Customer Reviews for

Chew On This: Everything You Don't Want to Know About Fast Food

Average Rating 4.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Think Before You Chew

McDonald's has become the most powerful, popular, and potent fast food chain in the world. Their ubiquitous symbol, the golden arches, is now more widely recognized than the Christian cross. McDonald's spends more money on advertising and marketing than any other brand ...
McDonald's has become the most powerful, popular, and potent fast food chain in the world. Their ubiquitous symbol, the golden arches, is now more widely recognized than the Christian cross. McDonald's spends more money on advertising and marketing than any other brand of food to ensure than each and every American (especially small children) not only recognize the golden arches, but also associate them with clean, cheap, convenient food and skinny, laughter-filled, satisfied eaters. Food is the most common and important thing we ever purchase, but most people never think (literally) about what they buy to put in their mouths. How many diet plans include ways to avoid "mindless eating"? The food we eat plainly becomes part of us as soon as it enters our bodies so why is it that we don't know much about it-especially when it comes to fast food? Why is it that parents meticulously worry and think about every aspect of their child's life except what they are buying them for dinner after the little league baseball game?

Eric Schlosser believes that when it comes to fast-food, there is a simple answer, "the companies that sell fast food don't want you to think about it. They don't want to know where it comes from or how it's made. They just want you to buy it" (3). His purpose for writing this book is to have open and honest documentation of the where's, how's and when's of fast food so that younger consumers (Chew on This is geared toward a younger audience whereas Fast Food Nation toward adults) can make educated food choices and know exactly what they are putting in their bodies. The answers aren't pretty, but they are painstakingly researched and written in an interesting, "gross-young-readers-out" style that will leave you wishing this book were in the fiction section.
"Ewww don't tell me, I don't want to know!" so says most fast food eaters when Chew on This or Fast Food Nation is mentioned. But, how many of those "not-want-to-knowers" would say those same words when a doctor was getting ready to explain what he was injecting into them or their child? Americans expect, and even demand, to be informed about almost every aspect of their lives from the new government health care proposal to every minuscule mineral in their child's Fred Flintstone Vitamin. Parents have the ability to keep in contact with their teenager at any given time via texting, calling, skyping, emailing, facebooking, myspacing, chatting, etc.-they even have the ability to trace the exact location of their child through a mobile GPS device. However, if the quadrants showed their teenager pulling into the local McDonald's, they would be oblivious to real physical safety of their equally unaware, still-growing and developing child. Chew on This will open your eyes and close your mouth to your daily fast food fix. Even though you might not want to know, the truth is that you need to know. Then, like in all other aspects of our lives, make an informed decision about eating that next box of "chicken" McNuggets or feeding them morsel by greasy, edible pasted, fried, frozen, reheated, hormoned, morsel to your child while she distractedly walks her latest Disney figurine across the porous playground table top.

posted by MsMillion on April 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Seriously? Oh yeah, only fast food chains do these sorts of thin

Seriously? Oh yeah, only fast food chains do these sorts of things, not other restaurants or companies that supply food-meat- to people. I would use this book as an example of how we need to refine our critical thinking skills. This book has many great points, but the p...
Seriously? Oh yeah, only fast food chains do these sorts of things, not other restaurants or companies that supply food-meat- to people. I would use this book as an example of how we need to refine our critical thinking skills. This book has many great points, but the premise is oversimplified. The other things I find disturbing is that sit down restaurant food is often more unhealthy than some fast food. Just look at the nutrition information for a few regular sit down chain restaurants and see what I mean.

posted by 2884740 on January 28, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Think Before You Chew

    McDonald's has become the most powerful, popular, and potent fast food chain in the world. Their ubiquitous symbol, the golden arches, is now more widely recognized than the Christian cross. McDonald's spends more money on advertising and marketing than any other brand of food to ensure than each and every American (especially small children) not only recognize the golden arches, but also associate them with clean, cheap, convenient food and skinny, laughter-filled, satisfied eaters. Food is the most common and important thing we ever purchase, but most people never think (literally) about what they buy to put in their mouths. How many diet plans include ways to avoid "mindless eating"? The food we eat plainly becomes part of us as soon as it enters our bodies so why is it that we don't know much about it-especially when it comes to fast food? Why is it that parents meticulously worry and think about every aspect of their child's life except what they are buying them for dinner after the little league baseball game?

