Customer Reviews for

Chief Cook and Bottle Washer (Travers Brothers Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 620 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(236)

4 Star

(224)

3 Star

(101)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Chief Cook and Bottle Washer - Rita Hesthand

A woman running from her cousins family believing they will take the baby away ends up working as a cook in the local diner. The old cook comes back and the woman was going to loose her job. Instead a handsome rancher comes to the rescue and hires her on as the cook a...
A woman running from her cousins family believing they will take the baby away ends up working as a cook in the local diner. The old cook comes back and the woman was going to loose her job. Instead a handsome rancher comes to the rescue and hires her on as the cook and housekeeper.
There is a lot that needs to be said, but things just keep getting in the way for the truth to come out.
The plan is for the woman to come to the ranch, fall in love with one of the brothers and keep the family together. But what the handsome rancher doesn't know is that his family is looking for him to be the one falling in love.
A great story! I'll be looking for the rest of this series.

posted by 10503936 on January 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Good story

Sweet, clean, cowboy romance. A bit difficult to read due to grammar and punctuation errors.

posted by dixiediscount on December 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    Good story

    Sweet, clean, cowboy romance. A bit difficult to read due to grammar and punctuation errors.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Wholesome

    Characters and plot better than many other romance stories. Can't buy into Emma's fears about telling the truth about the baby....seem a bit overwraught. Sex hinted at without any lurid detail.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    sweet love story

    Very southern, with a family you can*t help but to want to be part of. Somewhere between the flirtation and falling in love, the plot sort of lost me. It was a rough transition there. Very PG, suitable for most.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    confused

    should i get this book? i mean im a girl…would i like this kinda stuff?

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Nice

    This story isnt all that bad. It suprised me in some parts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    It was alright

    No real exitement. Almost there but not quite yet. Not a bad read though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    A pleasant scoop of vanilla

    I'm a sucker for Western romances. Who woulda thunk it! I've read all of the Travers brothers novels now. They are all pleasant and innocuous. The story lines are sufficiently intriguing and Hestand acknowledges the stirrings of the body following the stirrings of the heart. The major shortcoming I have found in Hestand's books is a tendency to reiterate conflict which can make for a slow-moving and frustrating reading experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    Recommended

    Rita Hestand wrote an interesting book on survival. A girl born into a family of men as her mother did not survive. The story is full of love and devotion to a cousin who died at a young age and her surviving baby. It is well worth reading and sharing this devotion and her newfound love and family. Don't hesitate to purchase this book. PUDGIE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Good characters and interesting story

    Good character development and story line, but a loosely defined premise and very poorly punctuated text. Could have been so much better with good editing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Cute story

    I enjoyed the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Typical romance

    Enjoyed the characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    It was free

    just ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Easy Read

    The story was easy to read, even though I'm not into the "take-charge man, I'm a stupid little woman" scenario. I did like the overall flow of the story line, and it fits well into the relaxing read category.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    Recommended - easy read

    The story was good, and it was an easy read. Good escape literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2011

    Recommended

    Nice quick read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    It's okay

    I liked the over-all concept of the story line. It's just not as steamy as a like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Cute story but it lacked the sizzle of an adult read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Good and heartfelt

    Even with the misspelled words, it was still a good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Excellent

    enjoyed from begining to end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2011

    pretty good

    this book had a good plot, but it definitely got slow at times. i liked the chatacters a lot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6