Customer Reviews for

Chicken Soup for the Teenage Soul on Tough Stuff: Stories of Tough Times and Lessons Learned

Average Rating 4.5
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2006

    Suicide Attemp but Lived

    Hi my name is Brittany, I live in North Platte, Nebraska. I used to live in Valentine ,Nebraska untill we moved here to North Platte about a month ago. I was telling my mom and grandma that i wanted to move back to Valentine because I really missed my boyfriend Joe and all of my good friends. They would not let me, so they told me I couldn't, and then the next day I was in bed and they woke me up to go to school,but I said that I would not go to school because i was mad, and I wouldnt aslo go unless I could move back. So they just said that they took my cell phone and computer away from me, that got me even more angry, so they asked me ' We took your phone, and your computer away from you..now what else do you want tooken away if you keep acting like this??!' and I just replied back 'ME!!!' and my grandma said ' ok whatever do what you want'.. she did not think that i would kill myself.. So she and my mom went to work while I just stayed home from school cause I was mad...It was about 9:00am in the morning, I wasnt thinking and I just got up out of bed, grabbed a new bottle of iv prfien and took the whole thing, it was about over 70 of them. After I took them, I layed back down into bed, and I felt really sick, then I just threw up right there on my bed. My mom came home yelling at me to go to school now, and it was about 10:00am when she came home. Then she saw I threw up, and after she saw that, I accedently left the bottle out, so she asked me how much I took, and i didnt reply because I was to weak to even talk..So she took me to the emergency room, and they got me in a room quick and started taking tests on me, and i was in the hospital for about 6 days, and I had to go to an in patient treatment center for about 1 week, and then went to an out patient treatment center for about 1 week. I'm alot better now, but I was just realiezing while I was in the hospital and thinking..'If I die now, I'm going to be missing out on alot of things in my future, and I will never beable to see my family and friends ever again!'

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2007

    thiz book is amazing

    this book changed me in many ways it made me look at things in different perspectives...i love chicken soup books they're just so amazing...i hope these books never end

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2007

    It Changed Me

    I Honestly Hate reading But This Book Really Caught My Eye When My Friend Showed It To Me. When I Was Done Reading I Felt Like I Really Needed To Change And I Am Now Im Changing Little By Little Which Is Great Cuz I Used To be Very Deppressed And Stuff And Now I Have A Smile On ALOT And I Love Doing Stuff With My Friends And Family ALOT More!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2005

    I LOVED IT

    This book is from teens all over the U.S. and I'm sure that most of us can relate in one way or another. I urge everyone going through hard times to read this book. It shows how that there is always a way to heal.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2004

    A GrEaT BoOk 2 StArT OuT ThE YeAr

    this book is no lie. and it teaches you alot of lessons. it shows you what people went threw and shows you how to get threw it if ur going threw the same thing i recommend you READ THIS BOOK B4 ITS TOO L8!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2003

    Only a genius could come up with a book this great

    This book is great. It teaches people to do the right thing, always have faith in God, never give up and always be happy in what you've got.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2003

    it saved my friend...

    this book saved my friend from commiting suicide. she didn't do it because she noticed that there were people out there that were worse off than her. so i thank all the people that saved her.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2006

    a great book

    i am the typical teen. i recently lost two of my family members. i was so sad. this book is good for people who are going through a hard time in their life. like me, believe me, this book gave me hope and happiness that i didnt find anywhere else

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2003

    GOOD BOOK on Tough things in life

    What I have read of this book it is good. I think that all CHICKEN SOUP for the TEENAGER SOUL are good books because someone could be going through the same thing you are and you read about it in one of the books. Then you don't feel alone and why does this only happen to me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2003

    "Chicken Soup for the Teenage Soul on Tough Stuff" is a success!

    ¿Chicken Soup for the Teenage Soul on Tough Stuff¿ is a very good book, especially for teens in need of emotional help. There is no one particular author of this book. It contains hundreds of short stories and poems written by all different people on tough stuff that they¿ve had to go through and deal with in their lives. The book is categorized into different issues that teens commonly have to deal with: family matters, drugs and alcohol, death, tragedy, suicide, eating disorders, friends, and abuse. Each one of these issues has many different stories and poems written by teens that share their experiences, how they feel about them, and how they learned to deal with them. The book was very enjoyable to read. It gives teens something to lean on when they are feeling down on a particular issue that may be bothering them. "Chicken Soup for the Teenage Soul on Tough Stuff" is a self-help book. Readers will find that the book's theme and purpose, (which is virtually every teen has to deal with one issue or another, and there is help out there) is well achieved in helping the teenage world with difficult issues. There are no complaints about this book. "Chicken Soup for the Teenage Soul" is recommended to all teens across the world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2002

    cool

    It was really good. It made me think about how my life is going and made me realize that I need to live life to the fullest and stop messing it up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2002

    Tough Stuff - A GREAT! BOOK

    Chicken Soup for the Teenage Soul on Tough Stuff is an awesome book! it talks about Self-Acceptance, Family, Tragedies, Courage, Growing up, Drugs, Abuse and many other topics that relate to many students everyday lifes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2001

    We need more of this

    A great book on helping kids become inspired to deal with the difficulties so present in today's world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2001

    Inspiring

    When I received this book I started to read it and couldn't put it down! I took it with me to my youth center and everyone liked it. It is inspirational because we young people know where many of the authors are coming from because we have been there. I think it's great these people had the courage to write about their experiences and hopefully it will become a life-saver, or at least an inspiration to all the young people who read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2001

    really good

    I was able to get a copy of this book before the bookstores have it because my friend wrote a story for it. It is the best book. Every story either made me laugh or cry and they all taught me something important. I really can't describe how good this is. I always like the tough stuff chapter the best in the other books, so I figured I would love this but I love it even more. My favorite story is about a girl whose boyfriend is dying and she writes about their time together. it is such an incredible love story and I feel sorry for her but i also am happy for her that she had such great love. Another great story is one about a girl who was made fun of all the time and how she finally was able to stand up for herself. I don't want to give away too much. Read this book. You won't be sorry

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    READ!!!!

    This is one of the best books you will ever read!!!! I highly recommend it to anyone dealing with a tough time!!:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Adam

    She told me to talk to u. Im not sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Thomas abby

    Hey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Abby

    Where have u been? I missed u so much then suddenly u disappeared

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Question

    Question......

    I am getting... scratch that.... trying to get through a tough time. Will this book offer encoragement for a young teen?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5