Customer Reviews for

Chicken Soup for the Grieving Soul: Stories about Life, Death and Overcoming the Loss of a Loved One

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    heart warming

    I just recently lost my grandfather on December 9th, 2011 and have been feeling not in the Christmas spirit. My birthday is on December 18th and I felt like things were not supposed to happen to me around this time. It is supposed to be a time of celebration and joy. Reading this book has put me at ease and made me realize that my grandfather would not have wanted me feeling this way. This book is an inspiration.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    i may be

    reading this book if annonymous would quit leaving messages all over the place about another book or at least tell us who u r. u probably r the one that wrote the book and are trying to sell the book, but you r making it hard for u to decide on whether this book would be a good reader. thank u for listening.maggievp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This Book Is Well Deserving Of Praise!

    I simply love the Chicken Soup series of books. They are worth every moment spent reading each page. I'd also recommend that you buy "When God Stopped Keeping Score," another great book, which takes an eye opening look at forgiveness, especially when dealing with loss. Given the chance, it will change your life. It did that for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Good Gift For Those Who Have Lost A Loved One

    I can't even begin to do the Chicken Soup For The Soul series justice by trying to write a simple review for any of the books in the series. I have read so many of these books that we'd be here all day for me just to give you the names of the ones that I have read. Furthermore, I have given countless others away as gifts to family and friends. All I can say is that each book is everything that I expected and more. I would definitely recommend any one of the books in this series for you and/or someone that you love.

    For anyone who feels bound by their anger, guilt, hurt or pain, I also recommend "When God Stopped Keeping Score." I thought that "When God Stopped Keeping Score" was just about overcoming forgiveness, I soon learned, it was about so much more than that. The author actually pulls back the curtain to his own life, to offer an intimate look at the true power of forgiveness and reveals the emotional price that you must be willing to pay to live without it.

    All of this, while still offering up interesting and often tear worthy stories that showed you just how you should deal with friends, family and more importantly, yourself when things do go wrong. The author more importantly reveals the key to keeping these relationships strong even in the face of adversity. Read the story of the father, the son and the bible.

    Having read it, I feel like a better person. Maybe that's because this book spoke to me and not down to me. I have read a lot of books that was written like I didn't know anything. What the author of "When God Stopped Keeping Score" does is talk to you like a friend. I needed that. You will understand why when you read it for yourself. It is on sale here on BN.com.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    A perfect gift

    When someone passes, words are always hard to come by. This book is a perfect gift for someone who is suffering the loss of a loved one. Wonderful and inspirational stories that can lift anyone's spirit!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    Just what I needed

    I found this book very inspiring and hopeful. The short stories and experiences of others made me realize that I am not alone. It has been more helpful than some long drawn out bereavement books. I wished there was more and didn't want the book to end. I'll probably read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2004

    A good book if you're grieving

    The short stories included are easy to get through, and help to put death and grieving events into perspective. Many of the stories are uplifting. It's clear that these writers identify with the many facets of grief. I read this book nearly a year after my Mom passed away, and it really helped me. I received it as a gift. I highly recommend it--it's my first Chicken Soup book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2