Customer Reviews for

Chestnut Street

Average Rating 3.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

You should definitely read this.

Every character in this book has one connection with all the others--they all live on Chestnut Street. That is the factor that runs through as the theme in each vignette.

As I was reading this I wondered if Maeve Binchy ever intended for this to be published. It i...
Every character in this book has one connection with all the others--they all live on Chestnut Street. That is the factor that runs through as the theme in each vignette.

As I was reading this I wondered if Maeve Binchy ever intended for this to be published. It is very different from her other works.

I miss her--no one else was quite the storyteller she was!

posted by 9881233 on May 16, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

I am very disappointed in this book. I am halfway through it an

I am very disappointed in this book. I am halfway through it and I don't think I will finish. It seems to be a group of ideas that Ms. Binchy had for books that she would like to write in the future. Sort of a storyboard, something she could refer to if she needed id...
I am very disappointed in this book. I am halfway through it and I don't think I will finish. It seems to be a group of ideas that Ms. Binchy had for books that she would like to write in the future. Sort of a storyboard, something she could refer to if she needed ideas. It is frustrating to get into the story she is telling just to have it end abruptly. It is like ordering a hamburger and only getting the roll --- no meat. Same thing is wrong with this book sorry to say.

posted by 17062573 on May 3, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 22, 2014

    I absolutely loved this book! Bravo! 

    I absolutely loved this book! Bravo! 

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2014

     

     

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2014

    Chestnut Street First, attention Barnes and Noble: You need to u

    Chestnut Street
    First, attention Barnes and Noble: You need to update her bio on this page. Under “Meet the Author,” she is still alive; the Bio says, “Maeve and her husband still live in that same Dalkey cottage, where they share an office, writing side by side.” However as mentioned at the top of the page, she passed away in 2012. Back to the book: I originally chose a Nook book by Maeve Binchy because she was a favorite of my late mother’s. She quickly became a favorite of my own, as well. I admit that I’m normally used to heavier fare, and I hesitantly “put my toes into the water.” But Binchy’s gifted writing drew me into the true-to-life stories, and I felt that I knew the well-drawn characters. To me, these are the best kind of stories - neither pretentious nor sensationalistic; rather, they are slice-of-life tales with whom most of us can identify. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Highly recommended!!!

    I loved this book! I couldn't put it down. Each little story was great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    Highly recommend

    Any book by Maeve Binchy is a treat but, this one is even more special now that she has died. Love her short stories and these lived up to all her others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    Wonderful Book

    I feel like I'm really getting to know all about the families on Chestnut Street. I will definitely miss Maeve Binchy's wonderful ability to tell a story within a story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    True Maeve Binchy

    Chestnut Street is a true Maeve Binchy collection of her character‘s stories. I am so glad that her husband Gordon decided to publish this book. I own all of Maeve‘s books and miss her and her wonderful writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    This compendium of Binchy's stories is awesome!!

    I'm overwhelmed with the love and life lessons from her work. Whenever I feel depressed, her stories warm myheart and lift me up. I always come away with a lesson I can apply to my own life situations, which is a blessing as I grow older. THANK YOU MS. BINCHY FOR YOUR heartfelt writing!!

    Ursula Schuster
    San Jose, CA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Help.......;) Hi everyone, I gave this book 5 stars (all her boo

    Help.......;)
    Hi everyone, I gave this book 5 stars (all her books deserve 5 stars), but I have a question for you all:
    I read 5 first stories and am wondering if through the book these characters and their stories connect for one
    Reason or another?
    Thank you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    Wonderfully Real

    As are all of Maeve Binchy's books, this is a genuine gem containing characters that are all too human, but almost always lovable. You meet people who are interesting and real, dealing with life in the best way they can.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2014

    A grand finale

    I enjoyed getting to know the people on Chestnut Street. As with Maeve Binchy's other novels, I hated for it end. I will miss getting her new books (unless there are others in the closet). Binchy's storytelling will be greatly missed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    Highly recommended

    I have read Maeve Bincy since she started writing! I was so sorry when she died, thinking I would not be able to read any of her books again. Now out of the blue comes "Chestnut Street". This book is a combination of short stories, but they are all taking place in the neighborhood of Chestnut Street neighbors. Each one has an interesting story to tell. I have lived in my neighborhood for over 45 years and some of my neighbors are still here. So I can relate to this book. Please buy it or get it from the library and I know you will again love Maeve Binchy and her great story telling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    Delightful!

    Many thanks to Dearest Gordon (Snell, Ms. Binchy's husband, to whom she dedicated her many works) for sharing Chestnut Street. It is a thoroughly satisfying dose of her great talent for interweaving characters and vignettes in a neighborhood so endearing that one wants to pack up and move there tomorrow. Don't miss this jewel in the late Ms. Binchy's brilliant crown.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    I loved the book especially because it was Maeve Binchy's final

    I loved the book especially because it was Maeve Binchy's final gift to her readers. The story that stayed with me the most was of Bucket Maguire. There's a tinly little hole in my heart where Bucket has touched my soul. All the stories were great, but this one was my favorite. If only there were more people like Bucket, the world would be a better place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1