Customer Reviews for

Child of Fire (Twenty Palaces Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Awesome read

    This series is an excellent read. It is incredibly action packed. The protagonist is delightfully not stupid. I sat down and read all 4 books in one week.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Finally, a good Urban Fantasy novel besides Dresden Files!

    After "Turn Coat", my reading days have faltered. I've only read a few thrillers and reread the original Bourne trilogy. I've also read the new young adult novel, "Crocodile Tears" a million times. Still, I wanted to read a new fantasy thriller that would be great. Fortunately, I picked "COF". The cover is illustrated by the one who illustrates the cover of the DF series:Chris McGrath. It's really great. The blurb intrigued me. The review of Jim Butcher on the cover was the one that really urged me to pick it up. Trust me, you will devour it. I definitely did. The action is gritty but not extremely violent. The characters are flawed but likable. Ray Lilly is a really badass protagonist, but lacks the charm of Dresden. It's okay though. It's hard to believe it's a debut author's novel. Buy it. You'll love it. 9/10(setting and environment are dull, doesn't have many one-liners. Still, the action is great, the story is original, and the protagonists are hard to forget. One of my favorite thrillers.)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2009

    A page-turner!

    Had me under its spell from the first few pages. I never wanted to put it down, and had it finished within a day of starting (a new record for me). I can't wait to read the next from Harry; I know it will be well worth the wait!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    This is a terrific debut and series. There is a ton of action a

    This is a terrific debut and series. There is a ton of action and Ray Lilly and Annalise have an interesting relationship to say the least. Harry Connolly's Twenty Palaces world introduces some original and fun concepts. A must read for any Urban Fantasy readers.

    I read this book a couple years ago when it first came out but felt I had to write a review when I saw how few people have reviewed it. It's refreshing to see a male protagonist (14 of the 16 series I am currently reading currently have female protagonists).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    An addictive and original series. Each book is better than the o

    An addictive and original series. Each book is better than the one before.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2011

    Dresden like

    I can't thank the library enough for putting this on their "New and interesting" shelf, because finding Harry Connolly really made my year. He breaks a lot of molds in setting up his books -- the main character isn't the boss, doesn't have a lot of power, and has a past he is trying to outgrow. He uses his mind to figure stuff out while serving as the front man for a woman whose motives he's not sure he understands.

    I really enjoyed the book as an urban fantasy. It's about a man who has to save the world and who doesn't really have the tools he needs, but who can't let that stop him. Along the way he wants to keep looking himself in the mirror, but he also realizes that given a choice between saving one person and saving the world, you have to choose the second.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Dark and enjoyable

    I read a review and bought this book. It is excellent, Ray is a great character and the book flows well. It is quite dark but though Ray is a convict, I found him very likable. I have enjoyed the entire series to date and recommend these books highly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2009

    Child of Fire is Amazing !

    I loved this book it catches you from the first page,I couldn't put it down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    READ THIS SERIES

    Seldom find stand alone books let alone a series that has a great mythology, strong character developement and well paced plot. This book exceeds my expectations as did the others in this series. Keep them coming please

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    darker than most urban fantasy, but also quite original

    The main character, Ray Lilly, is a convicted felon that stumbled across the supernatural and was pressed into service by the Twenty Palaces secret society. The society dedicates itself to halting incursions into earth by supernatural entities that prey on humans. There are all kinds of these entities, collectively known as predators.

    Ray is the expendable assistant to one of the society members, and their first case together involves horrifying events in a small coastal town. I normally like my modern fantasy with less horror and disturbing imagery, but the setting is so original that I loved the book anyway. Ray and his boss aren't running into run-of-the-mill vampires, werewolves, faeries, etc... The threats are unique and unpredictable, and Ray is as much in the dark as the reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    Fast Paced, Interesting Read What do you get when you cross an e

    Fast Paced, Interesting Read
    What do you get when you cross an evil child-burning alien, a kick a$$ wizard with a really disgusting way of healing her own injuries, and a tough-guy fresh from prison who knows better than to ever back down? A well-written, highly original urban fantasy that kept me interested and guessing right up to the end.

    Annalisa (the wizard) doesn't think much of her new sidekick, Ray, but that's OK because she doesn't expect him to last long. Tough and resourceful Ray sets about proving her wrong. What might have been a cardboard relationship jumps into vivid 3d as these two work in parallel and sometimes tandem to save the world.

    Child of Fire has a fairly straightforward plot...but an extremely complicated and obscure backstory (including unexplained history between Ray and Annalisa). At times I found the references to things that aren't explained (or even all that important) to the book a little irritating. But once I decided to settle back and let the details wash past, I found it a highly enjoyable book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Sad to see it cancelled

    This series kept getting better and better. It sucks when the business side gets in the way of good story telling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2013

    Fantastic series by a really gifted author. The series as a who

    Fantastic series by a really gifted author. The series as a whole is witty and dark, and each volume kept me engaged throughout. Connolly dives right into the Urban Fantasy genre and really puts his own take on things. His world building and magic system are new and unique, and enjoyable to explore. His characters are real and flawed, and the writing is tight and really pulls you into the story.

    I really enjoyed this book, and those that followed. It's a shame I found it to late, and the publisher has decided not to order any more books in the series. I will be keeping an eye out for Connolly's next work, and you should be too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Magic Noire whodunnit. Great read.

    Magic Noire whodunnit. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    An excellent read, as is the whole series so far

    A fascinating world, compelling characters, and strong writing make this book an engaging work. Hopefully, the series will continue someday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2