Customer Reviews for

Chicken Soup for the Pet Lover's Soul: Stories about Pets as Teachers, Healers, Heroes and Friends

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2005

    Touching and From The Heart

    there was a lot of stories in this book that made me cry, even when I stopped reading. some of the stories were completely heartwrenching, others were so wonderful I smiled and felt very content with the outcome. Pet Lovers, this book is a must!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2004

    I cried, it was so good...

    I saw this book at Barnes & Noble and bought it because I love animals. Oh my gosh, I cried when I read it, it was so good! If you are an animal lover at heart, you will find yourself reading these heartwarming stories again and again, and never tiring of them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2002

    The Best Selling Book Ever

    This is a book about how pets can teach you lessons that you will never learn from anyone else. The short stories will enlighten your view on animals.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Love this book

    This book showed me that I am not alone in the love that I feel for my animals. They are an extension of my family. These stories made me laugh, cry and think...I have read them over and over and over. I have my favorites, but I cannot get enough of this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2006

    Chicken Soup for the Pet Lover's Soul: Stories about Pets as Teachers, Healers, Heroes and Friends

    I read this book not long after my dog died. It helped me understand how to let go but not forget, and to except that God has a plan and isn't abandoning me. I didn't feel so bad when Taylor(my dog) was brought up.Chicken Soup for the Pet Lover's Soul helps pet lovers understand their best friends better!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2006

    Chicken Soup for the Pet Lover's Soul: Stories about Pets as Teachers, Healers, Heroes and Friends

    This book really teaches pet lovers about their companions, from monkeys to dogs, cats to horses, toads to dolphins, it shows them a side of animals they've never seen before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2005

    For any pet loving people

    This is the best book in the world!! I'm on my 4th time reading it. I rembemer the first time reading, 4th grade, reading time, I still read even though i'm only in the 6th grade! If you love your pet or don't have one, this is still the book for you!******

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2002

    Will touch pet lovers everywhere

    Chicken Soup for the Pet Lover's Soul was a great book for pet lovers. In two days I read all of it. It has touching stories, both to make you laugh and cry. It tells us that animals are one of the best parts within us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2002

    **Clearly a strong passion is shown for animals in this book.**

    There are some books it feels like homework to read. Other books, like Chicken Soup, you wish could go on a little longer. Chicken Soup for the Pet Lover's soul is one of a kind. While other Pet books try to capture the love of our companions, this book clearly does it the best. Not only does it warm your heart, make you laugh, make you cry, and make you smile - but it makes you remember that as one of our companions on earth - our pets need to be taken care of. If you're a pet lover, or just someone trying to find a good book - then I think you've just found the jackpot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2002

    If you Like Stories about Animals...

    If you love animal stories then this is the book for you. Chicken Soup for the Pet Lover¿s Soul has stories about love, pets as teachers, pets as healers, celebrating the bond, amazing animals, on companionship, saying goodbye, and petcetera. These stories really bring you into the stories. You can almost picture the things that they say. One reason I would recommend this book is because the language used brings you into the story. When you are reading a book it is nice to be able to picture what is going on am I right? Of course I¿m right. That is what makes this book so great. You can actually picture what is going on. Some books you can¿t get that with but this is a book where you can picture what is going on in your head. The second reason I would recommend this book is because the stories will make you laugh and cry. Some of the stories are touching like the one at the beginning of the book where the old lady who has just lost her husband receives a dog on Christmas that was sent from him. Her husband had purchased the dog before it had been born and he wanted it delivered to her on Christmas. He knew he was going to die and he didn¿t want to leave his wife alone so he sent her someone to keep her company. The third reason I would recommend this book is for the fact that you can relate to at least one of the stories in this book because almost everyone has had a pet in the past or currently. So you can truly relate to how these people feel about their pets. If you are looking for a book that makes you laugh and cry at times, then this is definitely the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2001

    If you love your pet...

    If you love your pet, you'll love this book. The stories capture how important pets are in our lives. My whole famiy has read it. I'm writing stories about my own pet with the help of a journaling book, The Book of My Pet. I don't want to forget the special connection my animal and I share.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2001

    Animal Lover's Beware!

    This book will make you laugh and cry. If you have ever loved an animal you have to read this book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2001

    Absolutely Amazing Animals

    It was an excellent book.All those who love animals as much as I do(a lot)will enjoy the heart warming stories about amazing animals and there owners.Your sure to love it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2000

    BEST TEACHER, I LEARNED A LOT

    I'm an animal lover, I even made a club that loves animals. I bought this book and I read it over and over again and I never got bored of it once! It taught me a lot and I felt myself expressing the same sadness, happiness, and anger. It is an outstanding book, and I would like all of you to read it. Especially people who love animals like me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2000

    These books are all the **GREATEST!!***

    I olove all the Chicken soup book, especially the Teenage Soul Books. And journal

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2000

    I Loved It!

    This book kept me reading. It has tons of stories that made me laugh, cry, and really appriciate the love that animals give. I would reccomend that everyone read it, especially those of you who are animal lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2000

    Wow!

    Great stories! I love them! Great Books, all of them. I'm an animal lover, this is a book I look at everyday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2000

    Great Book!!!!

    Every one of the chicken soup books are great. They are all touching and inspiring. I am definately an animal lover by heart. I have 2 dogs, a chinchilla, 3 cats, and a hedgehog. Animals are much more loving, caring and forgiving than people because they depend on you and love you unconditionally. (p.s. and they don't talk)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2000

    Defenite Reader!

    this book is a great reader for people all ages!lots of these stories are heart warming!Lots of the stories really made me think about my pets and other animals around me!I'm sure lots of the stories would make people think twice about getting that puppy that there family member wanted(In a good way!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2