Customer Reviews for

Chess Enthusiast

Average Rating 2.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Change the chess server to cokatoo instead of the default chess

Change the chess server to cokatoo instead of the default chess engine and the freezing stops.

posted by 17444058 on March 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Are you kidding?

The first reviewer mentioned "freezing"... I bought it yesterday on a brand new Nook HD, same problem: no matter what I do, I can't get past move three or four. It's "thinking". It's been thinking for twelve hours, now..
Looks like Apple's Shredder and T-Chess has sp...
The first reviewer mentioned "freezing"... I bought it yesterday on a brand new Nook HD, same problem: no matter what I do, I can't get past move three or four. It's "thinking". It's been thinking for twelve hours, now..
Looks like Apple's Shredder and T-Chess has spoiled me, because those apps actually work.
Shame on you, Barnes and Noble, how do I get my money back??

posted by 17202129 on January 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Are you kidding?

    The first reviewer mentioned "freezing"... I bought it yesterday on a brand new Nook HD, same problem: no matter what I do, I can't get past move three or four. It's "thinking". It's been thinking for twelve hours, now..
    Looks like Apple's Shredder and T-Chess has spoiled me, because those apps actually work.
    Shame on you, Barnes and Noble, how do I get my money back??

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Not the best app

    I brought this app so that the chess engine could tell me how well my moves were etc... but that tool does not work. Also the computer freezes often and stop making moves.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Change engines & time control

    For a dollar it actually plays better than I expected. I had problems of the program hanging up also but switching engines and playing around with the time controls seems to have solvedbthe problem.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Needs work

    Freezes up. Very annoying

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Change the chess server to cokatoo instead of the default chess

    Change the chess server to cokatoo instead of the default chess engine and the freezing stops.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Chess

    We are still looking for an application that has a sharp display for the Nook HD+

    Please donot use timers on all of your games, my mind cannot move as fast as yours.

    If you are going to assign a name to your application donot use profanity or a version of such. Most of us donot find it necessary and it is quit boaring and inappropriate for chess.

    BARNS & NOBLE, please...please... give us a good CHESS game for NOOK.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Removed

    Caused my nook to freeze up after 2 moves. Restarted it several times with the same result. Decided to delete after 1 hour of trying to get it to work.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    The reviewer towards the bottom is right.  Switch to the "C

    The reviewer towards the bottom is right.  Switch to the "Cockatoo" engine and you'll have no problems.
    The only thing I would like done better is the level of play slider.  It's a bit difficult to make a precise selection of the strength of play.
    Other than that, it's best best chess app that I've found for the nook to date!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    George

    Best ever! The performance strength bar actually works unlike other chess games I have tried. Beginner level is really beginner level, not grandmaster! I selected the cockatoo internal engine and have had no freezeups.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    NOT IN THE LEAST

    This app is entirely worthless to me. Didn't have any instructions to even get started. Sorry I bought this-waste of my money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    JUNK

    Many of your reviewers have had the same complaint as I --- the game freezes after a couple moves. Two reviewers said an engine called cockatoo would solve the problem. What is cockatoo and how would a non-geek find and use it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2014

    2/1/2014 When you pay nothing you get nothing. Very slow, cons

    2/1/2014 When you pay nothing you get nothing. Very slow, constantly freezing even with the engine suggested earlier; TOOLS continually popup while game is in play. This isn't even worth $0.99!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1