Customer Reviews for

Chicago [The Miramax Motion Picture Soundtrack]

Average Rating 4.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My own Cell-Block Tango

    I saw the musical (on stage)before I saw the movie. (About...no! Exactly 2 weeks ago) And I fell in love with the music. My personal favorite is #4

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Cell Block Tango

    This is a good cd. we think that the carmel high school verson of cell block tango is better though.Wes is HOTTTT!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Six Merry Murderesses in their Remiditon of CHICAGO

    This rocks! I've seen the movie twice and I recomend this to anyone who loves Catherine, Renee, and Richard. Trust me, you won't be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing Movie and Soundtrack

    I got this soundtrack as a gift for my birthday and i have not stopped listening to it. What an amazing movie and the soundtrack I had no idea Catherine Zeta-Jones, Renee Zellweger or Richard Gere had so much talent. WOW is all I can say. Buy it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It's Stuck in my CD Player!

    It's been stuck in my CD player (not literally) since I bought it in January, and that's a good thing! Catherine Zeta-Jones has the best voice, but all the other songs are equally well done. It's all that jazz and more!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best Musical of the 21st century!!

    This is the best soundtrack i have ever had!! My friends, their mom, their moms friend and i love to listen to this cd in the car. We all sing along to it and have fun!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Better than the original!

    It's unbelievable but even though this version is sung by amateurs it is by far better than the broadway original recording. Contrary to other opinions, I have to say that this recording is MORE uplifting and upbeat than the broadway version. No one can sing "When You're Good To Mama" better than Queen Latifah. In my opinion the broadway production has too much "1920's twang" which I don't care for. A diehard musical fan would probably say that is exactly what makes it better, but it just doesn't resonate well in my ears and make me want to get up and sing like the movie version.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fun C.D.

    This is the most fun c.d. I have gotten in a while. You will definitely be beltin it out with this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AMAZING

    This is a great soundtrack and movie. This movie is a spectacular ,example of amazing talent from Cathrine Zeta-Jones,Renee Zellweger,and Richard Gere

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    John C. Reilly was memorable!

    Loved the movie and the music: Was captivated, and a neat surprise was when John came on to sing "Mister Cellophane" with his marvelous voice, felt that I was right in the front row at the live theater.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Razzle Dazzle!

    I bought the soundtrack before I saw the movie, and I fell in love with the music. When I went to go see the movie I couldn't help but sing along. The songs on this album are really great. Renee Zellweger, Catherine Zeta Jones, and Richard Gere really out did themselves! I had no idea they could sing. However, what really shocked me was the fact that John C. Reilly could sing. After listening to the this soundtrack and seeing the movie. You can see why this has Oscar winner written all over it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Chicago is a great soundtrack if you like music from the 20's of if you like swing or jazz.

    The soundtrack for Chicago is great, it's great to dance to, or just to listen. It is one of my favorite cds and is worth the money, but as always I suggest that you listen to it befor you buy it, just incase you don't like it. I also suggest, that if you like the soundtrack, you should go see the movie. Just remember that there is a reason that it's rated PG13.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    gooood stuff

    every song makes you wanna break out in costume and dance!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WOW

    the movie was great and the music better!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Music,music,music

    This cd has the best songs ever. The people who sing them are outstanding with their performances. The movie itself is amazing. If I could I would give this cd and movie 7,000 grammys.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome recording

    I bought the cd after seeing the film, the day after I was dumped(I was dumped on Valentines day). The Cell Block Tango cheered me up. The cast can actually sing which makes the recording all the more enjoyable. Queen Latifah is awesome as are Zeta-Jones(a london musicaltheatre veteran), Zelweger, and Gere (also a musical theatre vet.) is superb.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WOW this is great musical!

    I finally saw it last night, and I was blown away, this musical was SO much better than Moulin Rouge. The best song I like is "Cell Block Tango", and "I Can't Do It Alone". I find Renee and Cathrine for not singing before pulled it off nicely. I am planning to by this cd, and I hope it wins most of the Oscars this year!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GREAT MUSIC! GREAT MOVIE!

    Flashy, trashy, hot, cool and just way too much fun! I like when actors take chances and Zellweger and Zeta-Jones surprised me. Gere's the weakest vocally, but then again, he's just playing a smarmy lawyer so what can one expect? The rap version of Cell Block Tango and Anatacia's Love is a Crime don't really belong here, IMHO. Instead, Queen Latifah should put out an album of Broadway tunes. Man, can she belt out a song! Just an overall great CD to get you going in the morning!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One word... SPECTACULAR!

    This movie and soundtrack are unbelievable! I loved every bit of it! I would reccommend it to anyone who likes funny, cute songs! I would definitly give it a 10(for the surprise of how good the singing was!)!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    it's great

    When i first saw chicago i was amazed at how well Catherine Zeta Jones,Renee Zellweger and Richard Gere all carried of there singing. When I bought the album I was even more astounded to see that (among a lot of other people) 3 actors could sing so well. This is by far one of the best movies and movie soundtracks ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2