Customer Reviews for

Child of the Ghosts

Average Rating 4
( 127 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Annonymous

Shame on Barnes and Noble for allowing people to give a plot spoiling book report instead of a short non-revealing review. If i see more the 4 lines that somone wrote I skip that review; I know its one of the parasites that ruin a book by giving the whole story away. Go...
Shame on Barnes and Noble for allowing people to give a plot spoiling book report instead of a short non-revealing review. If i see more the 4 lines that somone wrote I skip that review; I know its one of the parasites that ruin a book by giving the whole story away. Go away....we want to read the book for ourselves!!!!!

posted by 7727777 on September 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Ok

Very gory

posted by Anonymous on March 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Annonymous

    Shame on Barnes and Noble for allowing people to give a plot spoiling book report instead of a short non-revealing review. If i see more the 4 lines that somone wrote I skip that review; I know its one of the parasites that ruin a book by giving the whole story away. Go away....we want to read the book for ourselves!!!!!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Great Middle Fantasy

    This is a very well done fantasy novel. Not super complex, and a few major points fairly predictable, but it's good. There's a lot that goes on that's not predictable and doesn't play out to cliche. The main character faces a number of moral dilemmas that she deals with in somewhat nuanced ways. I also really liked the Mediterranean and middle eastern mixed with Roman feel to the world, a welcome change from English & French mythology.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Great Series

    I loved this book along with the next 3 books in the series. Well written and fast paced.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Really like the author

    Not for kids

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Ok

    Very gory

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Great and free

    I never expected to enjoy a free listing this much. I am now a fan and have added other titles by this author to my wish list.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    I love, love, love, loved it:)!

    There is a hundred ways to describe this book. Deep, exciting, gory and so nuch more i just adored this book:)!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Another great read

    If you haven't tried this author yet, what are you waiting for? Another fast paced, well written, engrossing story sure to make you want more.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Entertaining

    This book was fun, well-paced, and engaging. If you like sorcery and revenge, girl heroines and happy endings, this is a book for you. Not deep, nor complex, this book is an easy read that'll keep you turning the pages.
    Best of all, it's free.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Read this review, it may be helpful.

    Jonathan Moeller has always been a favorite of mine, but this book fails to live up to the outstanding standards that he set for himself with the demonsouled saga. But this book is still incredibly fun to read, even though the second book is better. Besides, it's free, so why not?

    -VL

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Just fyi

    When someone says "I'm only 10 and I like this book" makes me think 1) Who in the world brags about being ten years old? 2) Do your parents know what you're reading? And 3) it makes me want to say "I'm 22 and I like this book!" just to be snarky (which I just did ;))... who cares what age you are? A good book is just that, a good book. It's a free book at that so read it for yourself and make your own judgement.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Great but....

    This book was amazing but i dont think you should read it if you dont like gory books.i dont recommened it for children under thirteen.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Couldn't get into it

    Decided to give it 3 stars in case it gets really dynamic and interesting at some point, but after finishing the entire demodulated series in a couple of Weeks, I found myself bird after 276 pages. The authors primitive and slow-paced style of writing complimented the crude Olde-English medieval atmosphere of Demodulated series, but in this case it want dynamic enough for me. Maybe I will return to this book at some point.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Good

    I enjoyed this book. Only one part at the end I didn't like. Can't say for those that haven't read it yet. I liked it enough to read the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!

    This is the best book ever!!!!!!!!!! And im onley 10. It is the best of the best!!!!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Awesome book

    I love this book

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Amazing book

    This book is great even though names are hard to pronounce its a great book for any age over 8

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    excellent read

    Great story and characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Xgxhdvxg

    Jfyzjahhhdbdhxhbhxjfnhkhfgym xtwhdyjnd fnyss dgnhwbd iogvcyouuf hdjhe f ciete

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2014

    This was an AWESOME fantasy book. Young Caina Amalas reminds me

    This was an AWESOME fantasy book. Young Caina Amalas reminds me a lot of my assassin, Nightshadow. Sorry, couldn't help that little shout out... but it's true. Caina's mother had expected her to be great in magic, but when she shows absolutely no interest in it, she shuns her, getting in her verbal digs as much as she can. Caina finds comfort and solace with her father, but when he's brutally murdered over an ancient scroll, Caina is kidnapped.



    This book uses sorcerors abundantly, and their blatant use of power to control the kingdoms is evident. Reminds me of some epic, arrogant mages from my days of role-playing!



    So if you like fantasy, I think you will love this series. Very well written, characters are well developed, and you feel a connection to Caina instantly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7