Customer Reviews for

Chickenhawk

Average Rating 4.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Posted November 28, 2010

    easy read

    I read this book before going off to army flight school. I enjoyed the authors total honesty. I have read everything I can get my hands on regarding army aviation and this is the only book where the author didn't constantly feel the need to tell you how cool or tough he is. Wish I could find more books like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2010

    A most accurate story

    As a fellow chopper pilot in Nam (1965-1967), I found this book not only to be extremely accurate and well written, but touching as well.

    I wish I could expound on the "places" (that Nixon said I never was), i.e., Cambodia and Laos

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    favorite book

    i read this book when i was in eighth grade. i think it was the first book i ever read for enjoyment. i knew nothing about nam or the military or flying. i'm thirty-five now, i've had my pilot's license for over a decade and was in the air force for ten years. memories from this book would pop up from time to time while i was in war zones or flying around in my fixed-wing... anyway, i read it again today and it is still as interesting as the first time. i think this book changed my life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    CHICKENHAWK Robert Mason

    This was a most fascinating (and gory) book. My husband could not put it down. He never enjoyed reading until 2 years ago. This is his favorite book to date. He has read many books on the Viet Nam war; but none seemed to keep him reading as this one did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2004

    this is an awsome book!!!!

    i first read this book when i was in h.s. i was about 18; and i learned alot about vietnam. my uncle went there and he was a door gunner on a huey; but didnt talk to much about his experiences, cause it hurt to much he told me. but threw this book i could invision on what Mr. Mason went through and my uncle. i cryed, laughed and wondered how is he is doing now.? I, myself joined the army; but my dream of being a helicopter pilot didnt come true to many obstacles of being a female; i became a mechanic. but i still read this book 1-2 a couple of years, its so powerful i can never put it down. thank you Mr. Mason for pouring all of your heart and soul to make this book. Thank you for serving our country and i hope i get to meet you one day. God Bless. Spc. Wilson, D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2002

    The best book i hav ever read!

    this book is so excellnt! i m only ove halfway through it but i cant put it down. i m surprise i was able to put it down to wrie thid! and im only 15 anda girl at that! and im reading a book most guys wouldnt be reading in my class! it was recoomnded by my father and sister because my father, Sgt. Ray was a door gunner in Nam and it was wierd reading stuff i didnt know the helicoptr pilots did. And the gunners. He never really talks about his experiences in Viet Nam because he said it makes him cry. But i really like this book a lot, so far... i am dfinately goin to read some more Viet Nam books. i just wish Robert Mason was in front of me right no so i couldtel him what a great book it was. and im sure it was hard to wright because im sure he has trouble talking about it to, like my dad. -orange four, out-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2002

    amazing, heroic.

    THIS BOOK IS GREAT, MASON TAKES YOU TO VIETNAM AND BACK AGAIN. THIS TRUE STORY OF A HUEY PILOT WILL INSPIRE YOU, MAKE YOU LAUGH, AND REALIZE WHY AMERICA IS TRUELY GREAT. THANKS TO OUR MILITARY, COAT GUARD, ARMY, NAVY, MARINES, AIR FORCE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2002

    Great book

    This book has great detail and in-depth stories of a huey pilot. This book is straight forward and tells of the real war in vietnam.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2002

    GREAT!!!!

    This was a great book about the chopper pilots in the Vietnam war, their stories, and the ground troops are never heard enough. GREAT BOOK! You have to read this one!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2002

    You have to read this to get it!

    Every two years I read this book again. Mason writes from the heart; you are there. It's exciting, shocking and humourous. It's about flying helicoptors in the worst conditions. It's about fear, courage, tenacity, and the brotherhood of men.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2002

    Best Vietnam Helicopter War Insight Ever Written

    I have read this book 5 times and it still impresses me. Army aviation and the Warrant Officers like Robert Mason really carried the war to the VietCong. In 1965, the U.S. Army sent its mostly volunteer force to fight in Vietnam. It was the first team and the best of Army aviation. Well done Mr. Mason!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2001

    Climatic

    At first glance, this book seems like a thumb-through-back-on-the-shelf kinda book, but within the first few pages it captivates and tells a story in the eyes of a young aviator like none other. From cover to cover this is a page turner until the end, which is the biggest let down I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2001

    What happened??

    I found the book to be very interesting and it helped me to understand another part of the war and what the soldiers went through. I would like to know what happened to Robert since then.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2000

    The title says it all

    One of the very best books I've read on Nam. As previously mentioned- it shows the day to day activities and gives some insight to what was going on there. Mr. Mason was in the same Division as I (1 st Cav) however he was there a little bit before me. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2000

    The best Vietnam book

    What's great about Chickenhawk is that it focuses on the day-to-day WORK of being a Huey pilot Vietnam, and leaves the broader issues (the rightness of the war, the psychological effects of war on soldiers) in the background. The issues do emerge, of course, but don't seem forced.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3