Customer Reviews for

Chess Grandmaster

Average Rating 3
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Wow!

I read reviews b4 i purchased, should hav listened! Computer had me beat in less than ten moves every time! & here i thought i knew how 2 play! Lol! Great challenge! Good luck!

posted by 8318377 on June 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

57 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

Chess gamemaster

Too tough for beginners wishing to play offline, even at the lowest setting. Acer states that a future update will rectify this.

posted by Anonymous on March 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Chess gamemaster

    Too tough for beginners wishing to play offline, even at the lowest setting. Acer states that a future update will rectify this.

    57 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Wow!

    I read reviews b4 i purchased, should hav listened! Computer had me beat in less than ten moves every time! & here i thought i knew how 2 play! Lol! Great challenge! Good luck!

    39 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    This is probably one of the better chess games I have played on

    This is probably one of the better chess games I have played on a tablet.

    32 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Become a Chess Grandmaster

    A remarkable app because of the real life complexity it is able to replicate in the moves. My son and I are addicted to this app because of the challenge it presents. It will surely improve your game.

    31 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Sucks!

    This game is terrible! It is to.hard for beginners like me to win a single game even on lowest difficulty. I would rate zero if I could. Everyone out there that is reading this don't buy this game! It is a waste of time and money. B&N should start putting GOOD games on the nook. Click yes if you agree

    29 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Great Chess App

    I have been using this app to play chess with people all over the world. Its pretty cool!

    19 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Crashes routinely

    There are like two chess apps available for Nook. Both sub-par. Don't buy a Nook to run apps, I guess.

    17 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Crashes a lot

    Crashes a lot.

    16 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Solid Chess App

    I love playing this game. The computer is challenging and has helped me improve my game substantially.

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Jakedog88

    I love it

    15 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Unanimous

    Forecloses way to much way to hard for beginners

    14 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Hard but fun

    It will be very difficult for you to play if you do not know chess very well. I am one of the best chess players in my city and it was still hard to beat the computer. Hope this review is helpful.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Keeps closing!

    Beautiful looking app but it shuts down to much.

    10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Not the best

    There were better chess games available for the Nook color

    9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    My Nook froze as soon as I installed this app

    I installed this app on a brand new nook tablet and everything froze. First it asked me to sign in to a website that manages this app. I got a user name, password on my email account, then the nook froze. I can't get the nook to work. It remains frozen at 99% of something. Turn it off, turn it back on, same thing. I am returning this nook tablet to Best Buy for a refund. I am going to try to get my $1.05 back from Barnes & Noble, too!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    No fun at all.

    If you enjoy be beat in 5 moves no matter where you set it, this is the game for you. No fun at all and I never heard back when I submitted feedback.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Don't buy it.

    Two problems with this: 1. It's always shutting itself off 2. Even the lowest setting is way to hard for beginners. The computer always wins in just a few moves.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    In general l would say its a good program at the now cost of 99

    In general l would say its a good program at the now cost of 99 cents  on the nook
    .I have enjoyed  it  yes it does have a error message that reads  unfortunately chess has stopped but sometimes you can get  the game back. . if this message would bother you then do not buy it



    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Chess grandmaster

    I hated chess grandmaster it was horrible.

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    Great

    Realy hard but a nice challenge DO NOT BUY IF YOU ARE A BEGINER.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3