Customer Reviews for

The Chief (Highland Guard Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 261 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(139)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

great new series

this was my first McCarty book, and I must say im buying the rest of this series. I'm a huge highlander junkie and The Chief is definitely making my top five list. Its a new twist to the many books out there about a lass falling into the saving arms of a laird. This sto...
this was my first McCarty book, and I must say im buying the rest of this series. I'm a huge highlander junkie and The Chief is definitely making my top five list. Its a new twist to the many books out there about a lass falling into the saving arms of a laird. This story however has a new spin on that old tale. Tor doesn't want Christina as his bride, he finds her attractive but not enough to take her as his. He wants no part in the kings war and will deny himself a bride till he can make sure his marriage will not cause harm to his people. Christina loves her sister and will do anything to protect her fragile spirit from their abusive father, she will even go as far as playing a part in the trickery of her father to gain a forced marriage from Tor. This tale has action, adventure, treachery, and romance.Now add a group of fierce men each with a perfected skill working together, and you have the ingredients to a wonderful new series. I highly recommend The Chief as part of your library, and i hope the rest of the books are as good as this one.

posted by soto_caligrl02MI on October 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I didn't really expect a "bodice ripper" when I bought

I didn't really expect a "bodice ripper" when I bought this book. I was looking more for adventurous historical fiction.

posted by 18570604 on December 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    great new series

    this was my first McCarty book, and I must say im buying the rest of this series. I'm a huge highlander junkie and The Chief is definitely making my top five list. Its a new twist to the many books out there about a lass falling into the saving arms of a laird. This story however has a new spin on that old tale. Tor doesn't want Christina as his bride, he finds her attractive but not enough to take her as his. He wants no part in the kings war and will deny himself a bride till he can make sure his marriage will not cause harm to his people. Christina loves her sister and will do anything to protect her fragile spirit from their abusive father, she will even go as far as playing a part in the trickery of her father to gain a forced marriage from Tor. This tale has action, adventure, treachery, and romance.Now add a group of fierce men each with a perfected skill working together, and you have the ingredients to a wonderful new series. I highly recommend The Chief as part of your library, and i hope the rest of the books are as good as this one.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2014

    Great Read

    If your looking for a good quick romance read,this book is for you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2014

    Pleasantly surprised. I have never read romances before as I co

    Pleasantly surprised. I have never read romances before as I considered them foolish wastes of time for bored women with vacuous characters . I was surprised at the amount of research she has done into the time of Robert The Bruce. There was much more than the "flavoring" of history that I thought there would be.

    The characters are also better than I anticipated. Tor is described as "fierce" and "ferocious looking" not the cookie cutter too pretty to be real hero that turned me off of romances so many years ago. Christina can be annoying but she was pretty sheltered for a lot of her life--which noble women were and she is immature as a sheltered woman would be. She does try to grow up quickly with the expected mistakes. Tor is "old" for his age from the burdens of being the chief of his clan from a young age while Christina is "young" for hers. Sex between them is not as gross as I assumed it would be and actually acts as a way for them to become more relaxed around each other and become more of a couple.

    The Special Ops part I found interesting and not as outrageous as some reviewers have found it to be. I don't see why this couldn't have occurred . The idea can't be that new. I don't see why "Navy Seals" with kilts and swords seems ludicrous to some while sex with a werewolf doesn't. I will likely read the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Fun scottish historical romance read

    Overall a fun read, with a spunky heroine that manages to breakthrough to the ice cold heart of her new Chieftan husband; despite his vow to never let anyone or anything come before his clan or touch his emotions! His reaction to his changing world is both highly entertaining and amusing!! Would definitely recommend for an uplifting read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    Pretty Good Story..............................................

    Really nice touch on a lot of the historical detail. However I found the military training stuff just a little to much info for my taste. But that's just me. I'm not sure I'll buy the next one . It is well written though--- just not my kind of book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    Great read.