    Eric Schlosser believes that when it comes to fast-food, there is a simple answer, "the companies that sell fast food don't want you to think about it. They don't want to know where it comes from or how it's made. They just want you to buy it" (3). His purpose for writing this book is to have open and honest documentation of the where's, how's and when's of fast food so that younger consumers (Chew on This is geared toward a younger audience whereas Fast Food Nation toward adults) can make educated food choices and know exactly what they are putting in their bodies. The answers aren't pretty, but they are painstakingly researched and written in an interesting, "gross-young-readers-out" style that will leave you wishing this book were in the fiction section.
    "Ewww don't tell me, I don't want to know!" so says most fast food eaters when Chew on This or Fast Food Nation is mentioned. But, how many of those "not-want-to-knowers" would say those same words when a doctor was getting ready to explain what he was injecting into them or their child? Americans expect, and even demand, to be informed about almost every aspect of their lives from the new government health care proposal to every minuscule mineral in their child's Fred Flintstone Vitamin. Parents have the ability to keep in contact with their teenager at any given time via texting, calling, skyping, emailing, facebooking, myspacing, chatting, etc.-they even have the ability to trace the exact location of their child through a mobile GPS device. However, if the quadrants showed their teenager pulling into the local McDonald's, they would be oblivious to real physical safety of their equally unaware, still-growing and developing child. Chew on This will open your eyes and close your mouth to your daily fast food fix. Even though you might not want to know, the truth is that you need to know. Then, like in all other aspects of our lives, make an informed decision about eating that next box of "chicken" McNuggets or feeding them morsel by greasy, edible pasted, fried, frozen, reheated, hormoned, morsel to your child while she distractedly walks her latest Disney figurine across the porous playground table top.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    Seriously? Oh yeah, only fast food chains do these sorts of thin

    Seriously? Oh yeah, only fast food chains do these sorts of things, not other restaurants or companies that supply food-meat- to people. I would use this book as an example of how we need to refine our critical thinking skills. This book has many great points, but the premise is oversimplified. The other things I find disturbing is that sit down restaurant food is often more unhealthy than some fast food. Just look at the nutrition information for a few regular sit down chain restaurants and see what I mean.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Amazing!

    We read this in my English class and it is phenomenal everyone in the class loved it. I would recomend it to all ages

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    Something to think about

    This book definately gives you something to think about before you eat your next fast food meal or put something in your grocery cart. The content of the book is centered around foods that you would typically encounter in the fast food industry including the potatoes and beef, but many of the things you learn about fast food roll over into the food production industry as well.
    The book opens with the history of fast food and that in itself is an interesting section. It is interesting how fast food developed from drive ins that used real silverware and glasses with carhops to a walk up restaurant that is what we are familiar with today. It is also interesting to see the development of McDonald's alongside Disney World. It was also interesting to see how the original owners of McDonalds ended up losing out when they sold the rights to their idea.
    It is amazing how that one restaurant has shaped the modern food industry and turned into a manufacturing machine that doesn't consider the animals it produces or the people who work hard to make the food we eat. It is also an eye opening look at the amount of control just a few business have on our food and the influence they have on Congress.
    The book is well written and doesn't get bogged down in facts, but has the research and data to back up the message. I suggest it for anyone who eats out on a regular basis or for the person who does the lion's share of grocery shopping for a household.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    Highly Recommended!

