Customer Reviews for

Chestnut Street

Average Rating 3.5
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

You should definitely read this.

Every character in this book has one connection with all the others--they all live on Chestnut Street. That is the factor that runs through as the theme in each vignette.

As I was reading this I wondered if Maeve Binchy ever intended for this to be published. It i...
Every character in this book has one connection with all the others--they all live on Chestnut Street. That is the factor that runs through as the theme in each vignette.

As I was reading this I wondered if Maeve Binchy ever intended for this to be published. It is very different from her other works.

I miss her--no one else was quite the storyteller she was!

posted by 9881233 on May 16, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

I am very disappointed in this book. I am halfway through it an

I am very disappointed in this book. I am halfway through it and I don't think I will finish. It seems to be a group of ideas that Ms. Binchy had for books that she would like to write in the future. Sort of a storyboard, something she could refer to if she needed id...
I am very disappointed in this book. I am halfway through it and I don't think I will finish. It seems to be a group of ideas that Ms. Binchy had for books that she would like to write in the future. Sort of a storyboard, something she could refer to if she needed ideas. It is frustrating to get into the story she is telling just to have it end abruptly. It is like ordering a hamburger and only getting the roll --- no meat. Same thing is wrong with this book sorry to say.

posted by 17062573 on May 3, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2014

    Not my fav

    I feel like I purchased scraps from a writers diary. Each story had one theme infidelity...but with a different characters. Very boring. I had to force myself to finish.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2014

    I am very disappointed in this book. I am halfway through it an

    I am very disappointed in this book. I am halfway through it and I don't think I will finish. It seems to be a group of ideas that Ms. Binchy had for books that she would like to write in the future. Sort of a storyboard, something she could refer to if she needed ideas. It is frustrating to get into the story she is telling just to have it end abruptly. It is like ordering a hamburger and only getting the roll --- no meat. Same thing is wrong with this book sorry to say.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    You should definitely read this.

    Every character in this book has one connection with all the others--they all live on Chestnut Street. That is the factor that runs through as the theme in each vignette.

    As I was reading this I wondered if Maeve Binchy ever intended for this to be published. It is very different from her other works.

    I miss her--no one else was quite the storyteller she was!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2014

    Nice read, but not her best

    A sweet collection of stories, some of which are wonderful, others a little less. While I liked the stories the 'connection' they were to have on Chestnut Street really wasn't there. Maeve was so GREAT at interweaving characters and plot (Glass Lake, Copper Beach) that I was hoping for a similar interlocking of stories and characters, but that really did not happen. Nevertheless I was happy to have one more Binchy book. Thankfully, they all can be read over and over again.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2014

    Too disconnected

    Not the usual and not enjoyable reading.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2014

    Always loved reading Maeve Binchy. Started reading her books wh

    Always loved reading Maeve Binchy. Started reading her books when we were stationed in England. Sorry to read that she died. Her books are always a good read.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2014

    I absolutely loved this book! Bravo! 

    I absolutely loved this book! Bravo! 

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2014

    Chestnut Street is the final book by popular Irish author, Maeve

    Chestnut Street is the final book by popular Irish author, Maeve Binchy. It is a collection of thirty-six short stories, all with some relation to Chestnut Street, Dublin (just around the corner from St Jarlath’s Crescent, another address well-known to Binchy fans). Most of the stories have not been published previously, but some have a rather unfinished feel, as if they are the first chapter of a longer story. This idea is reinforced by the inclusion of the first chapter of Star Sullivan (a first chapter which promises more than the rather mediocre final version that was published as a Quick Reads story) and the first 3 chapters of The Builders (a wonderful piece of Binchy gold published in the Open Door series). There is a forward by Binchy’s husband, Gordon Snell, outlining her intentions with this collection. While Binchy fans will enjoy most of the stories, a few are decidedly unsatisfying, meaning that this collection is a bit of a mixed bag: most of the stories are true Maeve Binchy diamonds; a few are just stones. 

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    Anyone who enjoys reading Maeve Binchy will enjoy this book.

    The book is a series of short stories tied together by the addresses on Chestnut Street in Dublin. It is perfect for me at this time since I have small sections of time free for reading. I am able to read one or two stories at a time. The stories also have 'morals' or 'lessons'and the characters are interesting and varied.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    My favorite author.

    I realize that this is a collection of short stories more so than a full novel. She will be missed.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

     

     

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2014

    I have absolutely enjoyed this book, even though I'm not into bo

    I have absolutely enjoyed this book, even though I'm not into books of stories. Since I'll read anything Maeve wrote, I HAD to get this one, and I haven't been disappointed. I wish to thank her husband, Gordon Snell, for making sure this book was published, because we'd have missed out on some delightful stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2014

    I absolutely loved Maeve's other books and was sorry she had pas

    I absolutely loved Maeve's other books and was sorry she had passed. I read Chestnut Street, hoping for more of her lively characters and situations, but was totally unprepared for the animal abuse in one of the stories. I am sorry the editor included this. Every day I open the newspaper or see on line stories of horrific animal abuse. I don't need to read about it from my favorite author! I stopped reading the book after this story. Sorry fans, this is not the best of Maeve Binchy. I agree with another reviewer, the focus seems to follow one path, unfaithfulness. I would not recommend this novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    I dont recommend this at all! I always look forward to a new Ma

    I dont recommend this at all! I always look forward to a new Maeve Binchy book and was so disappointed with this book! It is a compilation of very short stories of about 5 pages or less and no revelance to the next story. It just reminds me of random thoughts. I do not recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    Not her best.

    I realize that these were ideas she had made and had never carried through in a book. Someone else put it together for her. After awhile each scenario became predictable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    Did not like

    I have loved this author's books but this one was not good ... I know that she passed and I wonder if someone else put this together

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2014

    Fair

    I really love all of her other books, this one did not hold my interest like the others, still a great author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2014

    This book was horribly disappointing.  I read and read waiting f

    This book was horribly disappointing.  I read and read waiting for the chapters to be pulled together in a story.  It never happened and I suit reading with about 50 pages left
    T.  Each chapter is about a family who lives in one of homes on Chestnut Street (husband is usually cheating on the wife).  Seldom was there anything uplifting or enjoyable to read about any of these families.  This really was an awful waste of paper & my time.  Not at all up to par for this author.  As someone wrote, felt like reading a writers notes.  Don't waste your time,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2014

    Interesting??? Didn't understand the premise until I was a few chapters in.

    This was actually a fun read, but because I didn't understand the premise I was a little lost at first. Once I realized what she was doing I actually enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2014

    Recommended for M. Binchy reader.

    I like her development of characters. And all are not beautiful and perfect.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4