BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Chicken Soup for the Kid's Soul: 101 Stories of Courage, Hope and Laughter for Kids Ages 8-12

Average Rating 4.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    I really liked all of the storys!! I have a lot of favorites. I think that the storys can relate to real life easily!! I am going to try to read all of the Chicken Soup books!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2005

    Inspiring Kids

    I really liked this book beacuse of the inspiring stories it offered.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2001

    By kids, for kids!

    The series of Chicken Soup books has held my attention since their first publication. Perhaps this is one of the most important books in the series. The stories will also help everyone realize that life is a journey. The words will inspire you to dream, to be more positive, and to realize you are not alone. When you purchase this book, think of it as a life enriching tool. The topics of love, friendship, family, attitude, perspective, death, dreams, obstacles, choices, tough stuff and eclectic wisdom are discussed in stories, poems and passages. The stories are short enough so you could read one a day. There are also funny cartoons, poems and plenty of 'kid' wisdom. I give this book my highest recommendation. I think even adults should read some of the stories in this book. The poem a child wrote about her father is something every parent should read. I was also impressed with the health advice and section on making the right choices. The positive lessons you can learn from this book will last a lifetime. My favorite poem was on page 293, it truly holds the wisdom of a child. We have so much to learn from children, if we will take the time to listen.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2002

    Don't be a chicken just read it!

    Chicken Soup for the Kids' Soul is a great book. I haven't read the whole book but I read a lot of it. So I think you should really read it if you want. It's not like a chapter book-it has lots of stories. Don't get choked up on the first chapter it's kind of sad. I gave it 5 stars out of 5. Good luck and have fun!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2002

    It was very enjoyable.

    It had a girl that lost her horse and cried to get her horse back. Her dad bought her a new one but, she wanted her old one back.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2000

    WOW!!!

    This Book is Amazing!!I laughed!I cried! I Smiled!I'm glad they made a Chicken Soup book for kids.They have Chicken Soup books for like seven year olds but none my age.I'm ten years old.I can't wait untill Chicken Soup for the Pre-Teens Soul comes out this October

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2000

    Kids will love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book is one of my favorites! It is a book of heartwarming stories of friendship and love. It is a good nightly richual and kids will love it as a bedtime story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2000

    I love this book!!!!

    I have this book and it is the best one I have ever read. It hastons of stories that make me cry and make me laugh.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2000

    This book teaches many things.

    I love this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2000

    The best book ever

    in this book you find storys that make you cry & happy. in some storys you are connected in ways to these people.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    Bhvjv

    Good book it is great for when your feeling down or just want something to lift your spirits. Kids read this and they feel like there not alone with theyre problems. I would give this book 1000+ stars if i could.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Chicken Soup for the Kid's Soul

    Amazing. The chicken suop that makes you feel great.

    8U++3Rf7y

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    You HabeTo Buy It!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    cool

    o.k......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    Inspirational, Heartfelt and Thought Provoking

    What can I say? My 10 year old daughter loves this book and goes back to it again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2008

    A reviewer

    Chicken Soup for a Kid's Soul gives the readers a chance to actually think about other people's feelings and hopes. It is not like normal books, where you buy them and the book has one topic. This book has many different stories to learn from. For example, one book is about a good friend dying, another great story is about an old man giving away his puppy. This book has many different stories written and published by children all in one big fat book. The book has 101 different stories, including poems and comics. I would put some of my stories in that book. Plus, the kids get to split a portion of the money that is made from the book's sales. The many authors are trying to give messages to the reader, like everything can't forever, treat people how you want to be treated, be kind, and many other lessons. I LOVE this book. It has taught me many things. Everyone should read this book, because of the amazing stories written by children their own age. I hope they publish a Chicken Soup for a Child's Soul 4.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2005

    A wonderful, Inspirational Book, Great for kids of all ages!

    It's wonderful that we children have a chicken soup book to guide us in life, and to help us through the tough things. Every child should have a copy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2004

    Inspired stories by good kids.

    When I read this when I was younger, I enjoyed reading stories by kids my age! I could relate to the young children's stories and it helped me enjoy life more. I recommend it for kids (and adults!) of ANY age!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2004

    get thus book heres a poem In the book

    Dare rap when you smoke it's no joke smoking turns your lungs black and causes you to hack if you go ahead and smoke you are going to croak if you smoke pot your brain will rot when you drink beer you cant think clear when you drink booze your brain will snooze if you take a drug you turn in to a slug if you get high you might try to fly and you will die so if you go to a party be a smarty listen to my voice make the right choice if you never drink and drive you have a good chance of staying alive! Thats in this book get it for your kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2002

    KIDS!

    this is the first book i read in chicken soup and i like it so much that i brought another one an ever sence that book i been reading them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3