    This is my first book by this author. It is over 300 pages. The male lead is an alpha male warrior and the female is smart but sometimes annoying. The story is adventurous and dangerous and the romance will not disappoint! I thought the female was too inquistive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    4 1/2 stars! Scotland 1305 This story starts out just weeks a

    4 1/2 stars!

    Scotland 1305
    This story starts out just weeks after William Wallace was killed. Edward Plantagenet rules. Robert Bruce, Earl of Carrick, Lord of Annandale will decide to take Scotland's fight upon his shoulders and make his bid for the throne backed by a group of men he himself handpicked. Bruce's Highland Guard. This is the story of Tormod MacLeod, a highland warlord and superior swordsman whom the Bruce chooses to lead his secret Guard, and Christina Fraser, the woman who shows him how to open his heart to love before all is lost. Along the way they will learn that deceit is just around the corner, that together they are stronger, and that trust and love are what give them the strength to face the challenges.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it! I really enjoyed this novel, but I found myself frust

    Loved it!

    I really enjoyed this novel, but I found myself frustrated. I wanted to slap Tor right all up in his face. And then probably kiss him, but still the slapping is first. He was such a jerk sometimes that I had no clue how Christina could put up with it.  But, then there were the moments that he showered tenderness. From when he first saw her, stared at her at dinner, saved her from some disgusting man, and everything past that just broke my heart. Melted it more like it. And of course, how they were thrown together was like nothing I had ever read before. That was hella crazy couple of days, and her father is a real piece of work. And the historical background to the story (which involves a certain Braveheart) didn’t hurt. There was a lot going on in this novel and it constantly grabbed at my attention, and made me fall in love with the characters.
    Good:
    Christina—props to her for being independent, for trying to fit in, and for trying to prove her worth. And…she’s a reader so I basically have to like her. P.s. even for your time I have no clue how you, or your brother didn’t manage to punch your father right in the face.
    Tor—You mad my toes curl.
    Bad: 
    Tor-Sometimes I also wanted to slap you and had no idea how she put up with you.
    Overall (Writing style, story line, and general):
    Overall I loved the novel. I loved the story that was not only filled with romance, but adventure and Scottish men being Scottish men. Ou la la. The story line was very easy to follow and kept you entertained all the way through. I loved and was frustrated with the character (like I’m sure you are suppose to) and kept wanting to know what would happen next. The story sucked me in and didn’t let me go, I definitely think this will be a series I want to continue with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Looking for a good Highlander story? Look no further!

    It all starts with the "Chief", Tor. There is a secret elite team of highlanders who specialize in certain aspects of battle and Bruce has selected Tor to be their Chief. Bruce knows that Tor isn't going to agree to this easily and hopes that the prospect of a bride might sway his decision. However, Tor wants nothing to do with the secret team nor does he want to make an alliance with the Fraser's. However, Christina's abusive father makes Christina sneak into Tor's chambers while he's asleep so that she can be "caught" in his bed, forcing Tor to do the noble thing and marry her. Not only is Tor now in charge of a group of men that have been his enemies for years but he also has a wife who seems to be more trouble than he bargained for.

    Christina got on my nerves a lot in this book. Tor will tell her to do something and she will do the exact opposite. It seems like she's always getting herself into trouble and Tor is always getting her out of it. However, Tor is clueless on how to be a good husband. He is gone all day and comes home at night for a shag and then is up and gone before Christina wakes up. So I guess I cannot blame her for exploring on her own. I really liked the fact that even though these two find the other attractive, neither of them are thrilled with their current situation and must over come a lot in order to work in harmony together.

    Monica McCarty does a great job weaving both the romance and the upcoming war into one good Highlander story. You get a glimpse at the other men in the Highland Guard and I personally cannot wait to read their stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Enjoyed!!

    Good story. I look forward to reading the series..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    Highly recommended!

    This is a realy great romance, there was good chemistry between the main characters and a good plot. It is worthy to read! You won´t stop reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    Very Good Read!

    All three in this series were excellent. Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A very good read

    Simply I liked the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4