.

    Never have I read a book with characters (whether they are human or animal) who were so fascinating. Of more importance, this book captures man's struggle with his environment and the environment's struggle with man.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Another wonderful legacy from James Michener - a riveting story

    Another wonderful legacy from James Michener - a riveting story about the history of the Eastern U.S. As always in Michener's well-researched books, history is brought to live in a very real way through our connection with engaging characters who make us care what happens to them! Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Fantstic!

    This book is for any lover of historical fiction. It is hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    I've read many of Michener's books. I enjoyed most of them, but

    I've read many of Michener's books. I enjoyed most of them, but Chesapeake stands head & shoulders above the others. The characters are memorable and interesting, and I love the reappearance of family members over time. Absolutely worth reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    Excellent!

    One of the best historical fiction books I have read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2009

    Great Historical Novel

    I loved it from the first page to the last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2006

    A Must Read Novel

    This is a great novel. A mjust have for any Michener fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2001

    Great novel

    This novel was given to me by a history teacher of mine and it truly excites a readers mind to read this novel. The great story lines and narration make you fell like you are apart of the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2001

    An American Classic

    This is one of my favorite books and all American History fanatics would enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3