Customer Reviews for

Chi Running: A Revolutionary Approach to Effortless, Injury-Free Running

Average Rating 3.5
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Not Your Run of the Mill Running Book

    What an interesting running book! Buy this book if you: <BR/><BR/>-would like to be able to run well into your old age <BR/>-would like to improve your running form and have fewer injuries <BR/>-would like to have a more philosophical approach to your running <BR/>-would like to increase your overall health <BR/><BR/>Here's how the book roughly pans out: <BR/><BR/>-Chapter 1: compares power running to ChiRunning <BR/>-Chapter 2: goes into the 5 principles upon which TaiChi and ChiRunning are based <BR/>-Chapter 3: gets into the "inner" skills of ChiRunning <BR/><BR/>As you can see, the first 3 chapters lay out the philosopical foundation- that's so when you get to the specific techniques, they make sense. <BR/><BR/>Chaper 4: learn about the ChiRunning "focuses"- which are the specific physical and mental methods used to run more efficiently. <BR/><BR/>Chapters 5-9: covers program development, peak performance training and diet. Note: Chapter 7 also covers some info on common injuries such as muscle cramps, plantar fasciitis (also rec. The 5-Minute Plantar Fasciitis Solution for more info on this), heel cord problems. <BR/><BR/>Chapter 10: how to incorporate the ChiRunning principles into your everyday life <BR/><BR/>As you can tell, ChiRunning, with its mind-body approach, is far from your typical book on running- and shouldn't be missed by any serious runner. Happy trails.

    19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    Chi running will make a runner out of you

    I have never enjoyed running and always seen it as a necessary evil for weight management and payback for eating good food. And the common running method, power running, is painful and leaves you gasping for air. I had no idea there was another way. Chi running introduces an efficient and painless alternative. Is that possible?

    The first few chapters are philosophical. It may test your patience, but go with it. You need to understand why and how the techniques work and why it is a better way to run. You will get to the more pratical exercises and instructions, but first you need to understand why power running creates injuries in order to motivate change.

    This book explains how running can be more than just exercise. Similar to yoga, it trains you to relax and release tension. Your efficiency and injury prevention depend on it. Running can be a practice; a meditation. The book does a great job of explaining why and how to get there. It's easy to follow and an interesting read.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    Non-Runner here... tai chi person :)

    I've been doing tai chi for over 12 years and just started jogging around the park for exercise when I picked up this book. I was looking for something to guide me so I would run "properly" and not get hurt being that I have a small history of a small knee issue. I'm really glad I came upon THIS book instead of some other one, and was even a bit shocked to find the two things related, and VERY happy about it.

    From the tai chi side of things, it's exactly in line with everything I've ever been taught and taught to others. That right there was enough for me to think "wow, maybe I can actually like running!"

    I love the book in every way, but I do have to admit I felt a little "left out" when reading it. It's from the perspective of someone who's been running a long time, and is pretty much aimed at people who have been running a long time and already have a different way of running ingrained. I never even heard the term "power running".... which is probably good I guess.... on the other hand I skimmed through a lot of the tai chi posture stuff because i already know it. So... although I did a lot of skipping, the bits I am using I am using well, over & over...

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Buy the paper copy!

    Love this book but now I've bought it twice! You need easy and quick access to the chapters and reference pages. If you want this book, which you should, buy the paper copy. And if you don't know if this is really the running book for you-let me repeat myself-I have 2 copies now! I am running faster, with less work and less pain. Didn't know if I would be a "runner" but now I can't get enough! Hope this helps.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    As I read this amazing book, I apply each step to my running and I've already seen improvements. I ran a 10 mile race and finished with a personal best after just applying a few of the techniques from CHI Running! Thank you Danny Dreyer!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Pain free running!!!

    it changed the way I run and it works!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    An excellent place to start before you begin your first run

    A co-worker recommended this book and I decided to give it a try as it was not too expensive. This book is an amazing read for anyone who has decided to take up running on a regular basis. I have read other books and magazine articles and they usually end up making running way too complex and all about strength and power. This book takes a different approach. There is no regimen to follow; it attempts to get your fundamentals right. I have lead a sedentary life until now and just started to walk/run. This book did not scare me away but has motivated me by making running look simple. My friend who is planning to run his first half marathon and is part of a running group/clinic found this book helpful. He noted improvements in his running after he followed 2 of the suggested steps to get the basics right.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    Best buy

    My bad I see the photographs. Look for them before let's go running. Skip my review below. 229 pages

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Recommend to me - now I HIGHLY recommend to you!

    BEST investment I ever made in regards to running. I have been running for quite a few years and thought I knew how to run...after just the first few chapters of this book I realized I was doing it all wrong. This book really helped me think about every aspect of how I have been running and to run better. I am now training for a half marathon and I feel so energized everytime I run - even when it's 10 degrees out. I smile more and feel like it's less of an effort.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Chi Walking

    I have been trying to learn this technique and the book was very helpful. It is informative and funny at the same time.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Most useful tool for running

    This book is by far the best I've read regarding running. Simple and logical. This should be bought and read before you buy any other book about running technique.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2008

    Not Your 'Run' of the Mill Running Book

    What an interesting running book! Buy this book if you:..... -would like to be able to run well into your old age -would like to improve your running form and have fewer injuries -would like to have a more philosophical approach to your running -would like to increase your overall health..... Here's how the book roughly pans out:..... -Chapter 1: compares power running to ChiRunning -Chapter 2: goes into the 5 principles upon which TaiChi and ChiRunning are based -Chapter 3: gets into the 'inner' skills of ChiRunning. As you can see, the first 3 chapters lay out the philosopical foundation- that's so when you get to the specific techniques, they make sense..... Chaper 4: learn about the ChiRunning 'focuses'- which are the specific physical and mental methods used to run more efficiently..... Chapters 5-9: covers program development, peak performance training and diet. Note: Chapter 7 also covers some info on common injuries such as muscle cramps, plantar fasciitis 'also rec. The 5-Minute Plantar Fasciitis Solution for more info on this', heel cord problems..... Chapter 10: how to incorporate the ChiRunning principles into your everyday life..... As you can tell, with its mind-body approach, this is far from your typical book on running- and shouldn't be missed by any serious runner. Happy trails.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2007

    A top 10 running book.

    I have been running for over 7 years. The first years I dealt with severe knee pains which I attributed to an old sport injury. After reading the book and relearning how to run I have complete 5 marathons and no long have to limp my way back to the car. A must read if you deal with any knee pain

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2006

    Learn to run injury free

    This is an amazing book and running technique. It is a must read for all runners, experienced and begining. This book WILL save you from being one of the 65% of runners who are injured every year! I have been running using this program for several years. This technique was developed based on simple observations of what works, what doesn't and what running with nature/physics can do for you...oh its also based on a couple thousand years of ancient wisdom too.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2005

    Injury Prevention

    A must read for all runners. Well written and to the point. Gives readers a deeper understanding of the mind body awarness while training. Good for all distance runners and sprinters at all levels of conditioning.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2