Customer Reviews for

Child of Flame (Crown of Stars #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2001

    Best Volume that I have read in while

    The writing is so entising. I read at night before I go to bed and before I know it three hours has passed. I can't wait until the 5th book comes out. When does it come out anyways? I am on the last few pages and want to continue on with the saga. But then again maybe I can finially get some sleep :).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2000

    I concur

    Yeah, I gotta agree with you about the greatness of this series. Once you pick up any of these books it is incredibly difficult to put them down. I just hope that they come up with some way to bring Lavastine back to life, he was the best character in the books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2014

    Dewdrop's Journey ~Prolog~

    In the begining everything and everyone was in harmony. Untill the evil clan of Flame Clan arose. Lake Clan, how ever did not mind Flame Clan. Flame Clan did not bother Lake Clan to often. But, Flame Clan bothered the neighboring clans. Forest Clan, and Cave Clan. <P> On a stormy, gray day, a litter of seven kits was born. Most of the time, six kits is max in a litter. They are calling the seventh kit, a gift. A wonderful gift givin to them from Star Clan. <P> "What are we going to name them, Stormtail?" A tom asked. Stormtail looked over the newly born kits. "How about, Riverkit for this one?" She meowed. The small she~kit had soft blueish fur. Stormtail looked at her mate, "What do you think, Seacoral?" She meowed. She licked the small kits fur. "Riverkit sounds like a great name. How about, Typhoonkit?" He suggested for a gray male kit. "Wavekit? Oceankit? Fishkit? Tidekit?" Stormtail meowed. Seacoral noded. "Those are all wonderful names, dear. What about the seventh kit. What is her name?" He said. He looked at her black pelt, it had white speakles on it. "Dewkit. Her name is Dewkit." Stormtail declared. <P> Thats the begining of Dewdrop's great Journey. <P> (Okay! I am taking in Charcater Applications! Please rate! Three good reveiws, and I will go on!) <br> ~ Rainbowfall

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2005

    I love this Book <3

    the book has such powerful emotions that sweep you along like a wave. Kate Elliot depicts the war so handsomely i feel like i can picture each detail of the war myself. Her masterful way of disguising long hidden secrets sill amaze me. Truely, its a great edition to her Crown of Stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2005

    Fantastic Installment

    Okay, I've read all of these books, and I love them all. This one was no exception. I love Kate's characters, and her world is so detailed. Everything is tied together, and her world is incredibly realistic. The only reason I gave this one four stars, is because it had a lot of detail, and took me a year to finish, because I kept putting it down. I love these books, and I hope the next volumes are just as good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2004

    Awesome

    The best part of Kate's books are certainly her characters (Sanglant, especially)I really love the depth with which the reader must think in order to truly undestand the events and advancments of this book, though I do not fall heavily on her strong religious emphasis (though it is intersting), and at last the astronomical references have dwindled to a minimum, yet the book keeps the series alive, and I am impatiently waiting for the next book to come out, since I can't seem to get the characters out of my head.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2002

    Superbly written

    The Crown Of Stars series is without a doubt my favorite series of books. All four volumes are incredibly interwoven with actual history and historical events, and I find that that adds much to the story. I've read the four books over and over and I still cannot get enough of them!!! I can't wait for the fifth volume to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2002

    Simply incredible!

    Kate Elliot has done it again! Each of her books seem to take on a life of their own as they envelope you into realms never before seen. Each character's life becomes a part of your own as you read about their trials and trails. More astounding than the last is each new chapter of this thrilling series. I only wish she would come up with a new addition to the mysterious lives of the mighty prince Sanglant and his powerfull wife Liath. Not to be demeaning of Alain, but his character doesn't apeal to me as much due to the fact that he undid his own destiny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2000

    Child of Flame - Alain's Tale

    Kate Elliott has done it again. Child of Flame is an epic and a complex and mesmerizing read. Like the first three novels, Elliot throws the reader into the lives of her protaganists and it is messy. Alain takes the forefront of the book, but Liath and Sanglant and not far behind. The book is filled with emtions: fear, hate, love and anger. This is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Very nicely done

    The fourth book in Kate Elliott's ambitious Crown of Stars series is Child of Flame. Originally, Ms. Elliott had planned to do a trilogy, but as she herself admits, the plot quickly outgrew three books. In this book, Alain, the foundling who is seeking the truth of his heritage, is pulled into a struggle for power between his own kind and their worst enemy, the Cursed Ones. This struggle has existed for aeons. The other adventurers in the Crown of Stars books, Liath and Sanglant, and the exiled king, have their own business to mind, but this is Alain's book. The reader will feel every heartache and every pain as Alain searches for answers to questions he in some cases does not even know to ask. <P>Kate Elliott's world of Crown of Stars owes a lot to her grounding in medieval history. Her stories are like a rich tapestry, meant to envelop the reader. <P>Rickey Mallory

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2000

    Haven't read it yet. Bet it is 5 stars!!!

    I cant wait to read it! all her other books of the 'Crown of Stars' were so great. And I cant wait till it comes out. If anyone has any news or info. about the new book, then contact me at my email. I jsut cant wait to see what happens to Liath and Sanglant and Blessing and his mom. I wonder if Liath and Sanglant will be tigether again. HOpe so!! Best couple!!! And Alain,and eveyone else!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1