BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Child Called "It": One Child's Courage to Survive

Average Rating 4.5
( 3162 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2555)

4 Star

(401)

3 Star

(117)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(56)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

65 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

The bravest of the brave

A Child Called "It", written by David Pelzer, is a heartbreaking memoir about a young boy looking for love. His violently abusive mother beats him constantly, with the stench of alcohol in her breath, while his so called "hero" of a dad and four brothers refuse to help....
A Child Called "It", written by David Pelzer, is a heartbreaking memoir about a young boy looking for love. His violently abusive mother beats him constantly, with the stench of alcohol in her breath, while his so called "hero" of a dad and four brothers refuse to help. After David runs to school every day, because his mother won't give him a ride, the school nurse examines him one day and notices all of his cuts and bruises. Even though the nurse thinks that his mother is abusive, David, out of fear, will not tell the family's secret. One day, David's mother pulls his arm out of his socket. When she takes David to the hospital, she lies and says he fell out of bed but that she was too late to try to catch him. It seems that the more she hurts David, the better liar she gets. But that's not even the half of it. David's nightmare is the worst case of child abuse I have ever heard of.
Even though the book was sad, it had to be one of the most inspiring memoirs I have ever read. David Pelzer must be the BRAVEST person I will ever hear about! Out of five stars, I would definitely give this book five, even though I want to give it more! I think this book should be for kids 12 + because it is violent and really sad. It could scare little kids and they might not really understand it. For people that are over 12, you will love it! I've only read it once, but I could read it over and over again.

posted by AthenaR7a on April 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

The Unbelievable

A Child Called It tells the true story of a young boy, who is abused both physically and mentally by his own mother and family members. Day after day, he endures brutal "games" that "The Mother" has planned for him, never knowing when he will ever eat, set foot in the s...
A Child Called It tells the true story of a young boy, who is abused both physically and mentally by his own mother and family members. Day after day, he endures brutal "games" that "The Mother" has planned for him, never knowing when he will ever eat, set foot in the sun, or see his own father again. His family strips him of his very existence, while treating him like he is lower than a slave, until his heart turns cold and hates everything in sight. However, Dave looks up to his father, who he considers his "hero," only to find that superman doesn't exist. At school, he fears telling the truth, terrified that he will never be free. Dave Pelzer shows me the pain that I will never be able to understand. It makes me appreciate my own family and fortunate life that I have. Some may think that this book is too intense because of the gruesome reality, but others may find it inspiring, showing that good does conquer evil. However, for me, the scenes became very repetitive after a while, describing to me how she starved and beat him. Also, because of its excellent content, I expected a grand conclusion, but I was definitely not satisfied with the ending. On the positive side, I read it after reading Chinese Cinderella by Adeline Yen Mah, but looking back on the first book now, I do not seem to not find her life as miserable as his was. Overall, I expected more from this book but liked this product and the description of the unbelievably haunting childhood. I recommend this book for others to read.

posted by ChanelleH on October 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2555 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 128
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    The bravest of the brave

    A Child Called "It", written by David Pelzer, is a heartbreaking memoir about a young boy looking for love. His violently abusive mother beats him constantly, with the stench of alcohol in her breath, while his so called "hero" of a dad and four brothers refuse to help. After David runs to school every day, because his mother won't give him a ride, the school nurse examines him one day and notices all of his cuts and bruises. Even though the nurse thinks that his mother is abusive, David, out of fear, will not tell the family's secret. One day, David's mother pulls his arm out of his socket. When she takes David to the hospital, she lies and says he fell out of bed but that she was too late to try to catch him. It seems that the more she hurts David, the better liar she gets. But that's not even the half of it. David's nightmare is the worst case of child abuse I have ever heard of.
    Even though the book was sad, it had to be one of the most inspiring memoirs I have ever read. David Pelzer must be the BRAVEST person I will ever hear about! Out of five stars, I would definitely give this book five, even though I want to give it more! I think this book should be for kids 12 + because it is violent and really sad. It could scare little kids and they might not really understand it. For people that are over 12, you will love it! I've only read it once, but I could read it over and over again.

    65 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    A child called it

    Its a very sad story it makes u think about life

    53 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    One of the best books i ever read

    The descriptions were so real you felt as if you lived thru the pain yourself. Its a definite must read along with the rest of the series. But this book was the best of them all.

    50 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    Great

    This is a wonderful book and a must read. I am kind of dissapointed that he lost his trust in God more than once but in the end im almost positive that dave found God again. This book has details thay you can't even imagine. How she beats him and how she tourtures him is so sad. This is a great book but get ready to experence what he went through. And yes this book is 10 dollars but think of it as if you wanted to buy it in a store it would be about $15 so you would save about $5. Again it is a must read!!!!

    43 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    Heart breaking

    This book has really touched me. I am a victim of child abuse but i never could dream of the things this man went through. I just wonder how many children are living in homes like this and cant get lucky enough to get out.

    31 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    Touching

    Its a great story but sad to know these things actually happen

    25 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    Recommended if you can handle it.

    This book was hard to read. I can't believe this poor child went through so much abuse unnoticed. It broke my heart to imagine his pain, loneliness, and helplessness. This poor child, I want to reach out and save all of them. God bless you David for being strong enough to survive.