    In the bestselling book, ¿Chew On This,¿ authors Eric Schlosser and Charles Wilson unmask what really lies in the fast food industry- secrets that many restaurant chains wish not to reveal. This book highlights different aspects of fast food, such as its history, the way it attracts children, the way fries are made, the negative effects of soda, the way animals are turned into meat at slaughterhouses, the customers, and the expansion of different restaurant chains. While sharing stunning facts about the fast food, Schlosser and Wilson intend on creating awareness in people and to persuade ordinary citizens to put less money (and therefore power) into the fast food industry. I liked it how the authors did great research and used great word choice, as well as provide real-life examples as to how fast food affected everyday people. However, I disliked it when the writers used McDonald¿s as a prime example; there were probably many other restaurants that had the same issue, and the authors could have been a little more specific and provide evidence that all of fast food has its issues. ¿Chew on This¿ is a great novel for any given person to read, because a lot of people are unaware exactly how many negatives fast food has. Overall, this is a great book to read because it reveals how fast food industries go about doing their business, and the many dangers that lie within it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2009

    Chew on This - RRMCeng4-4

    "Chew on This" is an eye-opener into the world of fast food. As Schlosser promises, he showed me everything I did not want to know about fast food. The book made me look at my own dining habits, and then showed me why I should reform them. What I enjoyed about the book was that it had a great flow, from page to page, chapter to chapter, and that Schlosser didn't brutally slant the information he gave with his own feelings. Of course, his negative feelings toward fast food industries were evident in the pages, but the book seemed to present the information, and allowed me to make up my own mind on whether eating (literally) crap was something I should continue to do. I also liked that "Chew on This" was edgy enough to make me pay attention, but not too disgusting to make me put the book down. Schlosser does a great job of revealing the aspects of fast food I had never considered or questioned, like its roots, brutal effects on Native Americans, or the number of chemicals in one ingredient of a milk shake. I definitely recommend this book to anybody looking to become informed about what they are eating every time they step under the golden arches.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    highly recommended fast food expose

    This book is well written, factual, and flows well -- but not so cluttered with research that you won't enjoy it. After reading how the fast food industry has evolved, I feel angered and betrayed by their greed and selfishness in exploiting our taste buds. They really have no feeling for the people they are enticing and the eventual health problems fast food produces; they just want to make money. The really sad thing is the way they have targeted children in their quest for wealth.
    You definitely should read this so that you know why all that fast food tastes so good and so similar.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Yes

    T

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Help plz

    Do any of u have any tips for losing weight quick? thx

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    This proves my life!

    I actually NEVER eat fast food. And k refuse to. Its not heathly AT ALL. My step dad wants to eat it all the time. And i hate it. Hes all like" its liams birthday and we got kicked oout of the house for 3 hours, so we have no time at all! Must eat MCdonalaods! Yeah i dont even care how to spell it. I rate this five stars! Better then most ones, because it has a pooint. Oops i did 2 os on point. The right way is point. I really have a bone to pic with most fast food places. Mostley because my step dad wanys to make us unheathy fat jerks! Ugg i hate him! Anyway i wont even eat sonic, the inside is like bugar king. When i ws littke some how i was willing to get fat! And i called it booger king! And ruby be like"gurll why u akin so cra cra
    ? When i totally was. But i was so cute and chubbyish in 2008! Omg i had these bangs. And they rocked! If u ask me ide tell u twulight is a donut! And im dumb... hope u had happy school! Or summer wth i dont care

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2010

    A Fast Food Nation

    This book is all about fast-food and how it has changed our history and economy throughout time. If you are interested in finding about the truth of fast-food, such as where it comes from, and what is really in it, then you will find this book very intriguing. I couldn't stop reading. I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Disgusting

    This book is part of the reason i'm a vegetariaan. Do with that as you may.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    Someone

    This book is good really good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    horrible

    Lies hambuger good for you

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    Really Interesting

    Great book for fast food eaters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Hello

    Very Good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Intresting

    I had to read this for school and it is very good i recomend it (-:

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Amazing

    I read the free sample it was amazing!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    To below

    This book is the best. It gives you great information about fast food restaurants and the history about it. This is one of my books for my 8th grade summer eading books. Let me know how the book is. I strongly recommend this book for you. Worth it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Need this book help

    Hey i need to read this for my summer reading homework for 7th grade. There are other book options but is this book worth it. How many pages are there? Please help

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3