    20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    Great Book for pple with srong stomachs

    Amazing.

    17 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    A Child Called It

    This is a great novel, full of suspense and horror at what one human being is capable of doing.

    14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    It

    This book is very sad but interesting and im only 12 but this book has brought out the best in me

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Girly

    I LOVED this book! as soon as i started reading, i couldnt put it down. Next thing i know, its dark outside and i have to go to bed. It was a remarkable but sad story about davids life and i was sooooooooooo happy when i found out there was a 2 book called the lost boy and i finished them both in 3-4 days. I definetally recomend this book!

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Never before has a book had such an impact on me and brought for

    Never before has a book had such an impact on me and brought forth such emotions in me that I if I could foster all of the abused and neglected kids in the world I would. Davids story is an important one that everyone should read, for the plight of the small defenseless child is one we should all pay attention to and we should never be afraid to speak out against those who would do them harm.  At first, David Pelzer lived a healthy and normal life with his parents and brothers. His mother, however, unexpectedly transformed into a monster, venting her anger on her helpless child. David was submerged in freezing cold water, forced to eat his own vomit, slept in the basement under the stairs, stabbed, and forced to sit on a burning stove. These are just a few of the torturous games that his mother used to play. She treated him not like her son, but like an "it". David suffered both mental and physical abuse. In order to survive from his mother's sick games, David used willpower. Through all of her torturous games, David's inner strength began to emerge.
    This book is a perfect example of how the human spirit can provide strength in the toughest of situations. David's spirit helped him to survive through his mother's emotional and physical abuse. He refused to let his mother win. He had no one to help him so he learned how to fend for himself. His courage and determination saved him from all of the suffering that he endured at such a young age.
    David is a living testament of resilience. His faith and personal responsibility helped him transform into an emotionally healthy and competent adult. A large percentage of emotionally and physically abused children become abusive in their adult years. The abusiveness could be a cycle, passed down from generation to generation. Their rage and pain of being abused could be turned on themselves or the ones they love. David, at a young age, showed strong signs of being a planner as well as a problem solver. These character traits, along with caring adults (nurses, teachers, social workers, etc.), help him to become resilient. David's inner strength helped him turn shame into pride and rejection into acceptance.
       

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    Horribly sad

    My friends read this book for 5th grade book club and it was well written but a cannot believe that a kid was hurt so cruelly by his own parents. I felt so bad for that kid whrlen my friends presented. I was :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( this much. Look on the bright side hes safe and sound.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A life in hell

    A Child Called It was an amazing book that I would read more than once. Just the fact that this little boy gets beat, starved, and neglected by the family he thought loved him, just makes u think about how good your life is compared to what his was like. To think that a mother would do this to her own child makes me sick but this book showed how child abuse victims make it through the fight and survive. David Pelzer gives a detailed text in explaining the vicious so called "games" his mother plays with him. Some of these games involved Dave putting his life a danger just to satisfy his mother. If reading about real situations that happen everyday then you would enjoy this book as much as I did.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Strength

    This boy was soo strong. God bless you david. What he went thru was horrible and i was brought to tears. For all those who are suffering because of child abuse, be strong! Tell someone! Dont be afraid to speak. This is a must read!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2008

    Amazing!

    As a 15 year old i know the almost bacis of my life food family friends and school. As i read this book i realized how much i have it is the saddest book i have ever read. it is about a little boy that gets abused by his mother and tourtured. he does not get fed and his mother beats him almost to death it is CRUlE and horrible i feel so bad for the little boy. also it is a true story. if you read this book you will love it i cried through every single page wanting to put it down but my hands wouldnt let go of it. i reccomend reading this book it is amazing also i reccomend reading the second book the lost boy. 333

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    A.M.A.Z.I.N.G.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I haven't read this book completely yet because it's so hard to read! I love this book so far though. It's so sad!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    Myranda july31 2011

    This book is really sad it brought tears to my eyes. I must say it was really good.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Child abuse is one of the most common ways a child is taken awa


    Child abuse is one of the most common ways a child is taken away from their parents. Dave Pelzer in A Child
    Called “It”, fights being abused and finds himself stuck in a very tricky situation. A Child Called “It” by Dave Pelzer
     is a great read but also an emotional one. In the beginning of the book Dave starts off as an abused child.
     He was not treated right by his mother. His mother thought of horrible things to do to him, such as starve him
     for ten days straight, stab him with a knife, and hold his head under his own dirty, scummy bath water for longer
    than one should stay under water. It was hard enough on Dave that his mother did not like him and did not treat
    him well, but his own brothers didn't even give him respect. They were told not to have anything to do with him.
     His dad believed that one day he could get himself and Dave out of that crazy house. I enjoyed this book
     because even though Dave got abused, this book is still very intriguing. I never wanted to put it down. This book
     made me realize how good I have life. Teenage girls/boys would enjoy this book because they will need the
    tissues. Even though it is a very emotional book, it still is a great read. 

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Amazing

    This book took me no time to read from my school library and i read the second book and it was great to. I strongly recomend this book but maybe not for children under ten. Prepare for water works!!!!!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2555 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 128